Day 231: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: Cherry

in #freewritecontest6 years ago

Day 25 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest!



Imgur



This is my entry for the Day 25 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest - Prize 105.85 SBD, hosted by @freewritehouse.

You can also find today’s freewrite prompt by visiting Day 231: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: cherry, hosted by @mariannewest.



Sally grabbed the jar of Maraschino Cherries and pour some of the juice into her ginger ale. She remembered her mother ordering this drink for her when they went out to a fancy dinner. The adults would drink alcohol, and the kids would get Shirley Temples.

The drink was sweet and made her feel special. It was one of the rare occasions Sally didn’t have to drink out of a plastic cup. Any other time she would be given a kid size plastic cup with soda, but on special occasions she drank from a tall glass.

The glass made her feel grown up and she would pretend that she was an adult. She and her cousin Ginger would toast each other with a “cheers” and giggle like the silly little girls they were. Sally missed Ginger. She moved away a few years ago and now they barely ever talked.

Except for on Shirley Temple night. Sally poured a shot of Vodka to the red drink and stirred it with a straw.

“Sally are you there?” She heard Ginger’s voice speaking from her laptop speakers in the living room.

Sally quickly grabbed her drink and sat on the couch. She smiled and raised her glass.

“Cheers!” They both said and laughed.

Ding!

Thanks for reading!
Day 218: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: Clouds
Karaoke Mania challenge 1000 songs 5 SBD 45 days challenge Day 17
Day 229: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: Scratch
Steem Schools Business Movement Karaoke Class 18 Songs for Day 18
Day 230: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: Wet

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur


Thanks to @snook for this super cool gif!

Sort:  

Nice one sim. I am seeing cherries everywhere today!!
I bloody love em!!!
I wish they could grow to the size of oranges or even better... basketballs :D
Peeeace

Thank you. Cherries for everyone!!!!

Your selfies are so creative! I'd buy that magazine! I love your story (Ginger and Sally's friendship is so sweet) and you made me think of how "grown up" I used to feel when I was allowed to order a virgin Shirley Temple in restaurants when I was a kid!
(Ha! virgin...too many cherry jokes are running through my mind now! ---BAD Brisby!! LOL)

Thank you! I loved those drinks!

Hi, friend. you look cool. Looks like you are so excited huh? @simgirl

Thank you! Excited this contest is half way over!!!!

if I may know what your contest is.

This is for a contest hosted by @freewritehouse to write a freewrite and take a selfie inspired by the freewrite prompt each day.

We have been doing this 25/50 days. If we don't write the freewrite and provide a selfie each day we get disqualified. The last person left will be the winner, or whoever last 50 days will split the prize.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Hi sis ❤️❤️This is so cute , their friendship , I could really feel myself being like Sally , although I have never had my first drink yet..heheheh.. but this is really cute 😃🎉🎈 . And I feel my best friend and me will be like that by one month. I think she will be going home for internship , when I'll be still here in china.

Awww this reminded me of my cousin! We had silly traditions as well growing up. We live far apart, but we still love to call and catch up. Thanks for such sweet freewrite!


Just in case you haven't had the opportunity, here is today's prompt!

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69