Making Soda From Rainwater! How Frugal Can You Get?

in #frugal6 years ago (edited)

I've done a great deal recently trying to cut down my expenses. LED bulbs, water saving showerhead, that kind of thing. With SBD plummeting towards zero, I need every advantage I can get if I'm gonna be able to keep paying rent and utilities.

With that in mind, about a month ago I looked at how much I spend in a month just on soda. It's my only vice, and I can't quit however hard I try. But I can make it healthier and cheaper. Step one was to buy a Sodastream used for $10.

Step two, as seen above, was to never ever use the official sodastream CO2 bottles. They cost $35 upfront and then $20 for refills IIRC. I was able to buy a food grade CO2 bottle with the correct nozzle type to be refilled at any sporting goods store for $24, and an adapter I bought online for $10.

Alright, getting a little spendy. But when you consider that a CO2 refill from Dick's Sporting Goods is $3.50 you can see how this method saves money aggressively over time compared to continual $20 refills of the official Sodastream CO2 bottles.

It's important to find out from wherever you plan to get CO2 what the impurities profile of their CO2 is. Industrial grade can be as low as 99.0% pure. Food grade is 99.90% pure. Medical grade is 99.99% pure.

Dick's supplies CO2 that's 99.8% pure, which imo is close enough to food grade that the 0.1% difference doesn't matter. The impurities are stuff like hydrogen, nitrogen and oxygen. In industrial grade CO2 there can be benzene and traces of oil vapor in there, so definitely stay away from that.

For flavoring I'm using a variety of cheapo powdered drink mixes. Kool Aid, Wyler's, and a brand of sugar free apple cider I've discovered that's quite tasty. I can't find any traditional soda flavors like cola, dr. pepper or creme soda in powdered form, but will keep looking.

Already I've drastically reduced the cost of carbonated, flavored sugar water. But what if the water can be free as well? We've had a rainy weekend in Portland, so given that rainwater catchment is perfectly legal here (despite what you may have heard from disreputable sources a few years back) I put a water tank out with a large funnel:

Low tech but it's a start. I collected plenty enough water for doing the dishes, and for making soda. It sort of boggles my mind that it's actually illegal in some places to catch free water that falls from the sky. If you can use a solar panel to catch sunlight and turn it into electricity, why should it be illegal to catch rainwater?

Anyway that's my fizzy sugar water craving taken care of as cheaply as possible, in perpetuity. Next thing I'll be taking a serious look at is investing in a large, proper rainwater catchment system hooked up to the gutter, with filters and whatnot.

I don't know if I can connect it to the house water supply as a renter, but I could certainly use it for watering the yard. More on that as it develops.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

@alexbeyman,
Raining water is not illegal in my country! But I don't know bacterial issues that could happen while opening it for long time! Otherwise this is better and I wish to try this out!

Cheers~

Alex - Sky water (Rainy water) is using to make drinking water in my country... Water is the precious to most of areas... Therefore, this is a good way to use that water to make something precious...

+W+

Dude, I would really recommend investing in a really solid water filter if you're going to do that. There are particulates in the air that get picked up by rainwater that are really bad for you.

Huge respect for your Bruh @alexbeyman. There aren't much people doing what you are doing. Living a frugal and an energy-effiecient lifestyle isn't something we rarely see these days .Who would have even thought one can make soda from mare rain water? This is something new to me even a Biology undergrad.

What branch of biology are you studying?

Biological Sciences is the name of the program. So I basically study all the branches; some into details and some very shallowly.

That's an intricate well laid down plan to cut cost, leading to an investment too. Good work done i think i will take a line from your script and make some changes for myself too

You are an enterprising rationalizer. Congratulations.

If you're right the soda is a very addictive drink I say it because I like it too but because of the high cost of this product here in my country very few people can buy such a drink, but if you have the chance to try it yourself I hope And if you succeed, you would save good money.

Dude how scientific can you get.

Looks like I should start collecting rainwater.

less sbd more experiments:great job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87