Blanching carrots from ground to freezer.

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

image

So now you've grown buckets full of carrots and don't know what to do with them. You can pluck them out and hope they'll be ok for months or do all of the hard work now and enjoy homegrown carrots all winter long.
After they're picked and cleaned outside bring them in and give them a final scrub.

image
That funny looking thing is a scrub brush.⬆️

Next chop them up and dump a bunch into a pot of boiling water for 2 minutes. Do not leave them for more than 2 minutes, you are not actually cooking them, you are 'killing enzymes' (or something like that).

image
Action shot! ⬆️

Now quickly get them out of the boiling water and into a waiting bucket of ice water to stop any cooking from happening.

image

Next we flash freeze the carrots for a couple of hours on a baking sheet. This step isn't necessary but it helps the pieces from sticking together later in the bag.

image

Put them in freezer bags and enjoy your tasty carrots all winter long. They are still crisp and fresh after being in the hot water.

image

See, this food thing isn't so hard-now get out there and grow some food! I used a Samsung S6 to take all of these photos.

Sort:  

My carrots turned out like shit this year. was a really dry year here, potatoes didnt do too shit hot either. bout the only ground veggies i had do good were my radishes and beets.

That looks like a pretty great process. Do you do alot of freezing or more canning?


Global Homestead Collective Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

We mostly can tomatos. This year I made some jelly that I may show off next week.
There are also frozen tomatos and zucchini.

Whooaa @edthecanadian 😉 this is what I need to keep my carrots fresh😊 my father in law loves the carrot's juice. Though we have carrots available along the years here in Indonesia, but I will try this tips in case I need it too make some soup too. Thanks a bunch!

Excellent tip on preserving the carrots! I've done other veggies this way, but for some reason I have never tried carrots. If we can ever get some to grow in our garden I will definitely remember this!

This is the best carrot crop I've ever grown, I made sure to use lots of soft compost where I planted them.

I had no idea this how is done. But I do have a question. Where do you store them after?
1 Collage.jpg

Just in the freezer, it's getting quite full this year.

I was wondering if you have another fridge or freezer.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82