fruitsandveggiesmonday Pumpkin soup for the soul(with a secret ingredient).

in #fruitsandveggiesminday5 years ago (edited)

image

You're not just cutting up your pumpkins for Halloween and throwing them away are you?! You need to eat them, not only are they cheap-they're delicious.

Need some ideas? How about a simple soup with basic ingredients. I've showed a pumpkin soup on here before, but this one is kicked up a notch. Start by cooking some onion and garlic in some oil, here's the kicker: I used some bacon as the oil! Genius😈. You can use any oil that you choose.

image

Brown it up and add some stock, I used chicken, veggie or beef would work too.

image

Then add the cubed pumpkin and cook until soft. Use a blender(I used a hand held unit but it could be put into any type I suppose) to make everything creamy.

image

There is the finished product. It is amazingly delicious and easy to make. And there is enough for leftovers.

image

image

This is my entry for #fruitsandveggiesmonday which is put on by @lenasveganliving, all of my photos are taken with my Samsung S6.

Sort:  

That is really simple to make. I like how thick it turns out this way. I wonder if it would make a good gravy on potatoes or with grilled cheese sandwiches.

This is the same base I like to start with too, except I usually turn the whole recipe into something called succotash. Cubed ham is what I use, because it is cheaper than bacon. Then I add lots of corn and some lima beans, and maybe a little bit of diced tomatoes. Pumpkin and turmeric elevates everything with the orange savory harvest flavor.

Ooooh I like that tumeric idea. Thanks.

Gnarly recipe bro, nice to check it out from here. Be well bro

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice to see you kp.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

hello @edthecanadian, I think you need to create a full vegan recipe to join the #fruitsandveggiesmonday competition .. IMHO, learning from my experience when added cheese on my fried banana recipe, I need to remove it .. lucky because it is only optional topping. anyway... is this kind of soup you eat with bread too? as an appetizer?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71