FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY | Steamed Corn using rice cooker

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

It's Sunday morning and as per my normal routine, I'm off to the local wet market nearby my apartment. As always, this is one of my favorite part of the week. I know it seems kind of strange that going to the market is such an inspiration but to me it is. Seeing the fresh fruits, vegetables and meat being sold is like a breath of fresh air!

This week is different because apart from my usual grocery, I bought A CORN. I've seen it being sold but never got around to buying it because I wasn't sure how I was going to steam it. Then, I had just recently purchased a microwavable steamer and had wanted to try it out.

q08v1wae7x.jpg

Bringing it home, I thought I could fit the corn onto the steamer. Oh Boy! Was I wrong.. The corn was too big. So, I had to improvise. Searching online on how to steam corn using a rice cooker, I immediately got into action.

Let me show you the steps I took in making my first steam corn in HCMC using a rice cooker.

pbdb2b5dln.jpg
Washed and clean the corn

5x1o9fft3p.jpg
Wash and clean the steamer tray

vr0nxap6pz.jpg
Fill up the rice cooker pot with water, at least half pot

gbyqudpf3x.jpg
Let it steam for 10 to 15 minutes with lid close

After 15 minutes, the corn is cook and ready to eat. I like it just plain without any seasoning. If you like you can spread salted butter all around it for taste. But, why spoil the freshness of the corn with all those seasonings!

Now, that I know how to steam using a rice cooker, I shall try with other things such as vegetables, pau and dim sum too. Imagine the amount of things we can cook with a rice cooker. Guess that's what happens when you have limited kitchen utensils and have to use what we have.

A GREAT LESSON LEARN !!

I'll definitely share more in my next post. Hope you enjoy my photo taken from my Huawei

xvkj4fvznj.png

Come & join FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY by @lenasveganliving
• Take and post at least 3 photos of fruits and vegetables. (It can be variety or just one kind from the garden, supermarket or anywhere you wish, PLANT BASED RECIPES ARE WELCOMED).
• One entry only!!!
• PLEASE MAKE SURE THE ENTRY IS 100% ORIGINAL CONTENT!!! (images and text)
• Text must be at least 100 words.
• Use hashtag #fruitsandveggiesmonday
• Mention the creator @lenasveganliving, the host @plantstoplanks and the title FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY


bad gif.gif

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

Sort:  

Wow the corn colour looks so yellow, does it taste sweet? I miss Vietnam morning market, it is so enjoy la go to market.

Very sweet indeed.
Am glad that I bought one to try it out.
There were many being sold, all very fresh.
Next week I shall get more, can steam and boil soup..
It makes a good hearty meal !

Good thinking, using the rice cooker. There are lots of ways to cook it. When I was a kid, my friends and I would sometimes "appropriate" some ears of corn from the fields and/or gardens, build a fire, and put the corn on the fire with the husk still on. When the husk started to get dry and burn, it was time to take it from the fire. Delicious!

Wow ! This is something new to me.
I've never tried putting the cordon fire with the husk still on.
I guess it's because when I do buy it, the husks would already have been removed.
I shall try it the next time around.
Thanks for the tip :)

Another way it can be cooked while still in the husk, is in a microwave oven. Just put an ear in and let it go on full power for 3 minutes. A really big ear might take 4 minutes. Some people don't like to cook things in a microwave though, because microwaves affect the molecular structure of foods and liquids, which in turn affects the nutritional value.

I try very much to avoid microwave cooking too
But sometimes, its the only option..

Cool idea, i like corn a lot and maybe i would try cook it that way too:)

Oh yes.. you've got to try it.
I can say that now since I've managed to do it :)

🎁 Hi @ireenchew! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Sublimely Eclectic On A Beautiful Sunday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations @ireenchew! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Corn yum yum

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha.. Yes it's definitely yummy

Posted using Partiko iOS

We buy mielies (similar to corn), boil in lightly salted water for a few minutes, cook on the BBQ (braai) very popular food in South Africa with a variety of ways to prepare. Oh steaming works, so nice to see you tried something different in your steamer @ireenchew.

Thanks so much @joanstewart
We do sometimes put corn on the grill like bbq..
However, the weather here can be pretty humid that having bbq outdoors can be too much for us and the kids
Yet, we still do it once a while :)

Steaming is such a great way to cook, retain flavour and vitamins! Nice work using the tools you already have. I want some of that dim sum!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha ha.. Dim sum coming right up.. :)

That's a pretty bad ass way to improvise! Love it! I'm not so much a corn fan myself but if I ever buy one that's too big, I'll be hunting for that steamer 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha.. Guess my creativity head is up high.
Could be the fresh air here that's making me think different:)
Steamer or rice cooker -> same results !

Fresh air and exercise leads to awesomeness 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

When I was a child, the corn (which we call mealies) was simply boiled on the cob - in an ordinary pot. It was placed in the boiling water for about 10 minutes. Also, you can break them up.... Using a rice cooker: genius!

Ha ha.. I do feel rather clever after trying it out.
I'm glad that I thought out of the box :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25