Fruits and Veggies Monday Week #55 | Huli Huli Sweet and Sour Cauliflower

DSC_0137 (2).jpg

Good Monday my Fruits and Veggies Friends! So happy to be celebrating good health! Eating well and regular exercise will allow us to achieve this!


I want to thank @lenasveganliving for hosting this fabulous weekly gathering. This is such a huge commitment she makes, I truly appreciate it. Week 55! Whew, that is a lot of amazing recipes! Love the community, learning and sharing together! Best of luck to our veteran judge @plantstoplanks, an amazing contributor to our healthy eating and living community. A true health and fitness inspiration to us all!


We love cauliflower, and we love pineapple! So excited to share this light lunch or dinner option with you!


todaysjourney.jpg

Huli Huli Sweet and Sour Cauliflower!


Huli Huli sauce! Are your familiar with it? It is a very popular Hawaiian sauce typically used with chicken entrees and appetizers of all kinds. We’re not using chicken my friends!


Huli Huli means “turn, turn” in Hawaiian…I think you’ll definitely turn into a Huli Huli fan with this one! Today we’re making it with fresh cauliflower and fresh Mung Bean Sprouts!


Mr. Bird and I enjoy this dish it because it’s a little bit sweet and a little bit sour! It has been so warm lately so I thought a healthy, light lunch would do the trick!


I used


Cauliflower

  • Head of fresh Cauliflower
  • 1 cup fresh Almond Milk
  • 3/4 cup gluten free Flour
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Huli Huli Sauce

  • 1/2 cup fresh Pineapple (chopped)
  • 1/4 cup Low sodium/Gluten Free Tamari
  • 1 tablespoon Sesame Oil
  • 1/3 cup Organic Ketchup
  • 1 ½ tablespoon fresh Ginger (Grated)
  • 2 tablespoons Rice Vinegar
  • 2 Fresh Garlic Cloves (minced)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of your favorite Red Pepper
  • 1/3 cup Organic Raw Maple Syrup
  • Arrowroot Powder (to thicken)

Garnish with:

  • ½ cup chopped Pineapple!
  • 1 cup freshly sprouted Mung Bean Sprouts

This meal is so nice because you don’t have to spend all day in the kitchen! Combine all ingredients for the Huli Huli Sauce in your favorite saucepan. Bring it all to a boil, then simmer covered, stirring frequently! Sprinkle in a bit of Arrowroot powder and stir make sure it is completely dissolved.


While the flavors cook together we’ll prep the cauliflower.


Cauliflower is so good for you! While it’s low in calories (only 25 calories per cup), it is high in Vitamins and fiber! In fact Cauliflower alone contains almost all of the vitamins you need! Wow, in only one veggie! That is amazing, right? And wouldn’t you know of course it is very high in antioxidants, in fact it contains two of the major antioxidants which have been proven to slow the growth of cancer! I would saw a definite regular veggie in my fridge!


  • Wash and slice the cauliflower into small bite size florets!
    DSC_0101 (2).jpg

Whisk the almond milk and flour together in a small bowl and dip each piece of cauliflower…coat it well now! Place these pieces on a cooking tray or silicone baking mat!


DSC_0112 (2).jpg


Bake these little nuggets at 450 degrees for about 15 minutes. Flip them and brush about ½ of the sauce all over the cauli bites, back to the oven for about 5 minutes Make sure you watch them…don’t want these guys to burn!


DSC_0117 (2).jpg


Out of the oven, into a bowl and toss with your fresh bean sprouts (I just sprouted these this week, they’re so tasty)

DSC_0037 (2).jpg

Now add the lovely chopped pineapple!


DSC_0097 (2).jpg

Toss it all together!

DSC_0124 (2).jpg

Huli Huli My Fruits and Veggies Friends!

DSC_0134 (2).jpg

Thanks for stopping in for another fun week of @lenasveganliving Fruits and Veggies Monday!

And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Yum! I’ve never heard of this dish and I love pineapple sweet and sour stuff. How do you sprout your bean sprouts? Probably another silly question 🤷🏼‍♀️

Definitely book marking this for later! Thank you for always growing my ‘to make’ cooking list @delishtreats.

Thank you @puravidaville, sprouts are so easy to do. I did a post earlier about how to sprout, check it out. One thing to remember start with a few tablespoons of seeds...or you will have sprouts coming out of your ears! They do have a short shelf life! :)

Dually noted my friend!

whoaaaat this is amazing, just love itttt ... i keep coming around and when i login i see your food ... just dont understand it but i am trying to go vegetarian so maybe this is my encouragement. i know i should want pineapple more bc its so good for us but i don like it in cooking. i'd just eat it raw for sure. ho hum. pretty expensive by me too. tears.
love this recipe! thank you

Thank you @eaglespirit! I too am trying to eat more and more vegetarian. The Mr likes the animal protein although he loved this dish. The pineapple in this dish was mild and a nice counter to the sauce. I'm sorry pineapple is expensive for you :( it is tasty...especially in juices and smoothies.

@birdsinparadise yay veggies!! the mr. ahahahaahah
yes it is sooo good, or can be. i like it when its frothy and not too sweet. :)

Another delicious but healthy dish from you @birdsinparadise, lucky Mr Bird!

Thank you @lizelle! I'm know your hubby is a lucky guy with all of your wonderful dishes :) Appreciate your sweet words!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 261 (9/18/18)

Thank you so much @thesteemengine! So appreciate the feature:)

I am totally blown away! Although I never heard of Huli Huli before, it is love at a first sight, lol. Well done my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you so much my dear friend! I love hearing from you and glad you enjoyed the huli huli luncheon! Mr Bird was quite happy...I hope you'll try it!

You've definitely got my head turning on this one! Pineapple is such a great way to add that sweet and tangy note to a dish like this. This sauce sounds so yummy I would definitely do a few taste tests along the cooking process. ;) I am always a fan of bean sprouts, too. I have some broccoli sprouts for this week, but may have to do some mung beans again next week since yours look so crunchy, fresh and delish!

Thank you Katie! I really love broccoli sprouts, I definitely need to get some seeds! They are so good for you and the light crunchy taste is wonderful. This sauce was nice, not too heavy like some can be. I hope you'll try it :)

Wow! Great idea!!! 😍😍😍
I need to try it 😋

Thank you Moni! I appreciate seeing you stop in! :) I think you may like this one.

@birdsinparadise oh....w.o.w!! What an amazing dish! I also love the sweet and sour combination. This really makes the quite boring cauliflower an exotic flavour! Well done on the win. I've been off steemit but delighted to find this yummy recipe

Thanks so much @buckaroo....needless to say the win was a huge surprise :) I'm glad to see you back. Hope all is well in your neck of the woods:)

This is sooo delightful and right up my alley. I will have to try something like this if I get nice pineapple. Good luck!

Thank you @carolynstahl. I hope you do try it, quite simple, light on the stomach :)

Glad you stopped by @rawadventuress, hope you'll try it! Thanks my friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68