Manuscript on paper: Day 2 of 200 Day Freewrite Party

in #freewritecontest6 years ago

Here is Day 2 of the 200 Day Freewrite Party Contest. Since I've committed to making freewrites for the forseeable future, I've decided to make it all one story and see where it goes.

I have to admit the idea isn't mine. It's inspired by @felt.buzz and his Douglas Adams-ish story of dimension travelling flea having tea with his main character Elma. He's written series of freewrites about her and I'm challenging myself to do something similar. I want to bend my creative muscles into contortions to make the story work with each day's prompt.

Let me know if I succeed and go read @felt.buzz's stuff. He's really good.

Thank you @freewritehouse, @marrianewest, and @felt.buzz!

If you missed it, you can find freewrite 1: Bananaipulation at this link: https://steemit.com/freewritecontest/@ntowl/bananaipulation-freewrite-day-1-200-day-contest


enter image description here

The flashing light, and the sudden quiet, caught my eye for the sixth time. I put another stack of paper into the printer and pushed a button. It roared back to life, shaking itself happy while printing out my latest work.

George, my agent, is such a wierd duck. He insists I give him a printed copy of every manuscript. I don't know why he can't just read it on his tablet like everyone else would. Plus I think my 800-page materpiece just killed a forest. I don't feel good about that.

But he's been with me from the beginning, and he puts up with me, so I guess he's entitled to his idiosynchracies. Especially when it's two weeks past my deadline and he's catching heat from the publisher.

Finally the printer spat out the last page and gave an audible sigh. "You've earned a good rest," I said and patted it with appreciation. Then I added the stack of pages to the already enormous pile.

I had about 10 minutes before he arrived to pick up the manuscript so I thought I'd get some tea and relax on the porch. But when I started making it, I noticed the symbol on the tea box. And it stopped me dead in my tracks.


Today's selfie with the paper prop:

enter image description here

writing class banner.png

If you have any questions about this class, please let me know in the comments. Or better yet, click the banner to join my channel on Dynamic Steemians' Discord!

Remember you can post any question at any time. You don't need to wait for a live session.

Note: All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except for the Dynamic Steemians' banner except where noted. This was thoughtfully provided by @baa.steemit.

Sort:  

What was the symbol on the tea box? Forgive me if I'm being dense ;0

Ah, ran out of time at the perfect moment! I promise to reveal in tomorrow's freewrite. : ]

A cliffhanger!!!

Just yesterday I wrote a cliffhanger and had fun tormenting people with it now I get y own medicine ahahaha

so here are a few guesses :

  1. an expiry date
  2. A 'poison' symbol
  3. George's 'symbol'!!

Great start of the story and LOVE the selfie :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75