Fruits and Veggies Monday Week #65 | Asian Tempeh Stuffed Kabocha

DSC_0048 (3).jpg

Hey my Steemian Foodie Friends, it’s Fruits and Veggies Monday!


So glad to be back with after the holiday! After visiting my daughter and lots of grandbaby snuggles it’s time to get back to the kitchen. Many thanks to @lenasveganliving for hosting our time together each week. She is such an inspiring hostess, did you out check her amazing dish this week? So beautiful, what a sushi dish…and Christmas is on the horizon too!


We love Asian food, in fact Mr. Bird would chirp like crazy over your Caterpillar Sushi dear Lena! When I read her wonderful post today I knew I had to go Asian…and since winter is near, how about a winter squash too?


How about Kabocha?


DSC_0021 (2).jpg


todaysjourney.jpg


Asian Tempeh Stuffed Kabocha


The Kabocha is a Japanese winter squash, sometimes known as a Japanese Pumpkin. Rich in Vitamin A, B and C, and contains about half the carbs of a Butternut squash! So for those of you watching your carbs, this could be your squash! Oh and an added bonus, you can eat the peel


I Used

  • Tempeh (1pkg)
  • Kabocha (qty 1)
  • Fresh Spinach (2 cups)
  • Medium Onion (qty 1)
  • Baby Bella Mushrooms (qty ¾ cup sliced)
  • Fresh Garlic Cloves (qty 2 minced)
  • Raw Pecans (1/4 cup)
  • GF Low SodiumTamari Sauce (4 tbsp)
  • Red Pepper Flakes (1/2 tsp)
  • Nutritional Yeast (1 tbsp)
  • Oregano (1 tsp)
  • Rosemary (1/2 tsp)
  • Thyme (1/2 tsp)
  • Maple Syrup (1 tbsp)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil (1 tbsp)

First we bake the squash! Slice the squash in half, remove the seeds and place it upside down on your favorite baking sheet. Add a couple tablespoons of water, cover it with parchment and seal with aluminum. Bake these guys at 375 for about 40 minutes. (They’re done when you can easily pierce them with a fork) Take them out and let them cool! They’ll be hot, hot, hot!


  • While the squash is baking I chopped the onions, sliced the Bella Mushrooms, minced the garlic and sliced the Tempeh.

DSC_0025 (3).jpg


  • Sauté the onions in Olive Oil for about 5 minutes, then add the garlic, spinach, Bellas, Tempeh and Spinach. Cook this for about 10 minutes. Oh the smell…..you’ll love it!

DSC_0026 (2).jpg


Now add all of the spices, Tamari, Maple Syrup and Nutritional yeast and cook for until the Tempeh begins to brown. Go ahead and taste it….add salt and pepper if you wish! While you have a minute, scoop a little of the squash out of the shell leaving a nice nest for the stuffing! Toss the scooped squash with the stuffing and stuff it all back in the little nest you have created in your Kabocha. Kind of like a little bird nest…


Sprinkle a few chopped Pecans on top and it's time to Enjoy!


DSC_0037 (2).jpg


Did you know Kabocha squash is also used as a thickener? Kabouch makes a dreamy, creamy soup too! And…don’t forget those desserts and smoothies! The options are endless! I hope you’ll try this versatile winter squash!


Thanks for stopping by the Bird nest today!


And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Is this a sweeter squash? You are always introducing me to so many different kinds of fruits and veggies. I need a trip to your super market one of these days.

That squash looks stuffed to perfection and I’m sure the smell was heavenly. Such a nutrient dense meal- love it! Way to keep on the health train during the holiday season @birdsinparadise. The pecans are a pro chef touch :)

I wouldn't say this is sweeter than say a butternut but was indeed good and worth the search ;) Love the healthy eats...I feel like holidays set you back a bit...glad to be home and eating to feel good! :) Thanks for you sweet inspiration @puravidaville!

This looks so delicious my friend, you really make magic in the kitchen, no wonder Mr Bird is chirping happily :)

You are wonderful @lizelle, I appreciate your continued support! Truly an inspiration, thank you!

LOok so colorful and tasty :)

Thanks my friend! It was tasty, I am so glad you stopped by :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 323 (11/26/18)

Thanks for stopping by @thesteemengine! Love what you do, so grateful for your hard work :)

Thank you so much my Dear, give my regards to Mr. Bird. I am super happy he likes my Christmas sushi. I am sure he enjoyed your delicious Kabocha meal, because I know I would. What a fabulous recipe, wow! I love tempeh and all the other ingredients. Well done Mrs. Bird 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

I always appreciate your kind words! Honestly, you are truly an inspiration to me! I love this weekly community gathering, so many wonderful people coming together to promote healthy eating! Thank you my friend :)

My goodness you all know the way to bribe the judge. 😉 Haha, this dish has so many good things in it I don't know where to start! You and Lena have me wanting to hunt through my local stores to find some kabocha, though if it comes down to it I have some acorn squash waiting to be used. I love my black beans and chickpeas, and lentils...but I think tempeh is my favorite vegan protein. The nutty taste and filling texture just make my belly happy. You just can't go wrong with a stuffed veggie with all that goodness falling out. Oh how I do love Mondays...

Hahaha! You are so sweet, I am so glad to have you as my friend @plantstoplanks! Such an inspiration!! The Fruits and Veggies community is wonderful, we learn and share so much with one another, I love it! Mondays are truly a fun time!!! Thank you, thank you! :) p.s. no bribery involved ;)

Haha, I think we all just enjoy food so much as judge it feels like you all cooked just for me. Everything this week was so good. It's just amazing to see how there is no end to the variety of quality, healthy meals you can make!

I know, judging is soooooooo difficult. Getting to know everyone just makes it more difficult, especially with the variety and creativity. You're so right Katie! All the best my friend ;)

looks really tasty, loving that you used a kobocha!

Thank you @celestialcow, it was indeed tasty! Do you have a special recipe you make with this squash? I would love to hear!! :)

I just made a soup :)

Wow, I'm amazed how you come up with such creative dishes like this! I also love the presentation, great job @birdsinparadise! 😊

p.s. I didn't know that Kabocha is also used as a thickener! It's nice to learn something new every day!

Awww, you are so kind @jasmink!!!! Thank you :) I love sharing with everyone, and I love cooking good food, I am glad you like it! Yes, it is indeed a thickener, you will be surprised! I'm so glad you stopped by!

It certainly looks delicious! nominating to @c-squared

Thank you @melinda010100! You are too kind, I really appreciate the nomination :)

It is well deserved!

and again you have conjured something fantastic, it looks so delicious!

You are too kind @proanima, thank you so much! It was indeed fun, don't you love the Fruits and Veggies community? So many wonderful friends!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29