Fruits & Veggies Monday: Another Summer Staple {Zucchini & Lima Bean Bowls}

Happy Monday!  I hope all is well with everyone across the Steemit-sphere.  I am definitely feeling a lot better than last Monday, so I can enjoy perusing through the other #fruitsandveggiesmonday entries in a comfortable manner. :)  Thank you as always to our fabulous host @lenasveganliving for keeping the contest going, and a big thanks to the sponsors and rotating guest judges!

This week I had access to not only the abundance of the farmers market, but also got some goodies from someone's backyard garden.  I think I may have mentioned before either in a post or a comment that this time of year the zucchini squash is so abundant most people are trying to give them away just to use them up!  We have been up to our eyeballs in zucchini from our garden previous years, but this year no such luck so I am happy to be gifted some.

Like much of the fabulous produce that is in season right now, zucchini can be used in a number of ways.  I feel like it doesn't have a whole lot of flavor on its own, but it makes a fantastic base for so many dishes and is full of fiber and other nutrients.  I know I have seen lots of light and delicious zoodle recipes around, it is great grilled (like on these sandwiches), you can put it in oatmeal, or it is excellent in a light summer salad.  I actually am using it a few different ways just this week, and the first is in a bean and rice salad bowl.


This one was yet another variation on my favorite basic combination of veggies, beans, greens and grains.  The lima (butter) beans are fantastic right now, as well, so this week I opted to cook them and leave them whole instead of putting in a dip like last week.  The food processor was once again the winner of my meal prepping, as I used it to slice up the zucchini for the salad and shredded it for muffins and to go in some veggie burgers.


The muffins I made were from Oh She Glows, as I still tend to do better following a recipe for baked goods than trying to come up with my own.  These are the Oil-Free Chocolate Zucchini Muffins, and they are absolutely fantastic.  For being oil-free and vegan the texture was still perfect with the moisture from the zucchini.  Definitely worth turning on the oven even on a hot summer day. ;)


I can't take credit for the muffin recipe, but I can share my easy bowl combination.  Though I have tried to make the pretty Buddha bowls in the past with all of the ingredients nicely arranged, more often than not I just toss everything together like this one.  I've been getting more into the World Cup than I thought, so I didn't want to miss any action by taking longer in the kitchen than needed.  Ha!


Zucchini & Lima Bean Bowls w/ Tahini Dressing

  • 1 1/2 cups black rice or other grain of choice
  • 1 medium raw zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 2 cups cooked fresh lima beans
  • 1/2 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup each fresh chopped mint & green onions
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 1 half lemon, juice
  • 3 tablespoons lemongrass mint white balsamic (can sub rice wine vinegar)
  • 1 tablespoon white miso
  • leafy greens to serve

Cook your grains accordingly.  I still have a large amount of black rice, so I have been using that a lot lately (thanks Costco)!  Since rice grown in some regions can hold an excess amount of arsenic, I have been cooking it in more water than needed and then draining and rinsing to reduce the risk of that.  It actually works great to maintain the texture of the rice for a cold salad to rinse it after cooking, as well.


While your rice cooks, combine your cooked lima beans, sliced zucchini (again the food processor or mandolin works wonders for uniform pieces), and pumpkin seeds with your chopped herbs.

Mix together your the tahini through the miso for your dressing.  Thin out with a few tablespoons of water to get the desired consistency.  Taste and adjust to your liking.

Once the rice is finished, mix everything together.  Serve over dark leafy greens for a light summer lunch, as a side dish, or bring along to your 4th of July party!


I really love the lemongrass mint balsamic vinegar this time of year, so if you can get your hands on something similar I highly recommend it!  It is very light and has a refreshing mint flavor that goes great with the fresh mint from our garden.


Have a great week everyone!!

Sort:  

Another fresh and delicious recipe! I love that you included miso in your dressing. I also tend to use recipes of others for baked goods. I really enjoy to see your fresh produce as I keep missing the farmers market for a last few weeks because of my travel.

Thank you for sharing and good luck in the contest my friend!

Thank you! I have been lucky to be able to make it to the market every week for the past few months. It is so wonderful right now to get things while they are so fresh and vibrant. Makes cooking a lot easier. ;) Though I wouldn't mind a weekend away some time soon...

