KROKIETY WITH WILD MUSHROOMS

image

This is my entry for fruitsandveggiesmonday with @lenasveganliving, it is a traditional Polish dish, inside is sour kraut with wild and button mushrooms wrapped in a pancake and crumbed.

Ingredients for pancakes

2 cups flour
1cup plant based milk
1 cup carbonated mineral water
1/2 a teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
3 tablespoons oil

Ingredients for filling

450g sour kraut
200g button mushrooms
Hand full of dried wild mushrooms
2 onions
5 garlic cloves
Pinch of salt
Pinch of pepper
1 cup of chickpea flour
1 cup of water
1 cup of bread crumbs

I started with the pancake mixture first so it can stand a bit while I'm doing the filling.

I used wholemeal flour

image

Then pour in the milk

image

Then the carbonated water

image

Then the bicarbonate of soda

image

Then lastly oil

image

Mix

image

Leave it to the side and grab some dried mushrooms

image

Get them in a pot with some water and cook for about 10 minutes

image

While it is cooking I prepare the rest

image

CHOP everything

image

I start with the wild mushroom in the pan lightly oiled

image

Then onions

image

Mushroom

image

Garlic

image

Kraut

image

Then cook till no water left in the pan

image

Then I fry up some pancakes

image

Put some filling in the pancake

image

Roll it up

image

Then usually they would dunk it in egg, but this is vegan style so I use chickpea flour with water

image

image

Mix nicely, and chuck in the krokiety

image

Then into the crumbs

image

Place them on a tray

image

Bake at a medium heat for 45 minutes

image

I made baked potato on the side, but polish don't really eat potatoes with skin, I just like it that way

image

Thanks for taking the time to check this out, hope you like it and give it a go.

Sort:  

Sure a tasty snack. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Dang, there you go again with a solid Monday showing! I love my potatoes with the skin on, too. I don't know that I've tried this Polish dish before, so might be time to give it a whirl! You've definitely made it look fantastic. :)

Thanks plantstoplanks, they are awesome, I could eat a bucket load.

Yum! Such a creative creation, and it looks really appetizing as well! Btw, potatoes should always be eaten with skins in my opionion, they're a lot tastier that way! :)

Thanks jasmink, when I was in Poland and I made baked potato with the skin on they thought I was being lazy, lol 😂

Now that's a combination and style of cooking I never would've put together....and yet it looks delicious @gguy773! I've just made a batch of sauerkraut so definitely going to try the recipe. I am intrigued by fried pancakes! As an aside; I'm sure you have confused a lot of American steemians who call these crepes ;)

I thought crepes where smaller, any way, you gotta try them, 1 of my favourite polish dishes

Thank you for introducing me to Krokiety - I hadn't heard of them before. Is the filling always traditionally mushroom & sauerkraut? I too prefer baked potatoes with skin on :)

Thanks, no mushrooms and cabbage is just 1 type, there are other types as well meat and other stuff.

Unbelievable Greg! Another amazing recipe; pancakes with sauerkraut and mushrooms, wow!!! Absolutely love it! 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thanks very much Lena, I'm glad you like it.

yummy, great combination!

Thanks 😊

Now this looks like a hearty breakfast! I love the rolled up pancake making room for a little crumbing action. Always looking delicious over here @gguy773 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02