Let's go wild for FruitsAndVeggiesMonday ๐ŸŒฟ๐ŸŒฑ๐Ÿƒ๐ŸŒฟ

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

As long as I remember, I have been interested in herbs and wild herbs. When I started to "cook" in my mom's kitchen I often added not just the regular kitchen herbs to my creations but also some leaves I found on the meadow or weeds between the vegetables my mom was growing. I used them finely chopped but didn't tell anyone ... ๐Ÿ˜‰ No worries! Everybody survived my experiments!

I the years I lived on my own and in a village nearby Wรผrzburg where wild nature started tight behind the house I often used wild herbs for my cooking or collected them for teas. Unfortunately this has been stopped when I moved downt and in with the hubby. Maybe because I wouldn't use plants growing near the streets downtowns or in the park where everybody walks their gogs and maybe because he is no bikerider and therefore I didn't do so many bikestrolls like before anymore.

But this year I got inspired by a lovely steemian who uses to cook with wild herbs all the time and amazes me a lot with this. It's my friend @haphazard-hstead. Watch some of her incredibly creations here: The Haphazard Homestead Collection - Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 1 - 15 Weeks of Wild Plants, Wild Mushrooms, and Homestead Harvests. Fantastic, isn't it?!! I am planning to revive my old love to wild herbs because of her.

Another good thing about this purpose is, it brings me back on my beloved bike. I have to leave the city to collect clean and healthy herbs. I went on a bike ride with the intention to collect some mint on a special spot near the river where I harvested mint in tufts a few years ago. And I wanted to find spots where I could collect dandelion flowers for dandelion honey. I absolute wanted to make some this year because as a vegan I don't eat bees honey anymore.

I don't know why - maybe because it was still to early for big mint plants and maybe because the spot has changed its face a little bit, I only found a few leaves. But I still wanted my wild herbs tea for the evening and so I looked for some other stuff I knew I could use. There were a lot of bushes with very young lightgreen blackberry leaves. Blackberry leaves a perfect addition to a herbal tea. I also collected the top of some nettles, found some blooming ground ivy, some blooming hawthorn, some ripwort and common plantain and a few stems of common horsetail (lucky me!).

Here you can see my yield:

Water Mint

It is a very old medicinal herb and was one of the holy herbs of the european druids. It's well known as medicine against cold, it can help relieve a sore throat, it is a calming and soothing herb that has been used for thousands of years to aid with upset stomach or indigestion and is also thought to relieve pain and discomfort from gas and bloating. But the main reason I like it in herbal tea is it's fresh taste.

Blackberry leaves

The leaves contain tannins that are anti-bacterial. That's why they are good to fight off bacteria in mouth. It can fix a sore throat. It cures diarrhea, boosts the immune system and can help healing wounds and helps to heal colds and flus.

Stinging Nettles

The most important benefit of the stinging nettle is detoxifies the body. It also improves metabolic efficiency, boosts immunity, increases circulation, improves energy levels, manages menstruation, minimizes menopausal symptoms and aids in skin care and there are many more good things to say about the benefits of this plant besides the fact that it stings. But I have something against the pain from that for you a little bit down below ...

Ground Ivy

It belongs to the mint family, often overseen but beautiful when blooming. You only have to bend down to the ground. Then you can see it. It's tea is good against cold and it is astringent. The fresh leaves are the best antidote against nettle stings. Just crush a few leaves between your fingers and rub it on the afflicted area. It soothes the pain very quickly.

Hawthorneย 

It is very beneficial for the heart and can reduce the risk of an heart attack. It helps to maintain a healthy circulatory system and blood pressure. It is useful with fatigue, decreased energy, poor sleep habits, breathing difficulties, anxiety, nervousness, tinnitus in the ears, dizziness, and a pounding heart.

Ripwort and common plantain

Both sorts are my other secret weapon against nettle stings, ants bites or other insects bites. Crush the leaves between your fingers and rub the juice on the hurting, burning or itching spot. Another good use for the ripwort plantains tea, juice or sirup is as a medicine against cough.

Common horsetailย 

This is a very old plant. It goes back to dinosaur times. It's high silica content may help strengthen bones, hair and nails, fight fungal infections, relieve bloating.

I didn't know what to expect from its taste but I planned to make some fresh tea from these leaves for that night and it turned out surprisingly delicious. It was fresh and kind of fruity - maybe because of the blackberry leaves and I drank the whole pot. I am planning to go back and collect more of the blackberry leaves to dry them for storage. I also read about fermented blackberry tea. Maybe I am going to try that too.

There were some more plants I collected that day. I wanted to use them for cooking. A perfect way to use wild herbs is making a pesto and that's ehat I did for dinner that night. I 'harvested' dandelion leaves, garlic mustard, stinging nettle, ground ivy and ground elder in order to do that.

