Fruits and Veggies Monday: Georgia Peach & Zucchini Slow Cooker Oats

Happy Monday!  Which means it is time for #fruitsandveggiesmonday again, so make sure to give @lenasveganliving's contest some love. :)  My biggest challenge in putting together an entry for the contest right now is editing it down because there are just too many beautiful in-season fruits and vegetables around here!  I have been enjoying this season even more than usual from a food perspective.  Perhaps it is because this is the first spring/summer that I have been blogging and sharing recipes that has made me even more in tune with what is available now, but whatever it is I'm going to keep on using all of the fresh produce in the best ways I can think of!



To pay homage to my state, I'm going to share with you my prepped breakfast for the week that combines some of the best Georgia has to offer.  There's a reason why peaches are the state fruit--anyone who has tasted one can tell you Georgia peaches are incredibly juicy and delicious when in season!  I know I used peaches a few weeks ago in my Monday post, but between the berries and peaches I am in vegan heaven right now. ;)



In keeping with my common meal prep theme, I do love using the slow cooker to make a big batch of steel cut oats for breakfasts for the week.  You can see some of my former combos with cauliflower  (sounds odd, but it was delicious!) and apples.  I enjoy overnight oats, as well, but I prefer steel cut oats cooked and like to use those more often than rolled oats if I can.  Oats are full of fiber, plant-based protein (yep, a serving of steel cut has about 7 grams), and make the perfect base for all kinds of different flavor additions.


The zucchini is in season here now, too, so besides using some in a ratatouille I'm going to make later on today, I shredded some up to toss in my oats.  It really imparts no flavor, so it's a great way to get in an extra bit of veggies to your daily intake even if you can't seem to eat enough otherwise.  To finish it all off, of course I had to sprinkle on some Georgia pecans for a crunchy, nutty topper.  I sometimes get envious of all of the tropical fruit some of you all share on Mondays (and other days), but I can't complain when I have plenty of nourishing and delicious things grown right in my own neighborhood.



Georgia Peach & Zucchini Slow Cooker Oats

Makes 8 servings

  • 2 cups steel cut oats
  • 3 fresh, ripe peaches, pitted & chopped
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 6 cups water
  • pecans and optional sweetener of choice to serve (date paste, maple syrup)

Place all of your ingredients through the water in a 3-4 quart slow cooker.  Cover and turn on to the high setting.  Cook for 2 hours, then check to see if your oats are done.  If needed, replace lid and cook for an additional 30 minutes.  Remember a little extra water is ok as it will get absorbed as your oats cool, and it will help keep them from drying out if you are portioning out for a week's worth of breakfast.

Top with chopped pecans for a total taste of the South!  I like to portion mine out so I can just grab and go for breakfast--especially on days like today when I'm out of the house by 6 am. :)


Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Yes! love those Georgia peaches. This looks like an amazing meal. Smart that you have prepped several breakfasts all at once! Never would have thought about adding zucchini, great idea!

Just can't get enough of 'em. ;) Zucchini can get over-abundant around here during the summer, so having ways to sneak it in everywhere helps use it all up. It helps keep a good moisture content in the oats when making ahead, too!

You are such a tease with those peaches and the breakfast is not bad neither, lol. Super healthy and yummy recipe, Well done Katie 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Haha, I just can't help myself. It was either the peaches or more beautiful berries. ;)

I love them both :)

Beautiful and healthy thank you!!

Thank you for stopping in and checking it out!

Best oatmeal ever! :)

Until the next variety I make. ;)

Omydog! This looks really yummy! I wish live next door to you!!

I would love to have you as a neighbor! 😉

That's such a great idea to add zucchini to your oats. So simple but I never thought of it before! 😮 The peaches look so appealing! Yummy!

Thanks! I think I originally saw zucchini and carrots together in a recipe for carrot cake oats, so I've been using it ever since. People sometimes give me funny looks, but as long as you shred it well you can hardly tell it's there. :)

I don't think it's strange or funny. I bet it adds a fresh and juicy aspect. I just never thought of it.

Those peaches look so fresh and tasty as does the end result of your recipe

I've got a few sad ones left now, but they are still just fine for a smoothie so not one bit of the delicious fruit is going to get wasted! :)

@plantstoplanks thats making maximum use of them :)

Those peaches look absolutely amazing!! Love the porridge you made! I love adding peach to my oats as well. Can't wait to get my hands on some juicy peaches soon!

Thank you! I'm sure you will come up with some delicious ways to enjoy them once you get some peaches, too!

Congratulations! Your post has been manually curated and has received an upvote from the @vegansofsteemit community.
Our goal is to support quality content from the vegan community on Steemit. If you like this initiative, please consider joining our voting trail on steemauto and join our Discord channel here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94