Giant Braai toastie

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

zts21fzsbt.jpg

Hello everyone this is my fruitsandveggiesmonday entry with @lenasveganliving and @plantstoplanks, the weather was not too bad and I was in need of a braai/BBQ. When I used to live in South Africa we would by these ready made toasties at the shop, they would come in a packet and all you would have to do is throw it on the fire, well the shops here in Scotland don't sell them, and if they did I'm sure they would not be vegan anyway, so I made them myself and supersized it lol 😂.

OK so basically I made some bread dough and rolled out a rectangular shape.

bawemlmryt.jpg

Two of them actually, one for the top and another for the bottom.

u8bgsr51av.jpg

Then a layer of tomatoes and onions.

8dukisbw2h.jpg

And lastly some vegan cheese.

q91wmb34hj.jpg

Then cover it with the rolled out dough for the top.

f106o03h9j.jpg

I covered it in waxed paper so it won't fall through the grill, it would be easier to use tinfoil, but I heard some scary stuff about it, metal leaching into the food, so brown paper it is, I just regulate the flames with the lid of the BBQ.

b3gxqojygt.jpg

It took about 45 minutes to cook and then I removed the paper and cooked it a little longer while I was cooking my vegan burgers and sausages.

zts21fzsbt.jpg

siajtoi0tg.jpg

fdyanxxmz6.jpg

dzir381dhd.gif

I also have some pics of my window garden and my fruit trees, my tomato plant is taking over the world starting with my kitchen.

v0q6epp4li.jpg

Well that is my fruitsandveggiesmonday entry and I hope you like it and have an awesome week.

My peach and cherry trees are coming along, rather slowly though.

saaz0f0q4f.jpg

s339f0uany.jpg

DSC00041~2.JPG

vM1pGHgNcyCXUWJECrZbvn1NMPj1oFGUo3gYfF3NNPRD9UPkojdU5SsMGgrV3Fru2GAPRGnYtQPcUPCBrsEpKzT2zne8q4aT1C7NxQ83vHn3dj9rF3XeeT8WTndu1uGg3RZkFWd.gif

Sort:  

Wow @gguy773, a Vegan Braai Pie! Looks absolutely amazing, I would definitely go for that rather than a piece of Boerewors ;)
This would have made an awesome sandwich entry as well ;);) Sooo delish!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Fantastic cruelty-free BBQ feast for foodies like myself yummy

Thanks 😊

You are the king of homemade dough! Love it. I finally made some homemade dough for pizza last week that I may try to share today. Kind of messed up a bit on my ratios, but still turned out great. I would love to try this with that yummy grilled flavor!

Yeah I love my dough, I like going to the health shop and trying new types of flours, they have loads.

Congratulations @gguy773! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 comments. Your next target is to reach 2500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I'm so hungry right now!! I definitely need to try this one day :D

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69