Weekend Freewrite- 6-1-2019: Prompt: rodeo

in #freewrite5 years ago

Weekend Freewrite- 6-1-2019 initiated by @mariannewest. Single Prompt Option: rodeo


photo by me @whatisnew

Not My First Rodeo

This is a true story. Last spring when I was planting my Zinnias, my neighbor, Suzi came over to see what I was doing. Suzi never has a nice word to say to, or about anyone. This was our conversation.

Suzi: You are planting seeds? They will never grow, I can guarantee you that! Everything I have planted from seed has never grown.

Me: That was you. They will grow. You watch.

Half grown Zinnias

Me: (With a big smile on my face, I was rubbing it in.) Suzi, look at how big my Zinnias have grown!

Suzi: How tall are they supposed to get? (no comment that my Zinnias did actually grow.)

Me: 3-4 feet.

Suzi: That will never happen, I can guarantee you that! (I knew she was going to say that.)

Me: This isn't my first rodeo. I bet they will grow 5 feet. You watch.

Full grown Zinnias

Me: (With a big smile on my face.) Suzi, look! My Zinnias are 5.5 feet tall and a couple are 6 feet tall.

Suzi: They are the ugliest Zinnias I have ever seen!

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the chance to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the @freewrite house.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

I think what I love about this story is that you never let Suzi buck you off -- you kept going and going and growing and growing despite the constant destructive criticism ... may we all develop such skills in the face of the Sour Suzi people in our lives!

What a wonderful comment @deeanndmathews! Thanks so much!

So sorry for the late reply. I had family matters to tend to.

I could recommend some anti-Suzi sprays. Or, perhaps, lining your property with plants that might ward her off. 🙇

HaHa! Bring it on!!!

Those are lovely zinnias, they have so many
awesome colors @whatisnew! :-)
You sure her name isn't negative nellie? lol
I know a few of those rodeo riders omg been tempted
to say, I got this huge wart, and they would say they
have one bigger lol

Thanks @shasta! I like the name you gave to Suzi. She really is negative about everything. We need to keep those riders at a distance.

Sorry for the late reply. I had a family matter to tend to but all is good now. : ) Will do a post about it soon.

Congratulations @whatisnew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8750 replies. Your next target is to reach 9000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I find it difficult to be around negative people like Suzie. I’m glad you didn’t let her get You down. By the way, your Zinnias look beautiful. 😊

Thanks for your compliment on my Zinnias! I was especially proud of them because of what Suzi said. Try to keep negative people as far away as possible. : )

So sorry for the late reply. I had a family matter to attend to.

No problem @whatisnew. I hope everything is okay.

Thanks so much! Everything is great now, thanks for your concern. My daughter had her baby and you can see photos of my precious granddaughter here if you would like to. Also, you won 1-SBI for Butterflyday-Week 12. Congratulations @redheadpei! : )

Very funny! But it hurts somewhere!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Negative Suzi... had a guy on a job we coined Negative Ed.

I think there is at least one negative someone in everyone's lives. Just keep that negativity out of your space if you can.

hahaha! that's hilarious Butterfly! Did that really happen?

Oh gee I know the type, such negativity lol.

Keep them and their negativity out of your space as much as you can. LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85