I Won!!! Or Should I Say I am Mad?

MY.png

The Freewrite House Madness

Just in case you missed what the Freewrite House Madness is, here is a quick recap.

18 of us Freewriters set out to write a Novel in one month. 50,000 words. Of course, we didn't invent this, the NaNoWriMo folks did and we utilized their services for our adventure.

But the encouragement we gave each other was all through Steemit. The best part of this writing adventure were the #NovMadFan s who are freewriters that decided that writing a novel in a month was not for them (they are the smart ones!!) but cheering on the mad freewriters was what they wanted to do.

Thank you NovMadFans!! Without you, some of us might have given up!

I Finished

Screen Shot 2018-11-30 at 4.26.55 PM.png
Yup, Liz Brown - that's me 🤪

I finished the 50,000 words and since it was called the November Madness, I proudly declare that I am officially mad now.

On NaNoWriMo the finishers are called winners - but I feel that every single one who started on this adventure is a winner!!

We all wrote more than we would have otherwise and quite a few got some clarity about their writing or explored new territories.

For me, I ended up writing about my childhood. Totally not what I intended to do and not much fiction writing involved. But apparently, this is what wanted to be written.

And still, there is more that is coming up in my mind. Maybe someday, it will be a memoir or it might be just a private book for my kids. But actually, I am already working with my sister on a podcast that is about growing up in postwar Germany. We shall see where this will lead.

Here is me as an angel 😇

Screen Shot 2018-11-30 at 4.27.21 PM.png

It is very easy to become an angel - all you have to do is cough up some money. Which I happily did because the NaNo folks are doing some great work.

I am very happy that I finished this time.

When I first signed up for NaNoWriMo in 2009, I actually finished my 50,000 words but didn't have a chance to upload. I had an unplanned trip to Germany since my mom was dying. I made it there in time to say goodbye and we had the funeral and all.
I also did finish my story that, when I think about it, also turned way more autobiographical than planned. But I never had the chance to verify it since the internet had problems at my cousin's house. I was staying there close to the airport to catch a flight the next day. I had written the last words just in time for a win - but no internet.

Oh well.

The years after, I was thinking about it, even setting an intention to do it, but there was always something - usually taking care of someone else.

This year, I wanted this for me. Do my thing. It almost got derailed by me getting a bit too much involved in something that really wasn't my problem but I couldn't walk away and not help... I am proud of myself that I stuck to my intentions and finished.

Here is my Dtube Snap Plus

And the YouTube version

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Oh what a story - you FINISHED but lost internet and didn't get credit as a NaNo 2009 winner! And after that, always taking care of others first, until 2018. I would love to read your insights and unique memories of growing up in post-WWII Germany. This should be snapped up by publishers. Thank you for all your contributions and sacrifices, Marianne, and may you be rewarded with book sales!!!

You are the sweetest sweetie!!! ❤️

Congrats on completing Nano!!! What a massive accomplishment. I hear you on writing stories that are more autobiographical than intended... happens to me every time. This is huge, though. Hope you’re happy with what you’ve written and taking time to celebrate! 💞

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am! But not going to read through it for a while. Then, I will organize and work with it :)

I am glad to hear that that happens to you too. Sometimes I wonder why I seem to be falling into that rut

Not just you, it happens to me on a regular basis as well.
If nothing else, I'd say we've all lived interesting lives. ;-)

Congratulations on the win!!! Woo hoo!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha - that is for sure!!!

I am not one bit surprised at your success. Big congrats to you @mamariannewest, and to all who even made the attempt.

Ohhhh so proud of you, you did really well! Congrats on being the good ones, because only the good ones are! ❤

So Liz M. Brown is your full name? Congratulations!!!! I too think all who started the journey won!! :)

No, Marianne West is my name LOL . When I set up my account, I was thinking to write under a different name. I should see if I can change it :)

Oh I see... Marianne West. Hehe.

Well congrats sweets! Been a heck of a journey eh? Bout time I had some more hats to go with me, the door mouse & the march hare😋

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha - thank you so much. Psst - don't tell anyone. I have been mad for a long time LOL

always happy to go to any weird place you want to explore 😉

#NovMadFan Bruni is so happy you completed your nano @mariannewest. You are amazing! 💕🏆

Thank you, Bruni!!

How fantastic @mariannewest, congratulations!

While I have yet to participate in the Freewrite, I feel I practice it when I actually make my posts, because I just sit and write what comes into my head, no plan, no layout, just what my fingers want to type on the keyboard. Sometimes the post makes it to the platform, sometimes it does not... I guess what I am saying is that sometimes we have no control over which way the story wants to go, it writes itself!

Fantastic you have green in your garden at this time of year, we are under so much snow.

Time is never truly ours to do as we please, but we do what we can when we can.

I think a lot of writers do. The prompt is there to give you a nudge every day :) Hope you will participate often.

and in Southern California, Winter is a great garden season. That is when all the greens and cabbage family grows the best. And we might get rain once in a while to help things along.

Congratulations @mariannewest! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Muy buen post te dejo mi lind tengo buenos blog para que nos ayudemos ambos https://steemit.com/@jean06

Esto es spam y es mejor no hacer esto. Muchas cuentas importantes pueden rechazar tu voto para que nadie pueda ver tu trabajo más.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28