FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY 2019 - Ketan Durian ๐Ÿ˜‰

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 5 years ago

Hellow Steemit Fellows and Foodies ๐Ÿ˜

So happy to see a notification from @ginabot today๐Ÿ˜Š @lenasveganliving is back with #fruitsandveggiesmonday competition on the first monday of 2019๐Ÿ˜„

image
I bought these 2 from the travelling fruits seller
image
Durian is one of my favourite's fruits


The Durian season is coming ๐Ÿ˜‰ yes.. we don't have 4 seasons climate but we have many fruit's seasons in a year๐Ÿ˜‚ while waiting My Rambutans ready to be pick up and we couldn't go back to my honetown where you can get good quality durians in cheap price, so I just get whatever I can around the neighbourhood.

image
a part of the fruit was rotten๐Ÿ˜ข but the other part was fine


Because I only have 2 small durians and I knew that eating it fresh and raw wouldn't be a good choice because it will make everybody unsatisfy and I remember what My Mom will do if we have only few durians while we have an old advise from the elders.

if your neighbour could smell the scent of durians or any delicious food from your house, you should share! Don't make their mouth watering๐Ÿ˜ค

Mom would made "Ketan Kolak Durian" or sticky rice with Durian's Compote and then we will take a bowl of that after it cooked to all the closest neighbours at our Mango Alley neighbourhood. But here in Pamulang Estate? All I have to do is make that compote then sell it at the shop as tonight's menu๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

image
I wrote this as advertiser


Okay let's start cooking! This is a simple but delicious for those who likes durian only! There're many options how to proceed durian to be a delicious food but this one is the easier and simplest! Because I just cook it according to what I have and I never measure it.. so I use heart-mind measurement ๐Ÿ˜…

Prepare the Sticky Rice

500 gram glutinous rice/ketan
200 ml water
35 ml coconut's cream
Salt 1 tsp

image
wash the rice with fresh water then mix it with all the liquid and salt then cook it on low heat, you need to stir it up once a while


image
it will look like this and I add a pandan leaf to get the nice smell, you could use ginger or cinnamon bark if you don't have pandan leaf or turmeric powder but your sticky rice will be yellow glow (darn.. i forgot about it๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚)


When the luquid has dried, you need to move it off the heat and prepare a steamer and then steam it for a 15 minutes.

image
it's ready now!


Durian Compote or Kinca Durian

Durian flesh (about 250 gram)
100 grams sugar
750 ml coconut milk
Cinnamon bark
A tsp salt

image
get the seed out of its thorny skin

image
image
separate the flesh from the seed, you can include the seeds too


I didn't use the plastic glove because I want to lick my fingers after doing that separating things๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜ i need to wash my hand before I prepare the next ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

image
boils the coconut milk and add cinnamom on low-medium heat for 7 minutes or till it boils


image
add the durians and keep stirring it


image
cook it for another 5 minutes then add the sugar and salt, taste it then turn off the heat


image
ready to serve๐Ÿ˜„


How to enjoy this food, cici?

Because I forgot to take the picture of the serving food, all you have to do is put the rice in bowl and then shower it with the soup๐Ÿ˜‚ I told ya.. I haven't had a chance to taste this food because it was all sold out after I serve 3 bowls for My hubby, My FIL and SIL. The customers was complaining because they couldn't ask for more๐Ÿ˜Š I only got 10 bowls for this time, 7 for customers (well I let a customer got 2 bowls because she's desperately ask for it๐Ÿ˜‚).

additional info

  1. Don't cook your durian unless you know it's needed to be cook (the fruit not well-ripe, not the good quality one or small fruit)
  2. Better separate the seed from the flesh before you cook it, if you want to ear the boiled seeds๐Ÿ˜Š boils it seperately because it will drain your soup.
  3. Don't drink carbonated water after eating durian like coca cola or sprite
  4. Oohh.. you should try to mix the durian and coffee๐Ÿ˜
  5. If you eat the fresh and raw durian, make sure you drink from it's inner skin ๐Ÿ˜‚ it helps to minimize the plastic bottle uses๐Ÿ˜ˆ

thanks for stopping by and see you around

Sort: ย 

that looks very delicious as always, fruits that I do not know!

Durian also calls stinky fruits @proanima ๐Ÿ˜‰ some people if your country don't like this fruit because it has a strong smell and maybe forbidden in several place and countries too. It is A south east Asia native fruit.

Hi, @cicisaja!

You just got a 0.22% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

where I live I can only get frozen durian. Did you ever try that? Or should i rather not eat durian than defrosted ones?

You can eat frozen durian ๐Ÿ˜‰ it taste like ice cream I think. You can use the frozen durian to make this soup.. but don't use dairy milk.

how about defrosting and eating it raw?

It will be fine and delicious too.. depends on the quality of the fruits, i think the taste won't change unless a bit less sweet than the fresh one. Just don't drink beer or carbonated water after that

Seperti durian jatuhan dari pohon

Posted using Partiko Android

Kelihatannya gitu bang, tapi satunya busuk dan agak mentah.. karbit sepertinya ๐Ÿ˜‚ rasanya pun hambar. Tapi yang belum mekar itu beneran matang pohon

Iya thank informasinya

Posted using Partiko Android

Tks informasi tentang durian@cicisaja

Posted using Partiko Android

Licking your fingers is the best part of being the cook! ;) I often have to wash my hands multiple times while cooking since I just can't help myself. At least I usually only cook for my boyfriend, so he doesn't mind. Happy to see everyone coming back for the next round of fruits and veggies!

You're absolutely right @planstoplanks ๐Ÿ˜‰ I did wash my hand multiple times when cooking and for this fruit.. better do it away from my hubby, or he would poke on it with his big fingers too๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

I love your moms advice. Cinnamon or any of those spices being cooked always smells heavenly. Youโ€™re a great neighbor @cicisaja :).

Thank you @puravidaville ๐Ÿ˜‰ my mom always cooks big treats๐Ÿ˜‚ she has 9 children remember ๐Ÿ˜‰ and with some nephews and nieces too. I love cinnamon the most of all spices, aahh.. you should visit a region in West Sumatra which well known as the best cinnamon source in my country๐Ÿ˜‰

Really? Best cinnamon source in the country? It sounds like my paradise. Nutmeg is a great compliment to cinnamon too ๐Ÿ˜‰. 9 kids? Wow! What an incredible woman.

You are making me laugh my Dear when you are talking about your culture. I can't imagine cooking something and then go outside and sell it to neighbors, lol. Anyway, I always enjoy reading your stories,learning about your cooking and your life. I would also love to try durian someday; I heard so many great things about that amazing fruit ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡

5jmvkoxih6.jpg

๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š Thanks @lenasveganliving ๐Ÿ˜Š while my mother shared all her cook to her neighbours but I sold it to my neighbours ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ well, I think my neighbours would be surprised if I just share it, that's why I sell it to them, many of them could make it by themselves but rather than make it they like to order a bowl from me. You know.. sometimes people just curious to try something from others.

Thank you for resteemed and your support, hope that you'll find a frozen one in your place from the Thai Shop. This fruit full of calories!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87