Is there any particular location which you would like to visit?

So many places! I've only left the country a few times, so I would love to finally make it to Europe. @dksart is from Poland, so that is high on the list for me. He would love to do New Zealand and Australia. Though none of those work for a weekend trip! ;) I've always lived on the East coast of the US, so I would definitely love to explore the West coast a little more. I loved Portland, Oregon, so I definitely want to get back out that way and maybe make it to Seattle and even Vancouver, Canada next time.

If you would be in Poland, let me know! I'm from Slovakia (living in Switzerland but it's not far) so we could meet up :)

I've never been to the US. I am not that comfortable flying over the ocean - silly, I know :)

I hope you will manage to travel to those destinations very soon! :)

Looks like a wonderful salad to have while watching the World Cup @plantstoplanks! Love the limas :)

Hehe, yep--don't want to be too weighed down while you're cheering everyone on! :)

A very tasty recipe, thanks!

Thank you my friend! :)

Oh yes! I would be very happy to tryout one of these Zucchini bowls! 🤤🤤🤤🤤

I go a little crazy sometimes with adding ingredients, but this was simple and delicious! I'm sure I will have plenty more zucchini recipes before the season is through. :)

I love black rice and this is a perfect recipe for it..............looks and sounds delicious Katie. Absolutely love it 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

I think it is my favorite type of rice! Full of anthocyanins and all of the good stuff, but it also has that slightly sweet and nutty taste. Costco had the big bags of it a few months ago, so I bought two at the time. I think I'm still working my way through the first one!

I have to get some too.............CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Looks amazing, I want some! :)

Come and get it! I have a hard time not cooking too much for my weekly meal prep because everything just looks so good right now! :)

I wish I could but you are a bit far from where I live 😁
But thanks for the invitation!

Yeah for food straight from the farmer's market and garden. Never heard of zucchini oatmeal though. Sounds interesting. As always love the meals you made. Especially the lima bowl with tahini dressing. Hungry now hehe.

I'm in heaven right now with all of the wonderful produce. I like using zucchini when I do slow cooker oats. It's kind of like in zucchini bread--it just melts right into the oats so you can hardly tell it's there. Unless of course you use a ridiculously large amount. ;)

Zucchini has so many wonderful uses. Learning something new every day. Thanks for the inspiration ;)

Another lot of lovely looking food, fresh and wholesome, just the way I like it! I totally wish I lived where you do right now if people are giving freebie zucchinis, bliss! I'm glad you showed a sweet recipe there as well as your savoury dish, because a lot of people would never think to use them in cakes, but they're wonderful for that! Like you say, provides moisture so no need for oil. Great post as always!

Thank you for your wonderful support as always! It does get pretty crazy around here during zucchini season. ;) One year when our garden was actually doing well they were growing faster than I could pick them so some were getting as big as my whole forearm! I've gotten pretty adept at sticking it everywhere, but I am definitely partial to zucchini bread and muffins. I need to finally try that one bread you posted a while back and toss some in! :)

Good idea! And I must follow you in making some muffins... I'm fancying the idea of savoury muffins, I was thinking using pureed zucchini and grated carrot, maybe a few pumpkin seeds in there... and once baked I could cut in half and spread with some kind of spicy avocado spread. haven't quite figured out the recipe, but hopefully it'll be something tasty!

oh yum just got to have tahini!!! those muffins looks pretty darn good too! as for zoodles, my fam brought me a hand spiralizer, and i've given up trying to use, it's a dysbraxics nightmare! the rice problem, i dont like this arsenic business, if it's labelled organic it should be ok, I hope? but the black rice looks super stunning!

Tahini is the best, isn't it?! And the muffins are really fantastic. I have no problem following a solid recipe for something like that. I don't really do zoodles a lot either, I am quite happy with the job the food processor does with them or just cut up chunky with a knife. :) I figure if I rotate out and don't do rice too often it should be fine. Cooking it more like pasta with the extra water seems to be the best recommendation for reducing the arsenic by as much as half. It's truly delicious, so I enjoy it very much when I put it into the rotation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34