Fruits and Veggies Monday | Healthy! Blueberry Dark Chocolate Delight

IMG_0417.JPG

Hello my Fellow Fruit and Veggie Lovers! It’s Monday! Time for Fruits and Veggies Monday!

I hope you are all enjoying this fabulous springtime weather. The grass and trees are so green. Beautiful flowers are blooming everywhere!

This is my entry into @lenasveganliving’s week 36 Fruits and Veggies Monday Contest! Wow, I don't know how she does it! I think I can speak for everyone by saying we are all thankful for the opportunity to share what we all love as a community on Steemit! @nina.ser is going to have her hands full this week! So many amazing recipes!

I have to say, Mr. Bird is loving these Monday entries…in fact just last night he finished my entry from last Monday. As he was placing the empty bowl in the sink he mentioned that I needed to make another! Well, the good news is I have! He is in luck!

As always, its healthy! Packed with nuts, oats, fruit and of course dark chocolate! I hope you all will enjoy!


Healthy! Blueberry Dark Chocolate Delight!

You Will Need
Crust

  • 1 cup gluten free organic oats
  • 1 cup raw almonds (soaked overnight and rinsed)
  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 Tablespoons maple syrup
  • 4 ½ Tablespoons coconut oil (melted)

First Layer

  • 2/3 cup dairy free/soy free dark chocolate chips

Second Layer

  • 2 cups Organic blueberries
  • 1/3 cup dates or raisins
  • ½ teaspoon organic vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil (melted)
  • ¼ cup chia seeds

Topping

  • ½ cup Gluten free organic oats
  • ½ cup Almond Meal or Flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • ½ teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon coconut Oil (melted)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Let’s get started!

First, the Crust!

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Place all ingredients into your food processor and pulse until all is blended and your mixture is a fine texture.

IMG_4553.JPG

See, nice, fine texture! This is what we like!

IMG_4555.JPG

Pour into a parchment lined baking dish. Press crust evenly throughout baking dish.

IMG_4560.JPG

Into the oven! Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Then turn to 375 degrees and bake for another 6-8 minutes. The edges of the crust should be light brown. Remove from oven and set aside.

Now for the 2nd layer! The Chocolate! Yes, we couldn’t leave out the chocolate! Somehow I was so excited here..missed that picture! Oh well, bear with me here friends!

Melt the chocolate by microwave or in a double boiler. Stir frequently to prevent burning! When chocolate is fully melted pour over crust. Smooth evenly over crust. Place in refrigerator to cool.

Layer 3! The lovely Blueberries! Aren't they beautiful! So good for you. Packed with antioxidants and low in calories!

IMG_4562.JPG

Place all ingredients for this layer into the food processor. Pulse to mix. I like to have a chunky mix for filling for this layer, so pulse until you achieve your favorite texture!

IMG_4563.JPG

Remove pan from refrigerator and smooth filling over chocolate layer. Reserve a bit of chocolate for drizzling on top!

Oh my, no tasting allowed!!!

IMG_4570.JPG

Last but not least, the topping!

Place all topping ingredients in a bowl and mix. Press topping mixture on top of filling.

IMG_4568.JPG

Drizzle chocolate on top! You know you love that chocolate on top!

IMG_4575.JPG

Place in freezer. (You may want to take it out of the freezer after before it hardens to cut squares.) Return to freezer overnight.

Now, enjoy! It’s Berry-licious! I added a spoon of coconut yogurt, Mr. Bird was in heaven! In fact he took a few nibbles of this one before I could get a picture! Oh well....

IMG_4664.JPG

Thank you for stopping by on this Fruits and Veggies Monday! Thank you again, @lenasveganliving for hosting this contest. Big thanks to our sponsors @progressivechef & @englishtchrivy!

Enjoy your week!

Feel free to check out some of my earlier posts!

How to Cross-Stitch, Oldest form of Embroidery
Springtime! Philly Beefsteak Sandwich
Vegan Griddle Cakes

And as always..blessings to you all

IMG_0316.JPG

Sort:  

Mr. Bird is indeed a lucky man! These look fantastic! I think I am finally going to get a chance to go strawberry picking on Friday, but blueberry season here shouldn't be far behind. Hooray for berry season and all of the yummy things you can make with them!

lol, yes, he is a lucky man isn't he! So fun! Yes, it is Strawberry season isn't it. I love picking them as well! You are so sweet, glad you're back Katie!

Glad to be back! :)

My hand truly are full haha so many amazing entries already! And yours is one of them! Absolutely love this delight you made. One of my favourite combos - blueberries and chocolate.. Will be saving this recipe for later ;)

Thank you so much! Glad you liked it, needless to say there are a few pieces missing already! lol Good luck with the judging! I'm sure you will do an amazing job as you are a great foodie as well!

I count that as creativity haha ;) Thank you, I appreciate it!

So Mr. Bird is eating all the goodies you are making? LOL!!! I see you made another delicious one for him. Wow, definitely a delight my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓
1 Collage.jpg

lol, yes, he is very happy about this contest...in fact as I mentioned I couldn't get the pictures finished without him nibbling on it! Glad he is eating healthier! You are too sweet my friend, glad to be a part of this community! So much kindness :)

I am so happy to hear that, lol................ and CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!

4.png

Oh my,my! Thank you @lenasveganliving! I am so pleased and honored! Love this, so appreciative of all of the work you do hosting this contest!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-07T14:03:03
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 225.75/200.00
Total Photos: 38
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75