Seeking Excalibur

in #freewrite6 years ago

landscape-tree-nature-forest-grass-light-928365-pxhere.com.jpg

Walking through the piney forest
Dew touches my fingertips
The morning air light as nature's florist
Colors the path with wildflower script

Dew touches my fingertips
The sunlight reflects my trail
Colors the path with wildflower script
I pass under a willow veil

The sunlight reflects my trail
I breath deep the scent of lavender
I pass under a willow veil
Touching each branch seeking excalibur

I breath deep the scent of lavender
The morning air light as nature's florist
Touching each branch seeking excalibur
Walking through the piney forest.

Day 237: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: dew by @mariannewest

Photo: PxHere

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png
Click on the image to join the fun!

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg

DQmNihVfTnrubWwTvMtgypUFH3YH4yvj8XeiMKyU2m5GAyb_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @aaarif.

Hi @wordymouth ,
Your poem is really nice one that represent the feel about the dew. My upvote has no value so i liked to give you through @drotto bot. if you don't mind :)

@aaarif I'm glad you liked it and thanks for the upvote!

What was your inspiration for this? A general fan of the Arthurian legend?

I am a big fan of English and Irish folk songs and that was what I was thinking about. The Arthurian legend comes with the territory and I do like the romanticism of it.

Interesting.

You seem to know about this stuff a bit better than me, wasn't Excalibur actually kept in a lake by some lady? I am sure you could craft a poem about that idea too.

The Lady in the Lake is an enchantress who gave Arthur the sword Excalibur. In my poem, I see the tree branches as swords sticking in the "forest" stone. Excalibur was not the sword pulled out of the stone by Arthur. After that sword broke in battle, Merlin directed Arthur to the Lake where the Lady gave him her sword Excalibur.

Fascinating.

Did the name that Arthur pulled out of the stone have a name as well?

I think it was just known as The Sword. For a long time, I thought it was Excalibur. But that was the second sword, which is why Arthur is called the Two Sword King.

This is the first time hearing him to be referred to by that name.

lovely poem and photo, upvoted and resteemed friend!

What a beautiful poem! Tip!

Hi @wordymouth! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @whatisnew!

@whatisnew wrote lately about: New Camera And Lily Of The Valley Flowers Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

This can fly into a song for the next sequel of GOT

Am here to deliver today's prompt

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-238-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-miami

Hehehe, 😁 don't forget the selfie part and our freewrite nomination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79