My best carb combo

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

image

Happy fruitsandveggiesmonday everyone, with @lenasveganliving and @plantstoplanks. I was watching a interesting documentary about carbs on BBC called the truth about cars, turns out its just carbon hydrogen and oxygen that is making me fat, damn you elements! Well I must say I am quite disappointed, I always thought rice was really healthy, only to find out that a bowl of rice has nearly as much sugar as a chocolate muffin, so much time waisted on rice when I could of been eating muffins, oh well, what can you do? It turns out that there is an easy test to take which will determine how well you can digest carbs, what happens is you take an unsalted plain cracker and chew until it starts tasting sweet. Over 30 seconds and you should stay away from bad carbs, some people start to taste a sweetness after 15 seconds, these people can digest carbs well, some people don't even taste a sweetness in the cracker, like me, l have never had a sweat cracker in my life.

There are 3 main types of carbs.

White, which is food containing refined sugar for eg. Sweets and fizzy drinks

Beige, which is starches like white bread, rice and pasta

Green, which is fibre like fruit, vegetables and wholemeal whole grain bread, fruit and vegetables.

In this study people where able to reduce blood sugar levels dramatically and even going into remission with type two diabetes, although still eating fatty meat, imagine if they cut that out as well, it would transform them even further. So with this documentary in mind I made this meal with good carbs and healthiest of veggies, yes that is right kale and spinach.

Ingredients

250g kale
200g spinach
1 sweat potatoe
250g mushrooms
1 onion
1 red pepper
4 garlic cloves
2 cups quinoa
2 cups pearl barley
1 veggie cube
20g nutritional yeast flakes
Half a teaspoon smoked paprika
Pinch of salt and pepper
Squeeze of lemon

First I started with red pepper, onions and garlic.

image

Then mushrooms, brown mushrooms are high in vitamin d, which is essential for vegans who don't get much sun.

image

Then sweet potato.

image

Then a veggie cube with some water, smoked paprika, lemon, salt and pepper.

image

Chopped up kale.

image

Spinach.

image

Then cooked Pearl barley and quinoa, and the nutritional yeast flakes. Quinoa is also extremely healthy, high in protein and essential amino acids.

image

I use a lot of nutritional yeast flakes, it has a cheesy nut taste and it's high in 12 which Vegas lack, I only put it in at the end after cooking.

image

Anyway that is my healthy meal with most of the vitamins and minerals required. I highly recommend seeing that documentary and there is another called the truth about exercise which is quite interesting too, you should be able to see them on you tube. Sorry if the pictures are a bit fuzzy, I damaged my phone and the lens is scratched.
Thanks for stopping by

Sort:  

Nice mix. Looks tasty ;)

Looks like a real tasty treat

Congratulations @gguy773! You got drawn in my last Free Resteem & Giveway Post and will receive a FREE 5 Resteems Subscription (includes 5x $~0.02 upvotes)! Enjoy!   =)

If this comment bothers you reply OFF

Love all those yummy greens! Carbs can be quite good for you, but it is all about the type that you eat. Whole, real food is where it's at. :) From a lot of what I have researched lately fat (especially saturated animal fat) mixed with high simple carb foods is the real danger. Check out a site called Mastering Diabetes for lots of great information on how they use a whole food vegan diet to prevent and reverse type 2 diabetes. Even if you don't have diabetes, the research is still very pertinent to overall health and wellness!

Thanks I'll check it out

Interesting will check this out!

I'll be curious what you think @lizelle! I really respect the evidence-based approach of the doctors on the site. Ultimately everyone has to find what works for them, but I like having some solid facts behind my choices, too!

Fantastic recipe Greg! Highly nutritious and flavorful. Well done Chef 🌿🍅🌿
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you very much Lena

Looks and sounds really delicious, you certainly cook up a storm in your kitchen!

Thanks @lizelle, I just like eating lekker stuff.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Well described, I like the photos you made they are really useful, I must try this recipe I really need to eat healthier thank you for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

No probs and thank you for checking it out.

It’s amazing how many carbs are actually in vegetables and fruits. Carbs truly get a bad name but they are so essential for you. This plate looks nutritiously yummy 😋

Thanks, yeah it is just a matter of selecting the right ones.

Your dish looks extremely delicious. I'm bookmarking it, have to try it out although we don't have quinoa here.

Thanks, I'm sure you can substitute it with whole grain couscous or something like that.

Yes, couscous is a very good idea and I love it, I'm using it very often. Thanks for the advice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85