Banana Cake~ Day 2 of the Freewritehouse selfie contest

in #freewritehousecontest6 years ago (edited)



Years ago there were paperback recipe books that churches and community charities would put out every 5 years or so.

These recipes were ones that had to be wonderful if for no other reason then all the ladies peers would be reading their recipes and trying them out!

Ohhhhhh if your recipe was not good you .......would have to move to another State or go into a witness protection program ASAP!

My Mom belonged to a group called Community League. She was President for some years and every other job in between when I was growing up.

Every 5 years they would make a cookbook. She always gave me a copy of the new one even before I was old enough to really need one.

This is the cookbook I went to when I needed the banana cake recipe. I knew that any recipe in there was going to be wonderful so never bothered to look at who wrote the recipe.

Still, cracks me up and makes both of us smile when we tell the banana cake story.



Best Banana Cake Recipe Ever!



2 1/4 cup flour
1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 cup mashed ripe bananas
1 cup buttermilk
2/3 cup shortening
1 1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla

In a medium bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a separate bowl combine bananas and buttermilk. Set aside.

Cream together shortening and sugar in a larger mixer bowl until fluffy.

Add eggs and beat well.

Beat in vanilla.

Alternately add flour mixture and banana mixture, beginning and ending with flour mixture.

Blend well.

Spread evenly in a greased and floured 13 x 9 x 2-inch baking pan.

Bake at 350 Fahrenheit for 30 to 35 minutes.

  • Cool cake all the way and top with your favorite cream cheese frosting.


I only know the American (USA) version of this recipe. If someone knows how to figure out the metric version let me know and I will update the recipe if you give me the numbers.



This is my Day 2 of the @freewritehouseselfie contest and Day 208, Prompt: Paper Freewrite



Thank you so much for stopping by!

Hugs

Snook



ezgif.com-video-to-gif (4).gif



Sort:  

I have tons of those similar recipe books, from local churches, schools, etc

I like them because the recipes are by mothers, housewives, tried and true 😁

I so agree with what you said. first place to always look for a recipe :D

Yay! Thank you for the recipe!!! I so want to try it some day!!!

welcome and cream cheese frosting goes on top :D

Love the recipe and we used to do a book every year for church lol I remember the feeling will they like my recipe??

will they like my recipe??

Yup, use to hear my Mom say those exact words LOLL :D

Church cookbooks are the best!

They ARE!!!!!!!!!! the older the better :D

oh thank you thank you thank you, going to try this as soon as I have some decent bananas!! LMAO

you really will love it but best if you use real buttermilk, not milk with lemon juice in it........ the buttermilk makes it really fluffy and adds a great taste to it when cooked :D

I dont see buttermilk too often in the stores, but I guess that's because I've never really looked for it. Every single banana was a strong green at the market today :(

:( hope they have good ones soon for you and yes, buttermilk is kind of hidden in by the whipping cream and stuff :D

I've also used white vinegar and milk as a substitute for buttermilk in a pancake recipe...came out really good! would have never thought vinegar would be the trick, lol

ooooh... thank you for the recipe... Going to try it... I'm sure your mom didn't jump state or go into a witness programme , so must be really good ;D

It really IS great!! You will not regret it!! Just make sure you use real buttermilk. it really does make a huge difference.

Can we upvote this more than once? What's not to like LOVE about any recipe that includes that most luscious of fruits.... the banana?

You go, girl!

HAAAAAAAAAAAA! now you know what you can do...........when............shhhhhhh.........you know what happens......... :D

I personally like that bananas are squishy, sweet and succulent.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37