My Freewrite Madness - Day 2 - 2418

in #freewritemadness5 years ago (edited)

MY.png

Day 2

This was a 2418 word day. Most of that - maybe all of it was written before 10 this morning and all day, I wanted to come back to the writing. It is going in a totally different direction than I thought I wanted to go and at this point, I will only share bits and pieces. At least until I know what is going on LOL

So weird that the writer is the last to know where the story is going. Apparently, the characters know.... Oh well, such is life.

Just wanted to say that I love reading all my fellow freewritemadness writers and will apologize right now that some of it might have to wait for me to read later.

Life besides the writing life is also pretty busy - and then - there are the Dtube snaps 😂

Please, send me a 1 minute or about there video of your writing experience and reading experience I can publish at the Freewrite House. That way, we can give more prizes to the #NovMadFan s.

If you comment on mine or another# freewritemadness writer's post, use the #NovMadFan tag so we can easily recognize you!!!

Untitled design (12).png

Excerpt

My sister out of the blue told my happy little self
“God died last night.”

“What? Really?”

Immediately a dark cloud descended on me. God had died. That could only mean one thing. The world was coming to an end. But still, there was a little bit of doubt in my mind.

“How do you know?” I asked.

“It was on the news on the radio.”

That settled the question. If it was on the news on the radio, it was true. There was no doubt in my little mind. My parents always listened to the news and we had to be quiet so they could understand everything that was said.

If it was on the news, then it was true.

God had died.

As we kept walking to church, I kept looking up at the sky. Surely, the end of the world had to be coming any minute now.

God was dead.

The end was upon us.

But the sky was blue, dotted with some friendly looking white clouds and none of the end of the world stuff was in sight.

Truthfully, I didn’t know what I was looking for but surely, it had to be dark and scary and stormy. It was always dark and spooky in the fairytales when bad things were happening. Bad things just don’t happen on a bright and sunny day.

We made it safely to church. The world had not ended yet.

And it didn’t end by the time I had to go to bed. Or the next day.

How can the world keep existing when God is dead?

Something didn’t add up here.

Untitled design (12).png

For a chance to WIN SteemBasicIncome just read and comment on my #freewritemadness posts NovMadFan.gif For more information visit the @freewritehouse

Remember, use #NovMadFan on all your comments of a #freewritemadness writer!

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Congratulations @mariannewest! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 85000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Loading...

#NovMadFan Bruni keeping up with part two of your work. You just drew me in... I need more tomorrow.

you are the best fan!!!

So weird that the writer is the last to know where the story is going. Apparently, the characters know....
This is so true! It can take a long time for us to set aside our intentions and listen to the character, who takes on a life and free will of his or her own. E.g., I had hatched a silly subplot of a wife cheating (just once, which is all it takes, and while inebriated) on her husband, and their daughter being raised by him, a father cheated of his biological child. Years passed, with the novel getting read and shredded, but nobody commented on the wife's infidelity. Suddenly one day I heard her in my mind, indignant, telling me the trouble with this novel was that she would NOT have gotten inebriated to the point of cheating and she was NEVER in love with that other man, and I was just doing what writers do, contriving a conflict for the sake of selling a story. Sure, you can say it was my own mind doing all the talking, but it felt more like SHE was scolding ME for forcing her into a role she refused to play. I still need to revisit the novel and rewrite some of the awful dialogue I attributed to her. What amazes me most is how LONG it took me to hear her. :)

I love that so much!!

The art of listening!! Even if it is to voices in our own head LOL

So weird that the writer is the last to know where the story is going. Apparently, the characters know.... Oh well, such is life.

Yes, this! ^^^ But it’s so frustratingly fun!

Anyway, God is dead?! I believe everything I read, even fiction!! Lol. Hopefully, the revelation will reveal itself to you by the end of the month!

Super duper effort, Marianne. :)

Good question.

How can the world keep existing when God is dead?

I wonder why that was reported on the news? Looking forward to finding out. The resident cat is your #NovMadFan. : )

I think the big sister might have lied 😳

I didn't even think of that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15