She ain't no muscle car

in #freewrite6 years ago

1211101609.jpg

Below is my 5 minute #freewite on today's prompt: muscle

If you've never created a #freewrite before, please check out today's post by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-353-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-muscle

She ain't no muscle car, but she'll turn heads quicker than Ruth Bader Ginsburg can get in her robe.

I bought this land yacht about ten years ago for $4950, because I've always wanted a convertible. There were only 4200 of these Buick LeSabre's made during their two years of production. This is a 1975 with the optional parade boot installed.

It is equipped with a 350 engine and gets about 12 miles to the gallon. It is the perfect parade car and I always get requests for use in our local parades.

They wanted me to drive the Mayor of San Antonio in our Battle of Flowers Parade, but I wouldn't let that piece of shit sit on my toilet, much less my car.

Bitter much!

Story and photo by Bruni

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpgThanks @fireawaymarmot
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

DQmQJqzrUJjdziuTV2vq7pycn7nrHZ8MRo8wnKCZNX4RMUj_1680x8400.png

official storyteller.jpg

inCollage_20180724_094040774.jpg

My referral link for Crowdini

Sort:  

Congratulations @wonderwop and thank you for participating on the challenge. Love the car. Your post has been upvoted by @minnowsupporter . Continue following and participating on the challenges for more resteems and upvotes.

I love that car.

Thank you. 💕

I know nothing about cars... but she is a beauty...

Thank you for freewriting with us! I am here to deliver prompt:- Day 354: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: not smart.

Share with us your Favourite Freewrite and win SBI.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20180924103629.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the visit and for helping Marianne. 💕

What a beauty!! My friend has some classic cars and the cars get cast in movies. I bet yours could too!

That would be cool.

Well, now, @wonderwop. Sounds like there's some history between you and the mayor. :)

Yours is the first freewrite about muscle that has actually mentioned the cars. Thank you. Lots of workout posts or references to getting into shape, though.

That is a very nice ride, and it looks like you've taken great care of it. Looks brand new. I bet the gas mileage is pretty bad. :)

I'm old enough to remember when that, and others, first came out. Once the oil crisis hit towards the end of the 70s, those cars went the way of the dodo, but man were the land boats popular in the 50s and 60s.

I actually had one of the newer model Camaros for a few years. So far, by far, my favorite vehicle. I know there are faster cars, but I'd never experienced the kind of acceleration it was capable of before. It just didn't do slow.

Well, I hope you can keep being a part of the local parades. That car needs to be shown off. :)

Thanks for dropping in @glenalbrethsen, I can count the number of great Mayor's of San Antonio on one hand, and I've been here since '66.
Yeah, they don't make cars like these anymore. I was lucky enough to be growing up when cars were cool. When I'm watching TV with Debbie, and I see a car I used to own, she turns to me and says, "And I get you when you own a Scion! Really?" 🤣🤣🤣

Sigh. Then, you expound upon all of the great features of the Scion, right? :)

Well, now it's mostly about global marketing and sales, so you'll see cars looking more and more the same with similar options, and so forth, even though they're made by different companies, because parts are cheaper and wholesale suppliers can stay in business by selling in bulk.

There are still some cool cars out there, but you definitely have to look harder.

re: mayors

I probably equate great mayors, governors, presidents, to leaders who basically stay out of trouble, stay out of my way, and don't stop me from doing what I naturally have a right to do. You would think that would be a low enough bar, but nope. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98