Swede onion bhajis and leek potato bake

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

image

Hello its fruitsandveggiesmonday with @lenasveganliving and @plantstoplanks and this is my entry. I was trying something out with swede and landed up making onion bhajis mixed with swede, on the side I made a potato bake with leek and a mushroom sauce.

It was a daughter father day again, my wife @highlandwalker was out hill walking again, go check out her post if you interested, she went to Fyrish Monument again, it looked cold. My daughter and I were doing a little gardening on our window shelf this time, some new basil and coriander seeds planted and repotted a cherry tomatoe plant.

image

You can see my lonely peach tree in the middle of the garden getting a beating from the sleet, nice weather has taken a break 😭. So first up we made some minestrone soup because my daughter was starving, well when I say we I mean her because she did It herself. We had minestrone mix, but it had no flavour, it was just the pasta, lentils and pearl barley so she had to make the actual soup under my supervision. She chopped up some onions and garlic added to the pot with water tomatoes pasta with bit of soy sauce, pinch of salt and pepper. It came out really good and she was well impressed with herself.

image

Then we made the potatoe bake, I left the skin on the potatoes for extra taste, not every one likes it so you can peel it if you like, I parboiled the potatoes first.

Ingredients

8 potatoes
1 leek
300g brown mushrooms
1 onion
4 garlic cloves
1 cups water
1 and a half cup of plant based milk
3 teaspoons billion powder
3 teaspoons corn flour
20g nutritional yeast flakes
Pinch of salt and pepper

To make the sauce I started with onions and garlic.

image

Then mushrooms.

image

Then water mixed with billion and corn flour with milk.

image

Then I switched off the stove and chucked in chopped leek.

image

Then I layered the potatoes in a baking tray.

image

Sauce.

image

Potato.

image

Sauce.

image

Then I sprinkled some nutritional yeast flakes.

image

I chucked that in the oven for 45 minutes at a medium heat. To make the bhajis I cooked the swede before hand.

Ingredients

600g cooked swede
250g sliced onions
1 cup of flour
2 tablespoons fresh chopped coriander
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon korma curry powder
Pinch of salt and pepper

So basically I put everything in a bowl and mixed up with a fork.

image

image

They are meant to be fried, but I baked them instead to reduce the oil content.

image

30 minutes in the oven and done.

image

If you saw my post on Saturday you would have seen my cherry strawberry nice cream, I could not resist, I made more.

image

Well that is that, thanks for stopping by.

And to @camillesteemer please stop down voting, if you don't like vegan posts then just pass them by, thanks in advance.

image

image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Oohh I hate to see that cherry-berry icecream Daddychef @gguy773😨 I want it!

Poor peach tree.. I hope it would survived. And I think your daughter soon will start her own vegan recipe 😉 perfect as always😍

😂, just make your own, just about anything frozen would do, as long as it is sweet.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice or Drugwars

Great job to your daughter on the soup! Flavor is the most important part, so it's awesome that she is learning how to build that in dishes already. Of course the rest of your meal looks plenty packed with flavor, too. You got me with another fantastic-looking potato bake!

Thanks, yeah she is coming along.

oh, what a wonderful menu, I would like to have it right away!

What a great meal @gguy773, I bet your wife was certainly pleased when she finished her walk :) Love your daughters soup, a future chef huh? What is Swede? I'm not familiar with this ingredient! Lovely post this week!

Thanks very much @birdsinparadise, here is a picture, you might have another name for it on the other side of the pond.

image

Ah yes!!!! The Rutabaga! Perfect, love this veggie :) Thanks for the info @gguy773

I love this contest as I get to see so many new recipes using interesting ingredients. Your offer looks very delicious and I love the mini garden you have in your window.

Your wife takes beautiful nature photos and you are great cook. Must be nice to come home form a walk to such a delicious dinner and cherry ice cream. Yum! Well done Chef 🥜😊🍒
1 Collage.jpg

Congratulations @gguy773! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06