November Madness Freewrite | NaNoWriMo | The Finale

I started my journey with NaNoWriMo on 7th November 2018. Though I may not have reached my goal of 50,000 words by 30th November 2018, I know I've given my best.

Will this be the end ? Absolutely NO !

I will continue to write my novel but taking more of my own time now. Sometimes, once you have started something, it's only ever so easy to let it go.

However, as this is my first time trying out, though it may not recorded, it's still my very own self created story. Till the next NaNoWriMo session.

My achievement : 15,804 words

mjo4koa5a2.png

Now, let me share the end of Satin Shoes, Chapter Six.


“Everyone here can dance. Didn’t Diana say there were over one hundred applicants this year, just in the high school division? Kids come from all over the country, and believe me, schools send only their very best pupils.”

“I guess that makes sense,” Leah said with a sinking heart. For the third time that day she got the feeling the deck was already stacked against her. She wondered what Pam thought about her own chances of getting into the school. She was too afraid to ask. Pam seemed to know so much about how these auditions worked. Leah slumped slightly in her seat and had to wonder for a moment why she bothered coming to San Francisco at all.

In the next few minutes Pam proceeded to analyse the other girls they had met over dinner at the boardinghouse. Sally Jenkins was too awkward to even be considered. Linda, on the other hand, looked promising. But that pale Katrina Gray looked positively anorexic.

That night Leah lay on top of her bed with the light on, unable to sleep. She curled her toes under the hem of her long cotton nightgown and held her pillow to her chest, wishing her cat, Missy, were there curled up beside her. Even with the window open the top floor room was cosy and comfortable. From the bed Leah could see the sweep of a harbour light circling the bay and the air smelled of the ocean and distant places. But tonight Leah longed for something familiar with the scent of home about it.

Her conversation with Pam had left her shaken. To think that just this morning she had actually believed, no matter what had gone wrong with Clarissa, no matter how guilty she felt about leaving her mom, she was going to get into SFBA and then all the tears and fears would be worth it. Now she wondered how anyone actually got into the school. What did the judges look for in a fifteen-year-old girl? Good training? A strong slim body? Charisma? Presence? Quality? Line? All the things that added up to talent? Leah didn’t know. Pam said talent didn’t count-not that match. But if talent didn’t count, what did?

Leah rolled over onto her stomach and flicked out the light at last. She slipped between the crisp clean sheets, hugged her knees to her chest, and asked herself one more time. Was there anything about her that would make her one of Madame Preston’s chosen few?


For the Writers

Congratulations to all the writers & I believe from the deepest of my heart that we're all winners. I would not have pushed myself so hard if not because of the support from all of you.

@aislingcronin @carolkean @kaelci @improv @nonsowrites @bennettitalia @stinawog @byn @mariannewest @felt.buzz @ntowl
@Botefarm @KAERpediem💃🏽 @linnyplant @Kipswolfe @amelin @grow23


bad gif.gif

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You did great! And you have a story you can finish in time. As long as you keep writing (anything) you’re a winner.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks so much.. I will definitely finish it... That's my aim 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27