Smooth as Silk

in #freewrite6 years ago

book-read-wood-flower-religion-bible-593692-pxhere.com.jpg
Pxhere

Preacher Ashton delivered the scripture from Isaiah in a hushed whisper and ended it with a thunder clap. Mom shook her head in agreement while I hung on every word. Aunt Margaret said the preacher was smooth as silk, but I just thought he spoke from the heart.

Mom shook her head again and slapped down her fan on the pew back. I held on to the words until Aunt Margaret said "Amen." Then we flipped through the hymnal and sang "What a friend we have in Jesus" and Tom Clatcher started swaying in rhythm with the choir. He rocked and clapped and Sister Josephina joined in and everyone swayed back and forth. Mom stood up and pulled me up too. We stood in the pew singing with the choir and shouting out "Amen" at the end of the hymn.

I walked out of the chapel feeling happy and uplifted. Preacher Ashton took my hand and squeezed it gently. Mom pushed me toward him. He winked. I blushed and looked away. Aunt Margaret tuned up the corner of her mouth and shook her head. She turned and walked down the sidewalk. Mom and me followed Aunt Margaret. I turned back to Preacher Ashton. He smugly smiled and winked again.

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Day 293 : 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: smooth as silk by @mariannewest

Border


Steemit Amazon RSS

Wordsmith Holler

Buy Me Coffee

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png
Click on the image to join the fun!

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg

DQmNihVfTnrubWwTvMtgypUFH3YH4yvj8XeiMKyU2m5GAyb_1680x8400.png

Dustsweeper

Border

Sort:  

Praise the Lord somebody.

Smooth as silk, but there's just something about the preacher I'm not sure about. Smug. Winking. A tad theatrical. I don't know. Maybe it's my imagination.

I felt like I was there for the swaying and the singing. Very descriptive of the entire scene and the actions of the different characters. Great use of words in very short period of time.

Hey @wordymouth,
#HotPotato!

@freewritehouse started throwing a hot potato! Don't get caught with it or you'll have to clean up after the party (without any helpers!).

It all began this week with @iamjadeline throwing a hot potato to @happycrazycon who then threw it to @byn, who then threw it to @wonderwop, who then threw it to @tristancarax, who then threw it to @whatisnew who tossed it to @svashta and who then threw it at @wandrnrose7 and then it was in @honeydue's hands who threw it to @kaerpediem and not being able to handle the heat, she threw it at me!

As much as I would like to gobble it all and make it disappear, I had a very late lunch and so I am going to send it off on its merry way and so..... Catch @wordymouth! It's yours for now!!

Don't be tempted to keep it. Please do pass it along because you don't want to clean up the mess. This is how you do it:

Go read another freewrite from the Over20 Club and pass it on to that writer in the comments! Here's the link to the contest announcement: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/hot-potato-an-over-20-club-game

Best of luck! Don't get burned! :D

I really did read your freewrite. "I walked out of the chapel feeling happy and uplifted." I have not been going to church lately, and I sure miss this feeling. Maybe I will soon find a church home since I hope to settle down.

I am very envious of your writing style and ability to write fiction. I am so far only writing "How to" and other non-fiction, but I have hope I will someday be more creative! Take care and pass the potato!

Thanks for the compliment. I passed on the #hotpotato to @scibblingramma. I was writing non-fiction - fit in with my journalist training - and then one day just started writing fiction. It will come to you. Keep at it!

Maybe. I seem to have a lot to say in the non-fiction area, but I will look out for inspiration.

You were nominated as a favorite freewrite this week and featured in our Freewrite Favorites Post of the week!

Keep freewriting, you are doing amazing things!

FEATURED.png

Hello @wordymouth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17