Friday Rocks |#8

in #fridaysrock5 years ago

Another Friday - another #Fridaysrock, a challenge created by @nat-expressions.

I have started some weeks ago to post about the minerals and rocks my son has collected. Honestly I did not know what treasure he has left me. Reading about each piece, I found interesting facts and information that make my curiosity grow.

Without further ado, I would like to present today Malachite. This beautiful opaque green piece with bands is real delight to the eyes.

image

The colour of malachite is always green and varies from iight to dark green, very dark, almost black. Like many other minerals it was known from ancient times and it was used for gems and decoration. Also when grounded, the powder was used as a pigment for painting.

Do you know that the FIFA World Cup Trophy got two bands of malachite on its base?

image

Source

It fits perfectly with the gold, don't you think so?

I cannot miss to mention the famous Malachite Room, in The Winter Palace (St. Petersburg, Russia) where visitors can see columns, fieplace, vases made entirely from malachite.

Malachite is among my favourite minerals with this deep colour and parallel bands.And I hope you like it as much as I do.

Stay tuned for more #fridaysrock posts.

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Posted with eSteem

Sort:  

I don't know that I have ever seen malachite. It's beautiful! I can only imagine that a room decorated in it would be truly striking. Thank you for sharing this.

Thanks, I am glad that I show something new.
Have a wonderful weekend!

Oh! That is a beautiful specimen! Thanks for sharing this one! I have visited the Winter Palace and the Malachite Room is breathtaking.

Thank you 😀
I haven't been in the Winter Palace. Lucky you 😀
I wish I can visit it some day.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71