Fruits and Veggies Monday Week #58 | Snappy Tabbouleh Salad

DSC_0004 (2).jpg

Good morning my Fruits and Veggies friends! Fall is in full force and we are all happy to gather again for another wonderful week of @lenasveganliving’s Fruits and Veggies Monday Contest.


I want to thank @lenasveganliving for allowing us this beautiful opportunity to showcase what we all love…Healthy Eating! Did you see her Pear Mille Fueille? Not only is the presentation spot on, the recipe sounds wonderful. This would be an amazing dessert for Thanksgiving! Lena is such a great inspiration for all of us. Thank you dear Lena for hosting Fruits and Veggies Monday! A big congrats to @puravidaville our honorable guest judge this week. Her delicious Lentil soup with Potato Finnish Bread was so yummy


I have to tell you, I am so excited to share this wonderful salad with you this week. As I have spent the last few days savoring this wonderful dish I realized how tasty and refreshing a healthy salad can feel to the body!


todaysjourney.jpg

Snappy Tabbouleh Salad


Tabbouleh is a salad which originated during the Middle Ages in the mountains of Lebanon and Syria. The original Tabbouleh salad is made with minced parsley, tomato, mint, onion and bulgur. Typically the bulgur is soaked in an olive oil and lemon mixture. Its popularity has spread worldwide due to its health benefits. Did you know In 2009 350 people gathered to make the world’s largest Tabbouleh salad for the Guinness Book of records? This salad weighed in at 9532 lbs.! Gee, that’s lot of salad!


I used

  • Bulgur 1 cup
  • Juice from 1 Lemon
  • Olive Oil 1/3 cup
  • Bunch Fresh Parsley
  • Fresh Tomatoes qty 3
  • Cucumber qty 1/2 of 1
  • Cloves of Garlic qty 2
  • Red Onion qty 1/2 of 1
  • Salt and Pepper (to taste)

We begin with the bulgur!


DSC_0003 (2).jpg

Mix the Bulgur, Lemon Olive Oil and 1 teaspoon of both the salt and the pepper. We want to soak the Bulgur for at least an hour…the longer the better….the Bulgur will soften and soak up the seasoning. It’s well worth the wait! Did you know bulgur is so good for you? It’s high in Iron, Magnesium, and Potassium. Being full of fiber it helps promote good digestive health! It is also contains more complex carbohydrates than most wheat products. This helps promote healthy sugar levels.


DSC_0008 (2).jpg


When the bulgur has softened mince those veggies! Tomatoes, Cucumber, Onion and Garlic. Really tiny!


DSC_0029 (2).jpg


Now remove the stems from the parsley and wash it thoroughly! We don’t want little dirt particles in that first bite do we? When the parsley is clean and well drained, pulse the parsley in your favorite food processor until the parsley is finely chopped. Don’t pulverize it….just finely chopped!


DSC_0026 (2).jpg


Combine the Parsley, Bulgur and veggies in a bowl and toss together. It is so beautiful, you want to eat it now...but don’t! Refrigerate it for a couple of hours or better yet overnight to allow the flavors to blend nicely. The flavor gets better each day!


DSC_0036 (2).jpg

See, you will be well rewarded for the wait! Voila!


DSC_0011 (2).jpg


I couldn’t get enough of this salad! The taste is wonderful. It was so light but yet satisfying. I really felt nourished after having a bowl! Although I think you will find you can’t eat just one! It’s great as a topping on your favorite sandwich or salad.


DSC_0014 (2).jpg

I hope you’ll try this and let me know what you think! Glad you stopped by!
And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

I'm going to have to block you soon.......or just read your posts AFTER I eat my plain meals.

Once again you made me want to learn how to cook healthy and even eat it too........

sigh.......... now, what do I do? other than keep reading your posts and hope that someday food can be sent though the internet :D

Happy Tuesday to YOU!!

hehe, you know I so enjoy your comments...even though you hate me ;) I know you would enjoy this salad, so easy and quick to make. I love your sense of humor @snook, thank you for stopping in and supporting me I hope you have a wonderful Wednesday!!

Oh this is amazing!! It’s like the one we always get at Costco but I imagine worlds better!! Can’t wait to try it 😘💚

I will! Tastes much fresher for sure:) ox It will be awaiting your arrival

lol... ;) can't wait!!! xxx you're amazing!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 277 (10/10/18)

Thanks for sharing my post today @thesteemengine!

Another beautiful recipe on the books for Ms. @birdsinparadise. I like how your rendition doesn’t overwhelm the salad with parsley, looking like you could still taste the other flavors.… yum. Great entry my friend !

Thank you @puravidaville! I agree, some people add too much parsley, this recipe allows you to taste all of the flavors with the lemon snap! I'm glad you enjoyed it my friend! :) I have to say, I could gobble this up frequently!

Well me too so send some my way anytime :)

An interesting Salad and beautifully presented

Thanks @tatoodjay! This is a healthy one, I think it would fit right in with your diet these days :)

This post has been upvoted for free by @microbot with 5%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

Thank you so much my Dear for the lovely shout out, you are so very kind. I really appreciate it.

And Tabbouleh is one of my all times favorites, which I love to eat with hummus, falafel and pitta bread when I go to Lebanese restaurant. However, you did much better job with this recipe than they do; It looks so fresh and flavorful! I also enjoyed reading all the insightful information. Well done Ms. Bird 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

This looks so delicious and healthy as always, lovely recipe @birdsinparadise, thanks for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82