My Freewrite: Filthy Rich

in #freewritehouse5 years ago (edited)

Pixabay Image

It was a normal Saturday night in our small suburb right on the outskirts of town. For mid-spring the night was chilly and moist, but the green grass and blooming flowers gave for a scenic backdrop to our grill out in the back garden.

Behind our house lie a soggy farm field and the small river, which ran through the field, banks had burst in the spring rains appearing now more as a lake than a river. Water was approaching our lot line but it bothered me none for I knew that the coming summer sun would drain the field dry of water.

The late evening sky was completely overcast and shielding our visitors from the warmth of the retreating sun.

I sigh a breath of relief as my wife returns from inside the house and tells me that our girls are finally asleep. She has allowed a couple neighborhood kids from our guests to watch tv and eat our snacks while they try and keep an ear out for the girls.

We settle into our lawn chairs and watch the fire dance and twist in our small metal fire pit. Its almost completely dark now just light enough yet to appreciate the landscape surrounding us.

The neighbors are laughing and conversing amongst themselves and I feel that they are having a good time. Its days like this where I know these memories will be made that last a lifetime.

Holding my beer mug in my hand I take a walk to the edge of the back yard to grab another log to throw on the fire. The fire has plenty of fuel, I just wanted an excuse to get up and take a short walk.

Pausing at the edge of the field I glance out over the water and thank God for the wonderful life he has given me. “It’s perfect”, I whisper and crack a slight smile to myself. In that moment I feel filthy rich.

That is when I begin to notice the clouds above me. They are darker than usual and it is hard to make out in the twilight of the dusk but it looks as if there is a thunderstorm coming.

They said there would be no rain today, I thought to myself and looked quick back at the house.

Then I noticed my wife had gotten up out of her chair. She was looking up at the clouds too only she was gasping, her mouth wide open. My neighbor Martin raised his arm and was pointing up at the sky.

I swung around to see what it was they were looking at.

Dread filled my bones as I stood in shock.

A large, spherical shape was forming in the base of the cloud just below its surface. I couldn’t see what was behind the cloud but it was taking a cylindrical form.

It had to be a ship, I thought immediately.

I never did see a ship in the sky all I saw was its shape camouflaged behind the clouds, followed by what we all knew was coming.

Balls of molten brimstone began to spill from the underbelly of the ship, the moved silently and almost gracefully through the air searching for targets down below.

I wasted no time thinking about where the scorching liquid plasma was landing and turned and ran straight to the house.

My girls were in the house!

I flew past my wife who was still trying to figure out what to do and I was screaming at her to get inside.

“Come on!” I yelled.

“What are you doing? Get in the house!” I ordered.

I threw the sliding patio door open and the neighbors kids were already waiting for me in the kitchen.

“There’s someone in the house!” Lena cried out to me.

I froze in a panic which my state of inaction was quickly broken once I heard the cluttering of footsteps coming from upstairs.

I knew they were headed for the girls’ room.

Sort:  

Never thought the story is going to end this way. Very genius of you.

Am here with the Weekend freewrite prompt.

Take just one, go solo
This prompt is in mono
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-4-13-2019-single-prompt-option
...
Stir up in you the pro
Write the 3-in1 prompt.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-4-11-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Have a nice weekend..

Thanks for stopping bye and having a read! Much appreciated!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice twist to the story. I never thought of the aliens? going inside to get your kids while raining hot liquid on the outside folk.

Thanks for reading! When I saw the prompt I was reminded of this dream I had, was cool and scary at the same time!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha! howdy sir badger! great job of writing, this could be the beginning of something good if you wanted it to!

Thank @janton I had a lot of fun writing it! I will save it for later who knows!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy today sir badger! yes sir, I'd save it and the rest of the story might just pop into your head and you can write another book on here!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76