Fruits & Veggies Monday/ Lentil Curry and Alu Vagi (Fried potato)in Bengali Style

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,
I have been following this contest called #fruitsandveggiesmonday. You people are making so amazing and delicious food. So, I thought I can give a try. Although I am not a vegan I am from the Indian subcontinent. So, we enjoy more vegan food than meat. So, I tried to prepare something for this content. Hope, I won't disappoint you people.

20190211_200116.jpg

Ingredients

  1. 200 gm of lentils
  2. One onion
  3. Chili powder
  4. Cumin powder
  5. Turmeric powder
  6. Curry powder
  7. Three potatoes
  8. Two tomatoes

20190211_184946.jpg

Process


First I boiled the lentils and in the meantime, I cut the onion, tomatoes and the potatoes(so thin).

20190211_185744.jpg

Then I put all the above-mentioned spices in the potatoes and mixed it good in a bowl. Don't forget to put some oil when mixing.

pjimage.jpg

Then, I put them in an aluminum paper and closed with another, just to fry them evenly. We are going to cook the first 15 min in 150 degree Celsius and next 10 mins in 200 degrees. Then we will let it rest a bit.

download.jpg

Now, let us return back to the lentils. Once they are boiled, I am going to take the water out and put them aside. Then I fried the onion and tomatoes in the oil. Once the onion is brown I Put the spices.

pjimage (1).jpg

pour some water and mixed them well. I cooked it until the sauce became thick. Then I mixed the lentils with it and cooked in low heat.

pjimage (1).jpg

Here you go, the lentil is ready. Now, its time to eat😋 .

20190211_193721.jpg

You can serve it with rice. I love to eat with rice as I am Asian

20190211_200312.jpg

20190211_200227.jpg

20190211_200116.jpg

I would appreciate your comment about the food. Have a nice time and steem on.

Sort:  

Looks really delish @rifkan

We so love Indian food. One of my friends is moving to India soon so I think I might come on a visit next year. A lentil dish like that is a go-to vegan meal at our home; Great entry. thanks for sharing.

Thank you for commenting :) I am so happy to participate :)

I absolutely love Indian food and this is absolutely delicious. I am very happy you sharing your traditional cooking with us. I can smell the seductive aroma of Indian spices all the way to Canada. Well Done my Friend 🍅🌿🍅
1 Collage.jpg
1 Collage.jpg

Thanks a lot :) You people are amazing :D I always look forward to this contest. So many awesome and mouthwatering food recipes <3

I love this! Welcome to the fruits and veggies family @rifkan. Any dish with multiple potatoes is a winner in my book. Rice always pairs well with lentils too. Great to see you dancing on a Monday. Keep it up and you never know, you could win the big ol 12 SBD. Good luck this week 😉

Thanks for the comment :) I love lentils from my early age as in my country we have to have lentils everyday in the plate with rice :) I am happy that you like it.

I love cooking with lentils too. It’s a shame because since we’ve been in Costa Rica I haven’t been able to find red lentils. The red ones are perfect for making pizza dough, tortillas, or Dahl. Yum!

Ahh dal. Thats an everyday item back home. I live in eastern Europe as I am a student here. So, its rare to find lentils here but there are some indian or arabian supermarkets where I can find them :)

I have yet to find an Indian market here. I do keep my eye out though. I just found some garam Marsala spice at a little organic vegan restaurant by the volcano here. I bought that real quick. Haha… it’s strange for me to be in a place that doesn’t have so many choices as the US does. I mean, even toothpaste is a choice between a couple selections where in California it’s a choice between infinite selections (I’m slightly embellishing but not by much). I get so excited when I find something that I thought I couldn’t get here. Haha

Ahh Garam masala is the best thing you can use. It changes the complete aroma and taste of the food. Without that curry is not complete.

Oh yum! I am always happy to see such delicious food from all over the world represented! Looks like you fit right in with the Monday crew. I agree with @puravidaville, as well, I'm a potato lover, through and through! Nice to see you jump in this week.

Thanks :) i am so happy to perticipate. Yeah for me i feel potato increase taste of evey dish :)

I second that motion :)

there're no other people in the world that almost all vegans but Indians @rifkan, so glad to see you joining us this week and I really hope to see more of your dishes next coming week.. you know, India has many wonderful vegan recipes and rich of spices too. your meals looks so tasty!

Thanks. I am not actually from India. I am from Bangladesh but our food is almost the same. I am happy to participate. Thanks for the comment :)

Congratulations @rifkan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 comments. Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85