Leek and Potato Soup for Steemit Fruits and Veggies Monday Competition

Hello dear #fruitsandveggiesmonday lovers, I'm back in the game after a few months of absence. I love the contest because it gives me many ideas and wonderful recipes and I'm planning to be a regular participant again.

Today I'm going to share a leek and potato soup that I like very much. The original recipe is not vegan, so I've adjusted it.

IMG_20190228_135701a.jpg

steemit-border

Ingredients for 3 servings:

  • 3 tablespoon oil, olive oil in my case,
  • 3 medium potatoes, peeled and cut into 2 cm dice,
  • 1 big leek, white and light green part only, sliced and thoroughly rinsed,
  • 2 cloves chopped garlic,
  • salt,
  • freshly ground black pepper,
  • water
  • 100 ml plant based milk,
  • chopped fresh parsley.

IMG_20190228_125426a.jpg

Preparation
Heat the oil, add the leeks, sprinkle with salt and pepper, steer on a gentle heat until softens, about 8 - 10 minutes.

Add the potatoes, garlic, water, cover and let it cook till the vegetables are soft, then add the milk and let it cook for 2 - 3 minutes.

Using a blender puree 80 - 90% of the vegetables until smooth. You can puree the whole quantity if you like it more creamy. Serve it with freshly chopped parsley.

IMG_20190228_125910a.jpg

steemit-border

Leek has a cultural significance, it's not a coincidence that the original recipe is called Irish Leek and Potato Soup & Wheaten Brown Bread

The leek is one of the national emblems of Wales, and it or the Daffodil (in Welsh, the daffodil is known as "Peter's leek", Cenhinen Bedr) is worn on St. David's Day. According to one legend, King Cadwaladr of Gwynedd ordered his soldiers to identify themselves by wearing the vegetable on their helmets in an ancient battle against the Saxons that took place in a leek field. The Elizabethan poet Michael Drayton stated, in contrast, that the tradition was a tribute to Saint David, who ate only leeks when he was fasting. Whatever the case, the leek has been known to be a symbol of Wales for a long time; Shakespeare, for example, refers to the custom of wearing a leek as an “ancient tradition” in Henry V. In the play, Henry tells the Welsh officer Fluellen that he, too, is wearing a leek “for I am Welsh, you know, good countryman.” The 1985 and 1990 British one pound coins bear the design of a leek in a coronet, representing Wales. source

steemit-border

Alongside the other national floral emblems of countries currently and formerly in the Commonwealth or part of the United Kingdom (including the English Tudor Rose, Scottish thistle, Irish shamrock, Canadian maple leaf, and Indian lotus), the Welsh leek appeared on the coronation gown of Elizabeth II. It was designed by Norman Hartnell; when Hartnell asked if he could exchange the leek for the more aesthetically pleasing Welsh daffodil, he was told no. source

steemit-border

Perhaps the most visible use of the leek, however, is as the cap badge of the Welsh Guards, a regiment within the Household Division of the British Army. source

steemit-border

In Romania, the leek is also widely considered a symbol of Oltenia, a historical region in the southwestern part of the country. source

steemit-border

It's a simple soup recipe with just a few ingredients, it's ready in about 30 minutes, it's very delicious and healthy.

This is my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday created by @lenasveganliving and hosted by @plantstoplanks.

Sort:  

Just simply yummy

You're right, it is yummy and very simple, easy to prepare as well.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Many thanks for your support @pixresteemer!

Looks tasty, and some interesting facts too.

Thank you! Yes, interesting indeed, to be honest, i didn't know these things before either (except of course about Romania) but good thing I had to post this recipe and searching for facts about leek, now I know.

Never heard of plant based milk and sounds a little weird to me. I wont knock it as I haven't tried it. I love my meat too much to go this route though.

Almond milk, soy milk, coconut milk, and rice milk are all plant based milk and are healthy and delicious. Meat is good but this is a vegan challenge, so no meat :)

Testing, 1..2..3...

I WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANT!

You can have a bawl of soup, no problem, it's delicious :)

An excellent bowl of goodness to jump back in with! I'm always game for a yummy bowl of potato soup. I love the history about leeks, too! So neat to read about different pieces of trivia like that. I haven't worked with leeks a whole lot, but I need to grab them more often when I see them!

Many thanks for the kind words! I was surprised too to learn these things about leek as I didn't know but good thing there's this challenge, so I can document my ingredients and learn 😀
I'm recommending to use leek more, it's very delicious and easy to prepare. My family loves it, they loved my soup and we used to have it raw in the past. Now not so much because it's a little bit pricey.

My local CSA farm grows leeks and I always look forward to them appearing in my bi-weekly veggie box so that I can make potato soup. It's a favorite of mine.

I'm glad to hear I'm not the only one who likes this amazing and delicious vegetable. It's a regular in my kitchen although it's not exactly cheap. It needs a special kind of soil to grow and the region I live at is not suitable for that. It grows south and that's why the price is calculated accordingly.
However, that doesn't stop me from buying it. It's very delicious and easy to prepare.

The amount I get depends on how well the years crop does. The soil at the farm is great for growing root vegetables. They do a wonderful job with carrots, too, but the selection of veggies I get throughout the season is pretty amazing. Some years they have sent so many leeks that I have given them away!

Yumm! This looks simple, yet delicious! Thanks for sharing your recipe! ♥

Thank you! It is indeed simple and delicious too. I'm going to do it again soon.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by erikah from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you very much for your support.

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Yes, I publish a post at least every day, no exception so far :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86