NaNoWriMo update: it looks as if I WON'T be completing a 50,000 word novel in one month... but I will be achieving my goal ๐Ÿ˜Œ

in #freewritemadness โ€ข 5 years ago (edited)

image.png
https://unsplash.com/photos/ACt2UZwHsIk

The Perfectionists

Author's Commentary (Part II)


So... I have to concede at this point. I'm throwing in the towel. Waving the white flag. Tapping out. I've fallen too far behind, and there's no way on I'm catching up by the end of November. Not even if I took the rest of the month off and chained myself to my desk again.

And here I could list all of the reasons why, but suffice it to say that life is chock full of all kinds of things, and that some of these things take precedence, of necessity, over the writing of a novel.

So I'm grateful that @freewritehouse doesn't actually employ goons to handle egregious derelictions of duty such as this (@felt.buzz and @mariannewest).

They... don't. Right?

But goons or no goons, that's kind of the sad part. That I'm not going to finish the novel this month, or even reach the 50,000 word goal. As of right now I've only written 26,087 words. A little over halfway. Fifteen chapters, with a sixteenth arriving soon, most likely tomorrow.

Then again, 26,087 words is waaaaaay more than I've ever written in one month before! And the month's not even over. So while I'm disappointed that I didn't reach the goal, I'm still kind of amazed that I wrote so much. And though word count is a worthy benchmark, and one I definitely wanted to reach, it's really only the contest goal. My personal goal, the reason I decided to take part in #NaNoWriMo in the first place, was to finish it. To not only write a novel length story, but to come up with a satisfactory ending for it. Because endings (as I explained in my first few NaNo posts) have been my Achilles' heel, at least when it comes to longer works of fiction, such as the four episodic series I've started and (so far) left unfinished on Steemit: The Strangeling, Old Scratch, Poison, and Maintenance.

So in terms of my personal goal, I'm very happy to report that @freewritehouse's #NaNoWriMo contest has been a resounding success! Not only did I write a first chapter completely off the top of my head, and reverse-engineer a general plot outline for a full length novel from there, but I came up with an ending for it that I actually think I might like.

To make it even more complex, the ending I have in mind is really multiple endings, as there are five or six different sets of characters and scenarios that are interwoven in The Perfectionists, and connected in ways that are not yet evident, but will begin to come into focus within the next few chapters.

This took time, and perseverance. I spent a good two-three weeks agonizing over the novel's ending (and large parts of its middle as well), and hoping that the characters would unfold the story to me over the course of those weeks. And they did. There are still many missing pieces, but the entire skeleton is standing there now, staring at me with its empty eye sockets, and being fleshed out, right before my eyes, every time I sit down to write another installment.

On a side note, I'm currently working on the ending for one of @blockurator's exquisite corpse contests (latest entry here: https://steemit.com/fiction/@bennettitalia/exquisite-corpse-get-off-my-farm-punk-chapter-8b), and wholeheartedly enjoying trying to tie up as many of the loose ends as possible. I was fortuitously put at the end of the exquisite corpse chain, giving me yet another chance, in the month of November, to find a good ending for a complicated story.

So I'm going to continue to work on my NaNo novel until I reach the ending I've got planned. My new goal is to write one or two chapters a week until it's done. I'm curious to see how things develop and change in the process, and if the ending is even what I think it is by the time my characters and I get there.

I want to send a huge thank you to @mariannewest, @freewritehouse, and all the #novmadfans and #freewritemadness #NaNoWriMo writers. And especially to @whatisnew (for whom I find myself throwing feline references into the chapters, because I know she loves them) and @wonderwop, who have been reading and commenting on every single one of my posts. Thank you SO much you two! You have no idea how much your feedback, and simply your presence, has meant to me. I truly could not have gotten this far without you.

I'm excited about The Perfectionists. I think that in the end, even if it turns out to be a mess, it's going to be an interesting mess. As a writer I feel a lot more confident, a lot freer and a lot less scared of fucking up, having thrown myself off of this metaphorical cliff and lived to tell the tale.

