#FreewriteMadness / #NaNoWriMo Update: A Bit of Smutty Writing (May God Save My Soul 😱)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewritemadness5 years ago (edited)

In this post, I'm tackling one of my most dreaded chapters – one that I know needs to be written, but have kept putting off because of the sheer cringe factor involved. A sex scene! 😱

Fetch the smelling salts, clutch the pearls, call the local priest / pastor / other denominationally appropriate religious figure and have this aforesaid figure perform an exorcism on my soul, etcetera. I'm pushing myself to at least try to write some of this scene between Derek and Emma tonight because of a discussion I had earlier with some fellow NaNoWriMoers in my area. We universally agreed that everyone hates writing sex scenes and we all strive to put them off for as long as possible. 🙃

Sex scenes are notoriously difficult to write well. There's nothing cringier than writing what you think is a realistic, well-executed and sensitive account of your characters doing the nasty, only to look over it again later and realise that it sounds like a bargain-basement version of a Mills and Boon novel, when what you are trying to write is a piece of highbrow, intellectual Serious Literary Fiction™.

Nothing is less sexy than trying to write a sex scene. Nothing is less sexy for me, anyway – maybe it gets other people going! I tend to type with one hand over my eye, wincing at every sentence and convincing myself that it all sounds terrible. Anyway. Here we go. It'll all be fine, I'm sure. 🙃

___________________________


123rf.com

The bar is quiet tonight – not many people around. Derek has always appreciated the fact that he doesn't really get noticed here. No one ever hassles him. The staff are quite familiar with him being there, and it's never been turned into a huge topic of discussion. Just as well. He wouldn't like to think of people watching what he and Emma are doing right now, in their secluded alcove, set far apart from the rest of the customers...

She inhales sharply as he progresses from kissing her neck to delivering a series of light nibbles. 'Derek? You said ... your kids are with your sister tonight, aren't they?'

He raises his head to look at her. 'Yes, they are. They pestered me for so long about wanting another sleepover, I eventually had to give in ... what about Brian?'

'He's with his father tonight.'

'Well, then,' Derek says softly, 'you could come back to mine.'

She archly raises an eyebrow, a small smile playing about her lips. 'Could I?'

He runs a hand up her leg, slowly sliding it under her skirt...

'Derek! People could see,' she hisses, though she is struggling not to laugh.

'Do you want to go back to my place?'

She studies his face for a moment – slightly breathless. 'Yes,' she says abruptly, getting to her feet and pulling his hand impatiently. 'Let's go, come on...'

Outside, the air is cold, but Emma's car is parked just a short way down the street. Derek makes his way to the passenger seat, already eagerly anticipating everything that the night might hold in store...

'Wait.' She is now rummaging around in her handbag, grimacing a little. 'I can't find my keys...'

He groans. 'You're driving me insane here, Emma.'

'Alright, alright,' she laughs, 'just give me a second ... hang on ... okay, here they are. Get in.'

He barely registers the drive home. He knows that Emma is having some difficulty concentrating on the road: she has to keep taking deep breaths. At one point, when they are stopped at a traffic light, he lightly strokes her knee with his finger. She glances at him with a smile and swipes his hand away. 'Don't you dare – I'm driving!'

They soon arrive at his house. Once they are outside the front door, he can't resist messing with her a bit.

'Oh no!' he declares dramatically, widening his eyes and making a big show out of searching through his pockets – though he can't quite stop a grin from spreading across his face. 'I can't find my keys...'

She shakes her head. 'Oh, fuck you.'

'Well, that is on the agenda for tonight, so ...'

They tumble through the front door – Derek barely has time to close it behind them – in a tangle of limbs and kisses and shaky breaths.

Sorry to be interrupting shit here – it's a few minutes to midnight in my time zone, so I now have to calculate all of the words I wrote today, input them into the #FreewriteMadness form, go to the NaNoWriMo website to update my cumulative tally, and all that kind of fun stuff. 😁 The words from my previous post today, added to what I've written in this one so far, add up to 1,738 altogether. Woohoo, go me, I'm slaying shit, etcetera ... now, back to the smut!

Emma stops kissing him for a moment. 'Derek? I should probably warn you ... I haven't done this in a couple of years.'

'You haven't? I can give you a refresher course, don't worry about that...' His hand goes under her skirt again.

'Oh, I'm ... I'm fairly sure I ... I can remember how it goes,' she mutters, closing her eyes as his hand gets to work.

'It's always good to refresh your memory.' He begins to apply more pressure and she gasps.

'Oh God. Fuck. Jesus Christ...' She writhes away from him so that she can stare him straight in the eye. 'Where's your bedroom?'

'Right this way...'

He leads her up the stairs and into his bedroom. Their clothes soon disappear: strewn randomly around the room as they make their way to the bed and fall on top of it. Emma runs her hand over the chairs on his chest, following them down ... down ... almost, but not quite, approaching the area he would most like her to touch. She glances mischievously at him.

'I have to say ... I've always liked it when men have hairy chests.'

'Oh, I have your approval, do I? Well. That's nice to know.'

'Hmm. I've given you my provisional approval, let's put it that way...'

'You always had an eye on me – face it.'

She snorts. ‘Hardly. I was most unimpressed by your behaviour when we first met.’

‘Oh, really?’

‘Mm,’ she replies, closing her eyes as Derek holds her closer to him and begins to kiss her neck again.

‘So do I owe you an apology?’

‘Absolutely. And you must be as contrite … and sorrowful … as possible’ – she gasps with pleasure as he nibbles the very nape of her neck – ‘or I'll never be able … to get over …’

'Emma?'

'Yes?'

'Please stop talking.'

'I'll try.'

He plants a trail of kisses on her face, her neck, her breasts, her stomach – moving further and further down – until, before long, she is incapable of focusing on words anymore.

___________________________

I want to end this post by giving a shout out to everyone else who has signed up to the fit of absolute lunacy invigorating creative challenge that is #FreewriteMadness. 😇 Make sure you go and support their work too! I have limited voting power (damn my not-quite-plankton but not-quite-redfish status 😉), but will upvote as many posts as I can per day.

@amelin
@botefarm
@felt.buzz
@grow23
@improv
@kaelci
@kaerpediem
@linnyplant
@mariannewest
@ntowl
@stinawog
@carolkean
@byn
@kipswolfe
@bennettitalia
@nonsowrites

For a chance to WIN SteemBasicIncome, just read and comment on my #freewritemadness posts. 😊 The lovely people over at @freewritehouse are doing a great job of supporting us complete and utter lunatics NaNoWriMo-ers. 😁

NovMadFan.gif For more information, visit @freewritehouse

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Lol, I would have to say it is uncomfortable to read it, as well as write it. You did a quick and smooth transition. As I read your writings, it is becoming easier to put the events together. Am I seeing a complete novel in the makings?

Thanks @pixiehunter. I'm hoping that in December, I will have time to look over everything I wrote during November and start editing, with a view to turning it into a novel. I'll see how it goes!

Congratulations @aislingcronin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Those are my least favorite to write as well - we should make it a daily task until it comes easy :)

congratulations for making it through the sex scene! I know how hard they can be. I haven't written too many myself. good job!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, @wandrnrose7. Haha, I know – they're quite cringeworthy. One fear I have in the back of my head is that if this whole story does end up being nicely edited and published as a novel at some stage, my parents are going to want to read it ... I hope that they never bring up this scene with me, because I'll certainly never discuss it with them. It'll be fine. 🙃

lol yes, there is the parent factor 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

#NovMadFan Bruni says What the heck! Don't be stopping mid...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72