Fruits and Veggies Monday | Spicy Mango & Cucumber Salsa with Toasted Coconut Appetizers

DSC_0064 (2).jpg

Good morning my fruits and veggie foodies! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend!


The weather is warming up around here so we’ve been taking advantage and spending as much time outside as possible. I noticed many Steemit posts with snowy photos so perhaps you had time for building snowmen, hot chocolate and snuggles by the fireplace? Perfect time for a bit of rest and recharging our bodies.


Here we are celebrating another great week of Fruits and Veggies Monday. I want to give a big thanks to our host @plantstoplanks, she’s off and running in a big way with the baton passed to her by our founder @lenasveganliving! This week you’ll this weekly challenge now posted on the @vegansofsteemit community page, how exciting! If you haven’t already, visit this great group of Steemians! So excited to see our guest judge @cicisaja this week! I’m sure she’ll tackle this task easily, love the joy and creativity she shares with us each week!


We’re planning to join friends this week sharing appetizers so I have been experimenting with something fun and healthy. You know, something light which included a sweet and spicy kick. The last time I visited the market Mangoes looked amazing so I grabbed quite a few. They have been ripening for about a week now. They should be perfect.


DSC_0004 (2).jpg

They’re healthy…


Mangoes are packed with anti-oxidants called polyphenols which help counter signs of aging and chronic diseases within our body. They also contain high levels Vitamin C, perfect during the cold and flu season. I love to include Mangoes in my morning smoothies and juices, they have a lightly sweet taste which pairs well with other fruits and vegetables. If you haven’t tried them I hope you will!


todaysjourney.jpg

Spicy Mango and Cucumber Salsa with Toasted Coconut Wafers

I used

  • Mango (1 medium)
  • Fresh Cilantro (2 tbsp.)
  • Jalapeno Pepper ( ½ of 1)
  • Small Red Onion (½ of 1)
  • Fresh Cucumber (1/2 of 1)
  • Maple Syrup (2 tbsp.)
  • Fresh Lime Juice (2 tbsp.)
  • Unsweetened Organic Coconut (1/2 cup)
  • Arrowroot Powder (1 tbsp.)
  • Silken Tofu (1 pkg)
  • Coconut Oil (2 tbsp.)

Chop it up…


mangoes first!
DSC_0012 (2).jpg

Cilantro…


oh so fragrant.

DSC_0018 (2).jpg

Red Onions and Jalapenos…


add that spicy kick we want! Note I added 1/2 of the pepper, Mr. Bird is heat sensitive! If you're feeling daring, add more!
DSC_0025 (2).jpg

Don’t forget…


the cucumbers. They add such a nice refreshing crunch.
DSC_0027 (2).jpg

Now everything…


into our salsa bowl. Love the colors and fragrance.
DSC_0032 (2).jpg

Maple syrup...


lime juice a dash of salt and pepper and a big stir! Into the refrigerator for a few hours, this will allow the flavors to blossom.
DSC_0035 (2).jpg


It’s lunchtime!


Mix the coconut with the arrowroot powder, slice the tofu into ¼” slices. Press the coconut mixture into the tofu slices. Now toast these little gems in coconut oil until they’re golden brown. Top with Mango Cucumber Salsa and......oh, I see Mr. Bird circling the kitchen, just in time!
DSC_0039 (2).jpg


Enjoy! Great with a salad for lunch or as an appetizer with friends!

DSC_0056 (1) (2).jpg


Thanks for another great week of Fruits and Vegetables. Have you tried a new fruit of vegetable this week? If so I would love to hear about it!

And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Wow, what a unique and tasty looking dish! Ill have to try making that salsa! Im allergic to tofu, so Ill pass on that part, but everything just looks so fresh and good!

I really haven't tried tofu that often but this turned out nice. You would love this salsa...it didn't last long here, lol I hope you'll try it sometime :) Thanks so much @squishysquid!

Presented so beautiful looks like a dish served at a Michelin Star restaurant

Oh my goodness, thank you so much @tattoodjay, I am truly honored by your comment. I really have fun with this and of course I am my own worst critic! So glad you enjoyed the shots!

I think most people into the arts in some way are so critical of themselves me included with my photography, but you do present your cooking so beautifully it makes me hungry every time I see your posts :)

Whooaaa.. whoooaaa... gimme a bite @birdsinparadise 😍 I love that salsa and the toasted coconuts😙 always love your simplylicious recipe😊 I think I'll take this as my main instead of appetizer😂

You are toooooo sweet @cicisaja :) Love hearing from you my friend. Yes, I did have it as my main for lunch, quite enough but light....the salsa didn't last long around our house. I hope you try it!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 419 (03/05/19)

How do you always come up with these healthy and incredibly delicious treats my Dear? And they look wonderful too. Great job Mrs. Bird, I absolutely love it 🥑🍑🥒🍅🌿🍋🥥
1 Collage.jpg

You're the best dear friend! I love experimenting in the kitchen. (Sometime I'll do a post about all of my epic fails lol) Thank you, thank you I really appreciate your encouraging comments, you're indeed an inspiration to me!

Wow, this looks amazing my friend, you really come up with such gorgeous and healthy dishes! Absolutely yum!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @lizelle. You're too kind. I experiment just like you! Sometimes it's good, sometimes not so much, lol We are having fun aren't we! Its fun to share our cooking experiences with everyone!

This sounds delicious, although I would take out the onion as we aren't fans. ;) I love the idea of the toasted coconut flakes! Yum! I'm sure that was a hit!!

This would definitely work without onions! The cucumbers give such a nice texture along side the mangoes you would love it. This salsa didn't last long, lol I too love toasted coconut, as you see, I use it often ;) Thanks so much!

When is this get-together? I only need half a day or so notice to get there, right? Haha, love that coconut crusted tofu. I'm definitely going to have to try that. And of course a mango salsa that looks so juicy and delicious to go with. Yum!

hehehehe...yes I know! It takes about 7 hours for us to reach the Georgia border...We would have so much fun! Talking and cooking 100 mph, lol Glad you enjoyed the mango salsa, I added the cucumber this time and it was so fun, hadn't thought about that add, it worked ;) You're the best @plantstoplanks, thank you!!

Okay, okay, I’m not worthy, I’m not worthy, (insert me on my knees waving my hands up and down at you from the floor). These just look incredible. I love coconut and if I were to sub the mango for tomato I’d be in business. Or omit the the mango and make some extra cucumber 😋. Love your creativity friend. Sorry about the double comment. Haha

Yes sub a way my friend! I did get a visual with the on the knees description...Mr. Bird and I were really chuckling, or maybe tweeting, or clucking away! The cucumber really make this salsa, I'm telling you...go for more!! Love your comments, thanks sooo much! btw...hows living in paradise going?

I know, cucumber really takes salsas to the next level. I just made shrimp taco wraps with a cucumber pico de Gallo and oh my yum.

Paradise is paradise. It’s alwasy great! I’m actively working on my tan and enjoying discovering new beaches every week. I seriously have to pinch myself sometimes because this isn’t what life usually looks like. It’s a dream @birdsinparadise. I know we’ve never met in person but if you and your husband we’ve got an inclination to come to Costa Rica you have a place to stay with us. 😉

Looks absolutely delicious :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much @grandadscookbook! So glad you stopped in :) This was fun to prepare.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69