Sometimes the goal is the attempt.


ยฉ2018 Bennett Italia, all rights reserved.
image.png
Horizontal rulers courtesy @cryptosharon

For a chance to WIN SteemBasicIncome just read and comment on my #freewritemadness posts NovMadFan.gif For more information visit the @freewritehouse

IOW COLOR MAP.png


Sort: ย 
ย 5 years agoย (edited)

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

I've never entered NaNoWriMo. Although, I have written 15,000 words in one weekend. I completed a novella doing that. So there's that.

That said, I admire your determination. Sometimes, we writers take on too much at one time. Put too many mashed potatoes on the plate at once, if you will. Then we pile drive a heap of gravy on top of it and the whole plate just overflows with sloppiness until we find ourselves not eating even close to as much of the mess we've made. But the process of getting there is a smorgasbord of hot potato goodness!

So now that I've extended my metaphor to its limit, I'd like to issue an invite. I don't know what genre you typically write in, but I've assembled a group of speculative fiction writers on Discord. You're welcome to join us. You'd be a great addition.

XD That is one bursting-at-the-seams metaphor @blockurator! Hot potato goodness indeed.

15,000 words in one weekend... is mind-boggling. I'm beyond impressed. Did you eat? Did you sleep? Seriously though, I'm curious as to what that was like.

And finally: yes! When it comes to fiction, most if not all of what I write is of the speculative variety. Thank you for the invitation, I'd be honored to take part :D

Iโ€™m so happy for you! Forget your word count, meeting your goal
And proving to yourself you could do it is most important. Congrats!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @ntowl! Yes, that's the way I see it too. This has been an amazing experience :)

Wow, over 26,000 words, that is such a huge accomplishment. It will be interesting to find out the word totals from nano writers that didn't post everyday. This #NovMadFan knows his limitations and that's 5 minute #freewrites or a 16"pepperoni pizza, whichever is hotter. You rocked this challenge and your story is great. ๐Ÿ‘

Hi Bruni! Thank you so much, this has been amazing and your support has been crucial. I'm looking forward to doing five minute freewrites again, and to continuing The Perfectionists at a more leisurely pace. Feels a little bit like a Hobbit returning to the safety of the Shire lol.

You are a winner in my book!!!

I think your word count is formidable and you have done so much more than just spitting out the words!! You plotted and tweaked and wrote other stuff as well - and there is life as well.

I am impressed and you are a WINNER!!!

:D thank you Marianne! This has been an incredible experience for me, and I think also a breakthrough. I'm so grateful to you for getting me started in fiction writing in the first place, and now this challenge has helped me to work through some of my blocks! ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›

I am so happy to hear that!! I always love to read your writing. And let me know if you publish a book - I will buy a copy :)

๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’› that would be amazing!

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.149 which ranks you at #8982 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 12 places in the last three days (old rank 8994).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #148.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You have so much to be proud of and meeting your personal goal is what is most important. You are such a talented writer and I have been in awe throughout your NaNo journey. I am so happy to have been a part of it as your cheerleader and have enjoyed every single chapter immensely. Oh yes, I adore your feline references and I am honored. And I am not going anywhere. I will be here checking daily for new chapters and will be with you until the very end. Even if I wasn't cheering you on, I could never put this book down until The End. This resident cat will always be your #NovMadFan and your friend. I am so proud of you @bennettitalia! HUGS!

@whatisnew! Thank goodness... I don't think I could do it without you ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’›

Aw, sweet of you to say that but I am sure you would be just fine without me. But...I wouldn't miss it for all of the steem in the world. : )

No... it really is hard to motivate without somebody out there actually reading it :D

Congratulations @bennettitalia! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 39000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

At least you participated! I didn't even get that far! I am impressed by the vast amounts of writing that took place in November.

Thank you @scribblingramma! I'm going to keep working on it... I learned so much from doing that much writing in such a short time ๐Ÿ˜Š

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33