Day 20 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest ---> The Smell Of Salty Air, The Smell Of Home!

in #freewritehousecontest6 years ago (edited)

The Smell Of Salty Air, The Smell Of Home


15965244_10154016511945810_6196541896070520031_n.jpg


Ocean Beach, walking down to Ghirardelli for ice cream, running around naked and swimming in Aquatic Park. Cutting school to surf under the Golden Gate Bridge, Troy got bit by a baby shark, but we kept on swimming in the turbulent waters of SF Bay.

Rapping with the homeboys in the parking lot and driving to the sea. The smell of salty air permeated our senses, whilst excitement filled our innocent minds with adventure. Smoking whatever we could get our hands on, wearing Vans and a towel from Hawaii.

Drying wet suits hanging over our cars as we blasted Black.

Source

We sang
the lyrics together
during a bonfire of
co-mmu-ni-ty.

Hey, oh
Sheets of empty canvas
Untouched sheets of clay
Were laid spread out before me
As her body once did
All five horizons
Revolved around her soul
As the earth to the sun
Now the air I tasted and breathed
Has taken a turn
Oh and all I taught her was everything
Oh I know she gave me all that she wore
And now my bitter hands
Chafe beneath the clouds

Of what was everything
Oh the pictures have
All been washed in black

Tattooed everything
I take a walk outside
I'm surrounded by
Some kids at play
I can feel their laughter
So why do I sear
Oh, and twisted thoughts that spin
Round my head
I'm spinning
Oh, I'm spinning
How quick the sun can, drop away
And now my bitter hands
Cradle broken glass
Of what was everything
All the pictures had
All been washed in black
Tattooed everything
All the love gone bad
Turned my world to black
Tattooed all I see
All that I am
All I'll be
Yeah
I know someday you'll have a beautiful life
I know you'll be a star
In somebody else's sky
But why
Why
Why can't it be
Why can't it be mine

Drinking beer and sitting on a Mexican blanket kissing our favorite at the time. We loved openly and freely. Feeling the salty air on our youthful skin.

This is where my five minute timer went off...

If you would like to see how this awesome contest that is hosted by @mariannewest is panning out check it here.

ES logo.png

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi and Apache Native American tribes, Medicine woman in-training, first time blogger since November 2017 (right here on Steemit), paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with planktons and fellow minnows curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the spirit world. I'm the creator of #medicinecardmonday, so if you are interested in receiving a Native American blessing stop by my blog every Monday. If you are interested in something I've listed above say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit

image

Sort:  

I dont usually like selfies..but when I do...amazing picture and content. RESPECT

@fracasgrimm oh thank you so much, yes selfies can get quite tedious and honestly i hadn't done any in 6 months that i left FB LOL until NOW! !!!! thank you for the appreciation. :)

I know exactly what you mean girlie!! The good ole days... Lol
Joy

@sweetjoy you don't know about surfing hehe

G O R G E O U S !!!!! <3 <3 <3

thank you sweetheart ... hugs hugs hugs :)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This is really beautiful. Your selfie is absolutely stunning as well.

@eroticabian thank you so much! you are so kind. :)

You are looking gorgeous. I grew up by the sea in a tropical island, I amsiren to river and creeks niw but I miss the salty spray.

@yidneth hello there yid! thank you so much. yes growing up by the sea is a lucky thing, i was fortunate in that regard as well. rivers and creeks aren't too bad and salty spray is definitely something to miss. blessings.

Sounds like a youth well spent. Feeling and being free.

Today's prompt for you. Wonder what it will bring to your mind :)

https://steemit.com/frewrite/@mariannewest/day-227-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-bones

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

@mariannewest yes very much so ... ocean living is not bad at all. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27