Seedless Oranges from China

in #fruits5 years ago (edited)

Last week my cousin came from China. He went on an official trip there and had been there for several months. When he came back from China he bought some fruits. Something that caught my eyes were the oranges that is brought. I was so surprised to see those oranges. I first thought it was a different fruit that he brought from China. But after a close look I convinced myself that it was orange.

lxp1n58kvc.jpg

I still had some doubt and then my mother clarified the doubt by peeling the outer skin off the fruit. First thing it was so cute. It was a miniature form of the bigger orange fruit. I was wondering if there will be any difference in the taste of the fruit but it was all the same. Some people might see the above picture and say what's the big deal but I have never seen oranges in that small size ever before. That's what attracted me so much. Maybe the above image may not give a clear picture of the size of the orange. But it was in the size of a plum fruit. Maybe I should have held it on my hand to get a clear picture.

Another interesting thing that I noticed was that there were no seeds inside the fruit. This is something that hindered me so much. In natural medicine it is not advisable to eat any fruits that has no seeds. Usually in our family if we identify fruits that has no seeds it will be given to the elders and the one with seeds will usually be shared with the kids. The reason being, there is a belief that if we consume a fruit that had no seeds in it, we might also end up becoming like that and it can possibly affect our reproductive system. That is how the usual belief is.

ochf2zefjl.jpg

Seedless fruits are very common when we buy grapes. It is said that the plants are forcefully injected to bare fruits without seeds in it. I have a hard feeling that these Seedless fruits can create so many harmful effects on humans. I would like to hear your opinion on this. Not just fruits but when we buy other vegetable seeds in the market, it will usually be labeled as American treated seeds. The specialty about these seeds is that they grow into vegetable plans but the vegetables that they produce will not have any seeds. Imagine if those qualities goes to our body from those vegetables.

When the lable of these seeds read American treated seeds, I used to wonder if this was strategically sold on other countries except America or is it something that is also sold in America as well.

Share your thoughts on Seedless fruits and vegetables.

Sort:  

I guess this ones are called as chinese mandarin orange. I have seen them too. They are smaller in size. But don't know if they are genetically modified.
Fruits and vegetables vary from region to region. Recently I have been amazed by the varieties of onions(white,yellow,red) ,potatoes etc available in the market here. I initially thought those orange , yellow,red capsicums were modified. But they are quiet natural and the colour comes from different ripe stage.

Yes it is true that fruits and vegetables vary from place to place. But as it was Seedless, it made me think that it could be a genetically modified one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28