Carrot Oat Bread Rolls 🥕 | Healthy, Tasty and Ready in No Time!

Looking for a quick and easy bread recipe? You’ve come to the right place! You may think preparing your own bread is tedious and time-consuming. Well, it can be, but it doesn’t have to be. These buns you can prepare in 30 minutes (including the baking), and then enjoy the smell and taste of fresh, oven-baked bread!

IMG_20180908_160140.jpg

Carrot Oat Bread Rolls • 9 rolls

Ingredients:

1 cup (= 2.5 dl) oats
1 cup (= 2.5 dl) all-purpose flour
1 cup (= 2.5 dl) grated carrot (1 small to average size carrot)
1 tbsp baking powder
½ tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
¾ cups (= 1.75 dl) water

Method:

Preheat your oven to 200 °C (=390 °F). Grate your carrot into a bowl. Add all the dry ingredients and mix well. Slowly add the water while mixing the dough. The dough should be quite thick and sticky (check the photo below). Use a wet spoon and your fingers to form 9 equal sized bread rolls onto a baking tray. Decorate with some oats if you wish. Bake at 200 °C (=390 °F) for 15 minutes.
Serve with (vegan) butter while they’re still warm! 😋

IMG_20180908_153335.jpg
inCollage_20180909_142224961.jpg


Today, I felt like doing something extra, rather than just giving you a recipe. Therefore I counted some nutritional values.

Here’s what only one bread roll will give you:

• 1.9 g fiber (2.7 g if you use whole wheat flour instead of "regular") (8/11 % of your minimal daily need)
• 95 µg RAE vitamin A (10 % of your daily need if you’re a male, 14 % if you’re a female)
• 7.3 µg selenium (15 % of your daily need if you’re a male, 18 % if you’re a female)

Health benefits:

Fiber: This food component will make you feel satiated longer, supports the functions of your bowel, relieves constipation and lowers your cholesterol levels. More about fiber here!
Vitamin A: Vital for vision! Lack of vitamin A will first result in night blindness and eventually, make you lose your sight once and for all. Vitamin A also boosts your immune system and keeps your skin in nice condition.
Selenium: This mineral is an antioxidant, it protects your cells, and the functions of the thyroid gland, immune system, and keeps your hair and skin normally beautiful.

IMG_20180908_160634.jpg


This is also my entry to Fruits and Veggies Monday hosted by @lenasveganliving. Here you can find Lena’s post about the contest and all the wonderful entries of the week. Sharing the food love in #fruitsandveggiesmonday is the best way to start a new week if you ask me!

-Jasmin ❤

Sort:  

A big fat YES to these oat rolls. I just made some split pea soup (because I’ve been under the weather) and these rolls would compliment a bowl perfectly. I wonder if using gluten free flour and agave, in lieu of sugar, would be acceptable substitutions 🤔 I’ll have to try my hand at it and let you know.

Another job very well done Ms. @jasmink. The last picture with the striped cloth under the rolls is perfect too. Always loving your recipes :)

I'm glad we're on the same page with this one! I've tried using maple syrup instead of sugar, and it worked out well, so I'm sure agave would work as well. I don't know about gluten free flour, though, I'd love to know if you decide to give it a go!

Split soup is one of my favorites as well, and having a few bread rolls on the side complements the meal perfectly. I'm sorry to hear that you're not feeling well, I hope it'll pass quickly!

Thank you again @puravidaville for your lovely words, you're always making me smile with your comments! :)

I love split pea too- it’s my grandmas recipe and always reminds me of being a little girl. I plan on making a coconut green curry either today or tomorrow and might prepare the oat rolls to go along with it. I’ll definitely let you know how the GF flour works with everything. Thank you for your well wishes and it’s my pleasure to give compliments where they are due :)

I remember when I was in elementary school, always when we had split pea soup, we had pancakes too, and everyone loved those days, haha! There are so many lovely memories related to food. :)

A green coconut curry sounds delicious, I hope you'll share a recipe as well!

Yes memories and food go hand and hand, which is why I think creating food for someone is pure love :)

I will definitely share the recipe in a few days.

It looks delicious and I'm sure it tastes that way!

Thank you @proanima, they truly are delicious! 😊

Yum! I am a huge fan of quick, simple and delicious recipes, so I will definitely give this a try!

Thank you! Simple and delicious recipes are also my favorite ones, let me know how you liked them! :)

Those look yummy! We juice carrots and have been making muffins with the pulp. Maybe we can experiment with this recipe using the carrot pulp.

Thanks @steven-patrick! That's such a great idea to use the pulp instead of just throwing it away! Carrot muffins are really delicious too (at least for me, I love everything with carrot!), but if you try making these bread rolls, let me know how they turned out. :)

I would love to take a bite in one of these. They look so fresh, crispy and yummy. I bet your house smells amazing while baking them. Great job my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you Lena, both the smell and taste truly are lovely! 😊

Another really fantastic and easy recipe. Love this! I got a bunch of beets at the market this week, so I may have to try these with them. I do love carrots, too, but pink rolls sound fun! Haha!

Thank you! Pink rolls indeed sound fun, you should try making them! I think I'm going to try beets with this recipe too as soon as they will be at their best here, thanks for the great idea! :)

I'll definitely let you know if I test them out! I might have time today or tomorrow...

Beet Rolls
Perfect little pink rolls! :)

Oh my goodness how cute they are! 😍

It's a great simple recipe! I'll definitely be adding them to the regular rotation. I'm sure I'll give the carrots and maybe some other veggies a try, as well. :)

That's so nice to hear! I've only made these using carrots, but now I'm sure I'll try to make these with other veggies as well! :)

I never heard about oat bread rolls, this is perfect for a little snack to reboost your energy power during the day:)

Exactly, I'm glad you liked this! I also like to eat a lot of soups and bread is something I always eat with a plateful of soup. :)

Gimme gimme! I love all sorts of bread and your buns looks DELICIOUS!

Haha, this comment made my day! :) I'm also a huge fan of bread, I cannot go a day without it!
Thank you! :)

Exactly! I don't get people talking about carbs.. this is the best part of it!! LOL

I couldn't agree more with you!! 😁

Gimme gimme! I
Love all sorts of bread and your
Buns looks DELICIOUS!

                 - delishtreats


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

They look so delicious, and like the Red Lobster famous cheddar biscuits, but this is so much healthier for you. I think you can even substitute carrot for zucchini too, which I love..

Thanks @icybc! I've actually never heard of Red Lobster cheddar biscuits before, I had to google what they are. Perhaps not the healthiest version of bread out there, but if you're a real cheese lover, a few of those cheddar biscuits every now and then won't hurt! I bet these rolls would also work great with zucchini, such a nice idea to try! I wonder if zucchini would do something to the color.. 🤔

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-10T05:52:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 78.00/100.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87