Dandelion

Garlic Mustard

Ground Ivy

Ground elder

I will post the recipe in a following entry. Some asparagus was included too ... ๐Ÿ˜‹

I hope you liked my this weeks entry to @lenasveganliving's #fruitsandveggiesmonday competition. Her own post can be found here: STEEMIT FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY COMPETITION ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“.

This is the link to the recipe for the yummy dish above: Pasta with asparagus and wild herbs pesto

.

Sort: ย 

Truly lifelike photos. Great stuff.

Thanks!

I like this herb so much. But I donโ€™t know the name all. I like plant and gardening. I appreciate your work. You collect that all. And got experience.

Some may typical european herbs I think or endemic mor to the nothern countries. Thank you for reading my post and for this nice comment!

You just planted 2.75 tree(s)!


Thanks to @pusteblume

We have planted already 6284.93 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22217.14
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

This is an absolutely fabulous post!!! Truly inspiring! I also love collecting wild edibles since I was young. Resteeming this glorious collection to hopefully inspire others too ๐Ÿ’›๐ŸŒˆ๐ŸŒด๐Ÿฆ‹

๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

This is a wonderfully informative post, thanks @pusteblume! I'm inspired to do some foraging myself, as I'm learning little by little from Steemians like yourself! I did actually add some gorse flowers and daisies into my salad the other day, which I'll post later, I was quite excited :-)

See! This is new to me: gorse flowers are edible? I didn't know that. Unfortunately they are already gone over here like two or three weeks ago. Seems like the nature over here is a little bit ahead compared to where you live. But daisies grow everywhere almost all year long. The leaves are also great in salad - it's a bit like lambs salad.
Great to inspire you!

To be honest they're not the nicest flavour in the world on their own, but mixed in with a salad they're good! I did enjoy the daisies though, the aftertaste reminded me a bit of rocket.

Yes we had such a long winter that everything has been delayed this year. We still have daffodils out, and there was even one crocus left in my garden last week! It's not even properly warm here yet... I have a summer dress on but fleecey pyjama bottoms underneath - no joke!!!

Oh my! ๐Ÿ˜† We already hat summer like temperatures already ...

This is amazing! I go hiking in the mountains a lot and I always wished I knew what to pick and what herbs could be great for a tea like this or for other medicinal purposes. I grew up in the city so this knowledge & intuition never came natural to me. You're so talented!

Thank you! That's a wonderful compliment!
I grew up in the countryside and spent my a lot holidays on my grandma's farm. And I have a few books about herbs and stuff ...

This is wonderful and so Informative. I've also been inspired to forgage now thanks to all those forages on steemit. I didn't know about blackberry leaves and there everywhere here so. Going to grab some next time! Thanks for this and the tea and meal look gorgeous

I am happy you liked my post and I could inspire you with it! Thank you for your nice comment and your support!

I had no idea these are all edible.............I just pick the Garlic Mustard today to decorate cake, lol. I am saving this post and I will study everything in more detail.
1 Collage.jpg

Hehe! Cake wouldn't be the first thing that comes to my mind when thinking of garlic mustard - ok, the flowers are pretty on a dish but the smell ... ๐Ÿ˜œ
Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜˜

Maybe they are not the same, because these smell very nice, nothing like garlic or mustard..............but they look exactly the same.
IMG_0119.JPG

Yes, they exactly look the same, but mine over here smell (nicely too) like garlic. Definitely! ๐Ÿ˜‹

When I cut a leaf it has very subtle garlic smell, but it;s hardly noticeable.

Hehe! Mine has a tender smell of garlic - not as strong as real garlic, but with no doubt obvious garlic. It's crazy and interesting how nature creates a variety of plants.

Yes it is amazing.................I also read, that here in Canada Garlic Mustard is considered an invasive plant. It's been brought from Europe and it can take over forests here, which is not good for our native plants :(

Oh! ๐Ÿ˜ณ That's rather less rosy! Like the dandelion! Yes, things like that happen everywhere in the world right now ... ๐Ÿ˜

Wonderful post I need all this written down when i go out. So much around me just always forget whats what haha ๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ’

Hehe! Don't eat the wrong stuff! ๐Ÿ˜

Yer I need to learn a bit first. I dig into nettles and dandelion and a bit of wild garlic but need more education ๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ’

That's lovely. I dream of one day i am surrounded with natural aroma of Beautiful herbs. My favorite is rosemary, it smells incredible. You are soo lucky to be surrounded with herbs. Thank you for sharing, now i get to some more herbs. Xx

Rosemary is indeed a wonderful herb! I loooove it with oven baked potatoes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34