Dissipating energy: Day 24 of the Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest

in #freewritecontest6 years ago

This is entry 24 in my freewrite series:

“Thank you.” I managed to say. The questions filled my mind so fast I couldn’t get any of them out. My body was still buzzing with energy too. I needed some time to adapt.

“You probably have many questions,” the being on the left said. “Let us start with introductions. I am called Rehnire. My companion is called Meikane. We are here to help you in your mission.”

“What is my mission, and why am I here?”

The Rehnire smiled. It was a big, broad, understanding smile. “The Avohians picked you because of your ability to transition between energy levels quickly, and because your mind wipes do not work. Both characteristics are critical to the work that needs to be done.”

“The blue ones are called Avohians?”

“Yes. You are the first human to have met one. And the first to have met us as well.”

My curiosity increased now, so I took a closer look at my caretakers. They could probably pass for human on a busy New York street even their iridescent skin wouldn't raise eyebrows there. I could only see a glimpse of what I thought was hair under their cloak hoods. Both of them wore it slicked back as if it were still wet from a shower.

With these observations, I felt my body slowly discharge the energy I’d had with the Blue one. It left me feeling suddenly drained.

“Come with us. You need to rest now.” Meikane said, and both of them walked to my sides just as I started to collapse.


Here is the selfie:
Imgur

enter image description here

If you have any questions about this content, please let me know in the comments. Or better yet, click the banner to join my channel on Steemit Greeter's Guild!

Note: All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. The Steemit Greeter's Guild banners provided by @terminallyill.

Sort:  

Great story. I appreciate good fantasy/sci-fi. (And I see you hiding!)

Today, our prompt mistress has given us a new one that focuses on the word cherry. Feel up to the challenge? Here is the prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-231-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-cherry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97