Fruits & Veggies Monday - Date & Mango Truffles Two-WayssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

My physiotherapist has been seeing a whole lot more of me than my friends here on Steemit have!
To cut a long story short, I literally went flying through the air in a carpark; yep nearly fell VERY hard; I honestly think I had a guardian angel who caught me that day!
I now am on the mend but still find it painful sitting down at my computer so have been having hectic blogging withdrawal symptoms as well! Standing and walking is no problem so I can still cook and bake, thank goodness!

I am an incorrigible sweet tooth so when I saw all those wonderful Dates that our hostess @plantstoplanks showed off I went out and bought Dates, but nothing as good as hers!

Remember when we were given sweet treats as a child when we were sick?
I really needed something soothing and Date & Mango Truffles would do the trick; I made truffles two-ways - some pure nutty & fruity ones and the others rich chocolate Truffles, using the superfood Cacao powder.

20190803_161801.jpg

Before we get to making these delights, I would like to share with all my friends a very clever and thought-provoking video simply called Man by the London based illustrator and animator Steve Cutts, who satirises the excesses of modern society through his amazing artwork.
Read more about his work HERE.


Credit: Steve Cutts

We have the most delicious dried Mango in Montagu, our little dried fruit and nuts franchise; needless to say this is one of my favourite stores!

INGREDIENTS
20190803_131352.jpg

  • 1 cup Dates
  • 1/2 cup dried Mango, diced
  • 1 cup Macadamia Nuts
  • 1/2 cup Sunflower Seeds

Place all ingredients into food processor and process till mixture is fine and starts to come together.
20190803_131830.jpg

20190803_132519.jpg

20190803_132605.jpg

Take out half the mixture, roll into small balls & roll in organic Coconut flakes.

Now for the Chocolate delights - add approx 4 tablespoons Cacao powder to the mixture and process some more.
Mix extra Cacao Powder with organic Coconut flakes, use this to roll the Chocolate balls in.

20190803_145611.jpg

20190803_150042.jpg

20190803_153219.jpg

20190804_121047.jpg

Delicious little sweet treats that are healthy but satisfies my sweet tooth at the same time!
20190804_120806.jpg

20190803_162335.jpg

A quick look at the making.
20190803_131352-ANIMATION.gif

FAVM divider.png

I hope you enjoyed my Date & Mango Truffles!
A sincere thank you to the creator of #fruitsandveggiesmonday, @lenasveganliving, to our weekly host the lovely @plantstoplanks, both lovely ladies are such an inspiration with their kind feedback and the amazing food coming from their kitchens!

A vote of thanks also to that wonderfully talented artist @barbara-orenya for the gorgeous wonkies!

Thank you one and all for giving us this opportunity to learn more about Vegan cookery and last but not least a big thank you to all our FAVM foodies for the delicious food you share with us each week!

Check out this week's POST, follow the rules 100% and show us your fruits and veggies this Monday :)

FAVM divider.png

lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Oh, you are such a tease!!! These look absolutely delectable and I am bound and determined to make these. What wonderful little bites of goodness these will make to bring to the office, yes?

If I do that, I may end up with people begging for more, so perhaps I should just keep them home! Love the satire, but, yes! Isn't that the truth! We are our own worst enemy.

Thank you again for this recipe. It looks simple enough for me to put together with a team of experts! Thank you for that too!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thank you so much Denise, you are a real sweetie! They actually are very satisfying so I manage to control myself, unlike those sugar laden chocolate bars that I simply have to devour in one sitting;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my goodness these look awfully naughty @lizelle! I love dried mangoes, I could eat them by the handful. I can't let myself buy them, lol I'm planning to try this recipe, it looks amazing! Perfect bite for that craving for sweets, I love making protein balls for the same reason. I hope you're okay, we can't be falling now!!!!! Take it easy, glad you have a wonderful doctor and angel watching over you my friend :) Beautiful presentation and photos too!

They were so delicious and really satisfied my sweet tooth! Yep falling or tripping or flying through the air really is not for the older generation! Thank goodness I managed to stop myself, or my guardian angel did ;)
Thank you for your lovely comments my friend!

That looks delicious! And beautifully presented. I hope you feel better soon!

Thank you @katrina-ariel, I'm feeling a whole lot better already, just taking it easy :)

Put these on my list to make! I did do some bites for my nutrition event on Saturday, but they got gobbled up that day so I need to make more! Yum!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm so glad to have discovered these kind of healthy treats!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nutty fruit balls always a favourite treat, nice recipe once again @lizelle.

Video tells a story all on it's own, yes it is absurd the throw away world we live in!

They are so quick & easy to make, thanks Joan! Yes it is a crazy world we live in not so!

You’ve been visited by @trucklife-family on behalf of Natural Medicine!

So simple, so delicious and so nutritious, these are a big with with me. I love making truffles and energy balls with my girls. Thanks for these wonderful recipes xx

This fortnight, we're having a challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes by sharing the books that have inspired or continue to inspire a healthy life for mind, body and spirit! Check out the details by clicking here!


NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you!

50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

Thank you so much @naturalmedicine, would love to join your challenge! These are super easy, healthy & delicious at the same time :) Appreciate your support!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you very much, loved this cake!

You’ve been visited by @riverflows on behalf of Natural Medicine!

These look insanely delicious. Here in Australia we call them 'bliss balls' and you can buy lots of variations of them in many cafes. My favourite at the moment is beetroot and strawberry!! I want to have a go at making them myself. Resteeming xx

This fortnight, we're having a food as medicine challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes. Check out the details by clicking here!


NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you!

50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

ha, and sorry for visiting you twice - looks like both Trucklife and me were quite hungry when we saw your post!

No need to apologise, yopu can visit as often as possible! I'd like to give this one a go:)

It looks so delicious. I have seen something similar here in my local dessert store. But never tasted it. Maybe now I am gonna taste it. :)

They're delicious and super easy to make, thank you @rem-steem!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I would love to try this at home sometimes.

Posted using Partiko Android

These are absolutely divine my Dear Lizelle! Delicious and full of nutrients! Great, but sad video...........well know amongst vegans. But, I believe there is a hope for a better future 🥑😊🍓
1 Collage.jpg

Let's pray and hope for a better future! Thank you so much for your encouragement and support @lenasveganliving, much appreciated!

Absolutely Lizelle! I believe our little veggie family is playing a part in it too. Every action for the grater good counts, plus prayer and faith. Always a pleasure my Dear 🍓😊🥑

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06