HOW TO MAKE VEGAN CHEDDAR CHEESE (SOY- AND NUT-FREE) 🧀🧀🧀

vegan-cheddar-17.jpg

If there is anything I miss since going 99% plant-based then it is cheese. I have never been a huge meat eater, but oh boy I loved my cheeses.

Though I have made vegan cashew mozzarella cheese before to make a cheese sauce or to add to my pizzas, lately I have been obsessed with other cheeses too. Though the food industry has jumped on the vegan hype, providing a ton of processed cheese options, making your own is a far better idea.

Why? Well, these ready-made cheeses we find in the store are jam-packed with yucky chemicals such as colorants, preservatives and other nasty ingredients we don’t want to put in our body.

If you look at their food label many questions arise, making real cheese actually the better option. But does that mean we plant-based muncher can’t enjoy a lovely piece of “faux’ cheddar or aged camembert?

Not at all. Still perfecting most recipes and waiting for friends to visit me here in Cambodia with some of the missing bacteria needed to make aged cheese.

But the good news….. One recipe is ready to share with all of you cheese lovers.

And what a better day than to share this wonderful recipe on #fruitsandveggiesmonday, a weekly contest made possible by these to gorgeous and inspirational women @lenasveganliving and @plantstoplanks.

vegan-cheddar-14.jpg

HOW TO MAKE VEGAN CHEDDAR CHEESE


FYI: Though this cheddar cheese was perfectly sliceable. If you want one that is gradable too, add more agar agar to the mix to make it more firm.

Though there is nothing wrong with eating nuts - I absolutely love them - many people seem to be allergic to them. That’s why I decided to make a nut-free cheddar recipe.

Soy, however, is true poison if you ask me. Unfermented soy was never meant to be eaten in large amounts. Want to learn more about the health dangers of soy? CLICK HERE

vegan-cheddar-15.jpg

INGREDIENTS


  • 1 cup water
  • ½ cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • ¾ cup sweet potato mash
  • ¼ cup nutritional yeast
  • ½ T smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp Himalayan pink salt
  • ¼ to ½ t ground black pepper
  • ½ t onion powder
  • ½ t garlic powder
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 2 bags agar agar (4 grams or about 1 T) + ½ to ⅔ cup water

DIRECTIONS


Cook sweet potatoes until tender, drain, and mash. Allow to cool.

vegan-cheddar-1.jpg

vegan-cheddar-2.jpg

Add all ingredients, except 2 bags agar agar (4 grams or about 1 T) + ½ to ⅔ cup water, to a powerful blender and blend until smooth and creamy. Small tip: to make sure all is well blended pour ½ cup of the water in your blender first, then add all other ingredients and finish with the other half of water. When smooth, taste and add more salt or other flavorings if needed.

vegan-cheddar-3.jpg

vegan-cheddar-4.jpg

vegan-cheddar-5.jpg

In a small pot or saucepan, heat water and agar agar. Bring to a gentle boil. Stir constantly. When boiling, turn down the heat and keep stirring until the mixture has a thick molasses type of consistency.

vegan-cheddar-7.jpg

vegan-cheddar-8.jpg

When the agar is ready you need to handle fast, Quickly pour the agar agar, using a spatula, in the blender with the cheesy mix and blend about 20 to 30 seconds to make sure the agar is well incorporated.

vegan-cheddar-6.jpg

Pour the mixture in plastic or rubber containers or molds. Let set in the fridge for at least 30 minutes to one hour.

vegan-cheddar-9.jpg

vegan-cheddar-10.jpg

When hardened, turn the containers and gently squeeze them to let the cheese slit out om a plate. Slice and enjoy!

vegan-cheddar-11.jpg

vegan-cheddar-12.jpg

vegan-cheddar-13.jpg

vegan-cheddar-16.jpg

WISHING YOU ALL A WONDERFUL DAY ღ ღ ღ


signature-new.png

FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE GREEN SMOOTHIE EBOOK HERE!


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆

HOW TO MAKE A WHOLEMEAL VEGAN PIZZA FROM SCRATCH

TRIPLE BERRY CHIA SEED PUDDING FOR #FRUITSANDVEGGIESMONDAY

PEACHY BERRY MORNING LOVE BOWL ღ ღ ღ

SOBA ZUCCHINI NOODLES WITH HOMEMADE BASIL PESTO (#FRUITSANDVEGGIESMONDAY)

STRAWBERRY MOUSSE SERVED IN HOMEMADE CHOCOLATE CUPS

5-MIN CHIA SEED STRAWBERRY JAM (SUGAR- AND GELATIN-FREE)


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmoBZUcHz58m3pP6QX7KjeCNfAsekinuSbJ8Snb8X4RZ5GchCZ7iRBkBC.png

Sort:  

Looks really delish indeed

Fantastic recipe Amy! I definitely must try! Altough I was never big fan of cheddar cheese, I think I will like this vegan version, lol. 🥑😍🍓
1 Collage.jpg

Thanks lena. I am sure you will love this one. It was so good.

Hi amy-goodrich,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks for the love and support. Much appreciated

halo dear @amy-goodrich, I have to tell you that I'm not vegan, but I really like to follow these posts to get new ideas and to learn about food. for example, I didn't know that soy was not healthy (I don't eat much, but I imagine that all vegans or milk allergics use it a lot). your post is very nice and even the photos are perfect for your description. your cheese looks really delicious, almost a pudding, congratulations :-))

Thank you so much for your livy comment. I am glad to hear our posts are I spring you to try more vegan recipes. Have a lovely day

Congratulations @amy-goodrich! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 70000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 75000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congrats on the Curie! Definitely a killer post. It's great to have many different options in the vegan cheese realm. It's not something I miss necessarily, but it is nice to have some on occasion. The market for it is exploding here, but I much prefer making it at home. I haven't made any like this yet that you can slice, so I'm keeping this marked to try out soon!

Thanks.... I always been a big cheese lover. Really enjoy experimenting with vegan alternatives. More to come. That's for sure lol. Have a beautiful day

This sounds a ton healthier than the store bought vegan cheeses and I'm sure it tasted a whole lot better as well:)

Posted using Partiko Android

It tastes so good indeed. Wish I could send you a piece.

Vegans... forever in search OF CHEEEEEESSSSEEEE... thanks for sharing this one. Must try!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha.... Indeed. This one is so good. Hope you try it one day. Thanks for passing by

I have read most of your recipes and they are great, first because of the organization that you place in your publications and secondly because they look very appetizing, I know how to cook but not like you, I am very deficient in vegan recipes but I will try very hard to make one of yours :D

Thank you so much for the lovely compliments. Most recipes that I share are not that difficult to make. I hope you try one of them some day. Have a nice day

I must say that I don't completely agree with you on soy but I think it's about which researches you decide to follow and which not :)

I love agar agar. You can blend almost whatever you want, add agar agar and you have some cheese :) or you can make it in a sweet way and get panna cotta :)

The ingredients seem to go very well together and I can imagine that the taste is very good.

Thank you for sharing and good luck with the contest! :)

You are right. Though, the thing with soy is that it sure has great health benefits too but it's high level of anti nutrients makes in not very suitable for human consumption in its unfermented state. There are many research papers on soy done by people with interests in the soy industry.... This happens not only with research in soy but many other crops too. I used to work for such a company.....

Anyway., agar agar is def a great tool in the vegan cheese making world. Also made strawberry mouse with it not so long ago.

Never been a fan of panacotta but maybe I like a vegan version of it....

Thanks for passing by and have a wonderful day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75