FreeWriteHouse: What’s New Pussycat? ...The 200 Day Party!!🎉💃🏽😁

in #freewritehousecontest6 years ago (edited)

Hi There 😊

I have contemplated @mariannewest’s Daily Freewrites. I think I might have even tried one or two. But my time management has room to improove. Like lots of room.

So what better way than to say Yes! I will do this and if I succeed, apart from the bragging rights, I’ll be some SBD richer.

Yup!! It’s a contest. And if you have knocked your head against writer’s block, this is a Thor’s Writer’s Hammer to knock it down. A prompt and 5 minutes later, you have a post.

@mariannewest and her team of writers have been at this for 200 days now. I believe a couple have written a story every single one of those days. Don’t be scared. We are talking only 50 here. And if you don’t make it to the finish line, you still could be winning something.

This is where I stop rambling and direct you to the 200 Day Party so you can join too.

Call this practice. Warming up for the great showdown!! It’s time to rock n roll with today’s prompt PARTY

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

"Quick check on the food girl!!! They will be here any minute now!”

"Paps, there's more than enough."

"Better more than not enough! Just go make sure again."

I got up, went into the kitchen, counted til 5 then came out.

"All good Paps!"

"Come sit here with me." As I sat down, he held my hand tight.

"Bridget is coming to the Party. She's such a silly thing."

He chuckled to himself.

"What does Granny think about her?" I teased. I always tried to find little things to make him laugh.

"Ah, Granny knows she's just a friend. She's Granny's friend too. Quick, where are the party hats?"

"Yes Paps, they are all ready. I'll pass them around as soon as they get here."

"OK, did you check the food?"

"Better more than not enough.... I'll go check."

I told myself that he’d stop fussing about the food soon enough and move on to something else. I went to the kitchen, counted til 5 and came back.

"Girl, come sit with your old Paps. Do you have all the songs ready for the party?"

"Yes, I do." Thank goodness for youtube and spotify.

He chuckled. "Bridget is coming you know. Here favourite is that Tom Jones song. What's new Pussycat? I hope you have that song ... Bridget has some pretty fancy moves to that."

"Yes Paps. All ready to rock n roll!"

Good girl. He held my hand tight and we looked out the window. Waiting for the Party to arrive.

Paps, had dementia and he was stuck in a Party in the 60s on most days. Somedays we'd be getting ready, waiting for the guest, somedays the party is well on its way and we'd dance, somedays the party's over and he'd be sad. He had a few guests he'd talk about but his favourite was Bridget. Paps has had dementia for over 3 years now but the party scene started a little after Bridget's passing which was last year.

I wondered about Bridget but Granny told me, it was nothing. Paps was very good looking in his younger days, and all the girls would flirt with him and he'd flirt right back. But that's as far as it went she said. She said, she trusted he had never crossed the line. That it didn't matter where he got his appetite from, as long as he ate at home, he could party all he wanted.

One of the reasons why I write. If my memory ever fails me, my kids, maybe even their kids and theirs can check back on any one of these and get a glimpse of what made me tick. Now quick go check out the post or let me win it all muahahaha!!

’Til we meet again over text, pics, videos, maybe even coffee - Steem On!!

KAERPEDIEM.gif

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Loved this. And oh, "better too much than not enough," that was the party philosophy in my house, too.

Paps, had dementia and he was stuck in a Party in the 60s on most days.

Oh, dang! I didn't expect that! But, in the end, being stuck in a party in the 60s isn't the worst way to have dementia, after all...

Hello! I’m the purple banana squirrelfish, herald of Marianne for today. Here’s the most recent freewrite prompt, so you can keep on writing in this amazing community:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-201-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-important
Enjoy, and have a good day!


Visit this blog for amazing insights, contests, and initiatives about #freewrite community!

So interesting how you said so much about party, family relationships and our minds - now and as they go...

I see that you are ready for the contest. It will start on Monday, the 14th and you are all signed up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85