FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

Mushrooms 5.jpg

Thanks to @lenasveganliving for creating fruits and veggies Monday, it gives me a chance to create wonderful meals or dishes that are vegan, tasty, and good for you. This works well since my husband is a vegetarian/vegan and I am paleo. So most of the food I cook is vegetarian or vegan.

The other day my hubby joined me in the kitchen to prepare his sautéed mushrooms. I serve them over riced cauliflower, then add some fresh squash and zucchini and you have a beautiful meal. It is always nice to share the kitchen with him, he is a great Sous-chef.

I shop for my fresh vegetables at Aldi because it is down the street from the gym that I go to. The veggies aren't as fresh as they would be if I went to the Farmers Market to shop. But Aldi is convenient for me and the prices are very low.

Back in the kitchen, hubby starts preparing the mushrooms by chopping up an small onion and sauteing it in olive oil. Next he adds some minced garlic, powered bouillon and continued to cook mixture over medium low heat.Mushrooms-2.jpg

Next he adds the wine, any kind of red or port wine and the mushrooms and cooks until the liquid has been reduced by 50%.
Mushrooms-3.jpg

Mushrooms-4.jpg

This is the finished mushrooms.
Mushrooms 12.jpg

I prepare a vegetable medley of zucchini, yellow squash, brocolli, carrots, onions, and bell peppers sprinkled with my home made season all.

20190204_165838.jpg

The last dish was riced cauliflower that I prepared months ago and froze for future use. I sauteed onions, garlic, bouillon, no salt organic seasoning from Costco in olive oil and a little ghee. Then I added the frozen riced cauliflower and cooked until rice was thoroughly heated.
Mushrooms 11.jpg

This meal was great.

Mushrooms final.jpg

Paleotwist Logo.jfif

Sort:  

You can't go wrong with a big plate full of veggies like that! That looks like a great way to satisfy both of your nutritional requirements. I've heard good things about Aldi, as well, but I haven't really had the chance to take too much of a look. I think they have some pretty good options for vegan foods, right? I've already promised @cicisaja I'd take some photos next time I go to one of the international markets here, but perhaps I need to add Aldi to the grocery shopping adventure, too. ;)

Now you have 2 places to explore @plantstoplanks 😉 take your time a step at a time said my friend @wolfhart😊 and why I always love your comments anywhere on monday?

Thanks @plantstoplanks, Aldi has a lot of products for a small store, they even have clothing. But I love their produce section. They have meatless meatballs and several varieties of veggie burgers in the frozen food section.

What a wonderful meal my Dear and I bet it tastes even better when is made with such a skilful sous chef. It looks very juicy and flavorful. Great job!!!🥦🥜😊🌿🥕🥒
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you @lenasveganliving, it was very good. My sous chef is always willing to assist in the peeling, chopping, and handling hot pots for me.

Wow. Love this delicious colorful dish. What a rainbow of vitamins. Yum!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @sherylneil, I love the colors too. That is why I use the different colored bell peppers.

Mushroom is not my favourite @paleotwist.. but I really interested on your rice cauliflower.. where can I find the way to make it?

I don’t like rice cauliflower,wife does. I like mushrooms 🍄. 😝

Thank you @wolfhart, I didn't eat mushrooms until I met my husband, I love the way he prepares them. Riced cauliflower is an acquired taste, since rice is not allowed on the paleo diet, I eat rice cauliflower.

😂😂😂 hubby hates mushroom because he has a spesific allergic to it and I'mnit used to eat mushy too😊 so rice cauli is welcome😆

You go for the rice cauliflower, my wife likes it a lot. LOL and its good for you also
It’s not like I eat mushrooms all the time and its one or the other. A lot of people can not eat 🤮 mushrooms 🍄. Makes them sick 🤒 hehehehe

Thank you @cicisaja, here is a link to pinterest, it shows how to rice cauliflower and freeze it. https://www.thepinningmama.com/how-to-prep-and-freeze-cauliflower-rice/?m

It is really easy all you need is a head of cauliflower and a food processor.

Thank you so much @paleotwist 😍

Hmm, love mushrooms. Too bad my hubby doesn't eat them so we don't eat them very often.

@amy-goodrich, ahhh, too bad. I didn't like them either, until I met my husband. I didn't like the texture but now I love it. Thanks for your comment.

Looks delicious!

Thank you @irishgirl, the food was delicious.

Yum! 100% vegetables… love it. Cauliflower rice and I had a long term affair awhile ago. I ate so much that I kind of got sick of it. It’s been a few months so I bet I could happily bring it into the rotation again. Those mushrooms look great too 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13