Fruity Gazpacho For A Heatwave

This is my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday thanks to @lenasveganliving

fruit3.jpg

What do you do when there is a heatwave, you still live with your mother in law who hates the smell of food cooking unless it's her's, and you want to have something quick and nutrient full? You make Gazpacho.

Today I have to run to work in a hot kitchen non stop until midnight or later. The restaurant is right at the Montreal Jazz Festival. Thousands of tourists and locals flock to watch the entertainment right outside the door. It's hard work so I need to fortify myself before I jump on the line.

I love melon in the summer but I also wanted something savory so I ran to the local grocer and purchased some fruits.

fruit.jpg

I combined watermelon, cantaloupe, cucumber, mango, tomato, avocado, lime juice, mint, salt and pepper, in the blender, reserving half of them.

fruit2.jpg

I diced the other half for a garnish and added some red onion as well using them for a generous garnish. As I chopped I added ice cubes to chill the blended soup then removed them when everything was ready.

I feel like a million bucks from consuming this and my hunger is well satisfied. It's amazing to think that my in laws who are complaining about the heat and humidity, never eat fresh foods, raw foods and believe it or not, never ever drink water, not a drop. They only drink coke and juice from concentrate sometimes with sugar. They also eat only fried meat and dairy sometimes overcooked broccoli dripping in oil. They are two people who think we are crazy for not eating meat and dairy. He just came back from dialysis and she had a heart surgery by pass and huffs and puffs all day long. I am no spring chicken but I can run circles around some of the young ones at work. Although my diet is far from perfect I know exactly the difference in how I feel and my mental clarity when I eat fruits and veggies.

So I have dropped by with my entry, before I go to work, to join all of the wonderful foodies that swing by here. Hello everyone and hope to see you next Monday.

fruit4.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Hello Carolyn 😊 what a lovely gazpacho you made! I can feel your pain with your family as my family is the same. They would not eat anything healthy amd they would even challenge my choices. Well, we can't change them unfortunately.

Have a good day/evening at work and thank you for sharing this beautiful meal with us ❤

Hello it's nice to here from you. I appreciate that you know where I am coming from. I really don't look forward to more hospital bedside visits. It's frustrating when you know the truth and others don't want to see it.

Have a nice day and week!

I fully understand you Carolyn. We just need to accept them the way they are and hope that once they will change their life like we did.

I wish you an amazing day!

My friend how are you? days without writing I see that you have a lot of work in the new restaurant but the problems with the kitchen of your mother-in-law continue but that ability that you have to solve is unique I love fresh fruits for the hot days the watermelon and the melon I love in those days
I never crossed my mind the combination of fruits and vegetables like cucumber and avocado is amazing what I learn with you
You know I love your recipes and I always tell you that you are a great chef

You are a dear friend. Thank you always for your support and encouragement!

I think your in-laws must be crazy for refusing such an amazing and refreshing treat. Well done! Love it.

Thank you Amy! They are crazy for sure.

Well, I just learned something! I thought gazpacho was a tomato-based soup, served cold. I had no idea that fruits and other veggies could count as gazpacho, too! I remember having a cold cucumber soup in a restaurant once, and I have some fresh cucumbers here, so I might try that! Your recipe sounds positively yummy!

I guess I really just used the name for this but traditionally it is the tomato based soup. I have seen so many twists on cold soup that I had to try it. It's fast and simple and delicious.

Your gazpacho sounds and looks delicious Carolyn. What a great idea my Dear......super creative and highly nutritious. Your inlaws are truly piece of work, sounds like their cooking must be pretty smelly, not yours, lol. I hope you will be able to get your own place soon 🍇🍑🍌🍍🍅🍏🍒

Thanks so much Lena. They are definitely a piece of work. Their cooking smells like fried meat which is good to them haha.

Always a pleasure Carolyn and CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

I actually have never made a melon gazpacho before, probably because it is not so long ago that I did not like watermelon at all 🙈 Well, then I had kind of a shift in taste and love it now 😁

Your creation sounds and looks really delicious - I am eager to see what gazpacho version the Malaysian fruits and veggies could make for me!

Thank you so much. I have never made a gazpacho from anything but tomatoes, cucumbers and avocados. It was nice on a hot day.

I can imagine, who would want to for a heavy warm lentil soup during hot days, right? 🙈

This combination of fruits and vegetables is amazing! I would love to try it. I guess I have to follow your recipe and make some myself then. 😉 😋

It's my first time trying this. It is inspired by my longing for fruits and savory food at the same time.

I love a fresh and cooling gazpacho this time of year! The melons are starting to come in, so I'll definitely have to give this a try. It is so crazy to see people live such unhealthy lifestyles, but all you can do sometimes is just try to set the best example you can. I hope work is going well!

Thanks. I really need to focus more on good eating but I really love certain not so good stuff haha. My mother in law is putting bacon in the microwave right now. Work is tough but at least I can by fresh fruits and veggies now.

I think we all have a few vices. ;) Yuck to the bacon, but not much you can do I suppose. My boyfriend's mom gave him some canned fish she got from the Polish section in the international market so he's nice enough to eat it outside so it doesn't make me sick! I can't handle the smell of meat or fish anymore. I'm sure it's tough to get good meals in when you are working such long hours, but I'm glad you are at least finally getting paid for your time! Some times in life you just gotta do the best you can and make it through.

My mouth is watering as I read this and look at the photos. It looks delicious! I don't know how anyone could not like fruit, vegies, and water.

I know right. There are a good load of those people and it amazes me. Thank you @white.tiger!

Look delicious the combination of veggies and fruits .Watermelon is also my favourite fruit in Summer...Good article very impressive.

Thank you very much. I need to eat more melons. They are wonderful.

Thank you very much.
I need to eat more melons.
They are wonderful.

                 - carolynstahl


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94