Sort:  

You're hilarious -- effortlessly, it seems!
-- white, soft, and delicately embroidered with lace and makeshift pearls. It was a classic bo-ho dress, and now… now it was a boo-hoo dress. It was coated in mud ...
Oooh, and this - Deep POV, unreliable narrator, you nail it!
-- the passage she had fallen into —that the dragon had pushed her into with its great flappy wings and stinking breath. The bastard creature. It had to have been a deliberate action… ‘great protector’, indeed.

Spiders! Oh, I love it:
she had imagined just your average-sized household spider, but for something to have lived in giant-arse tunnels like this, with that much spiderweb excreted from its behind, still lingering after all these years…
Ha! Good question:
Why was it called a pixie-cut, anyway? The little pixie creatures in the tavern had luscious long hair
-- You stole my answer! Beat me to it that is:
It was probably Disney’s fault.
You slay me!!!!

Ha! She too has a rescuer who doesn't seem to be the usual knight in shining armor (Lady Graves has the same issue going with Dr. Stangler), and you remind me I need to show the doctor as vividly as you show Draven -
Draven’s cool, calm demeanour, his warm brown eyes smiling down at her from above that deep scar embedded within his cheek.
What was he like when he wasn’t rescuing distressed newcomers, and then leaving them alone, half-drugged...

when you said in your introduction that "my words aren't the best today", I was already doubting the lack of confidence in them, and after reading this chapter, I can confirm that there is no need to worry, you've found a nice rythm and stablished some basic info about the world, that is good.
About this chapter, nothig exciting yes, but quite a pleasant read, and another bit of the main character's psyche interacting with something so... well, fantastic. Will keep reading!

Least she's being practical now XD Wearing what sounds like a ballgown to a retreat and then running through scrub in high heels, that completely out of place dress and done up hair was pretty much the opposite of that XD

Now I wonder which way it's going to go with the necklace XD

And on the disappointment front I think that's normal? XP I have had enough people telling me how much they're looking forward to my project now that I'm just about crippled with that fear of it being a let down XD You didn't have to worry about that with this chapter though :)

Cheers! :) Yeah, fear of disappointment is totally normal. Unless the person involved is some strange, highly-confident individual who fears nothing. :D Not me. I'm an anxious mess most days.

I was so brain-melty yesterday. Now I re-read it today and think, "heh, stop whinging; it wasn't that bad." ~ I'm also not much of a swearer in real life, so I feel awkward channeling it xD

Oh! So so thankful that there's a breeze today! Less brain-melt. I mean, I have an air-conditioner. But, I don't want the super horrible electricity bill that comes with it unless I'm literally dying of heatstroke. ~shakes fist at Queensland weather~

Well, I can tell you, the little voice is a liar!
The little voice in my head tells me that this chapter will let them down.
Giant spiders, Daven's unreliable rescuer syndrome, the necklace - the narrative voice is strong and compelling, engaging and funny, so that little voice in your head is a Pathological Liar and or a total ignoramus!

The little voice is my tormentor of dreams and bringer of despair.

But I re-read this the next day after writing and flicked the little evil voice away from whispering in my ear. It looked fine to me once my brain was no longer melting! :D

You are wise for your years.
While intuition should be trusted, there is that other voice, the naysayer, that has to be censored. Silenced. Sent into exile!

#NovMadFan Bruni getting in a few nano reads before I hit the sack. I'll be looking for the next episode because I really liked this one. 👍

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14