@polebird: ❤️ Beyond the lens - Stories from my forest pole photoshoot ❤️

in #fun6 years ago (edited)

An outdoor pole shoot can portray a glamourous feel, but there is more than meets the eye to putting together an outdoor pole photo shoot. I want to share with you all, some photos from my lakeside photoshoot in the woods with my pole sisters, but also go a bit more “behind the scenes” with the stories and describe the logistics and struggles we encountered!

F7B83E29-0B43-44E9-9A42-AB19B802777B.jpeg

First of all, as some of you guys asked, YES! Portable poles do exist, and they are called stage poles. This particular one that my friend owns is made by Xpole. The base is SUPER heavy, and consists of 6 pieces that fit together exactly over a “base setting” almost like the pieces of a pizza. The pole itself comes apart into two pieces. You can see the “pizza” in the photo below.

21E964BC-6817-47D4-A986-5056C07A073B.jpeg

There were a lot of considerations taking the stage pole outside. Some of these I thought of before and some we found out at the shoot. :P

#1. We couldn’t walk too far to the final destination because the pieces are so heavy. My friend had a dolly, and two girls had to help guide the dolly through the trail (1 minute walk from the parking lot). You still have to carry the two pieces of the pole as well!

4DFEC579-6A6F-4B59-90A2-7B750CAE59E9.jpeg

#2. It is ideal if the ground is flat. In our case, it was slightly slanted which resulted in a couple of issues. It was super hard to put the pieces of the pole together and took us maybe 20 minutes to set it up. The pieces of the stage must fit EXACTLY, so it took more than a few tries of jamming them all together since it is supposed to be set up on a flat surface.

305800D5-36A9-4394-9DAB-F4D7AD749CF4.jpeg

#3. Although the stage pole was only slightly leaning from being on an uneven surface, it made it very hard to pole! Even a simple climb to the top which would normally be straight up, took us all on a spin. Your weight definitely wants to shift to the side that the pole was leaning towards. I had some harder tricks such as handsprings and variations that I wrote down on my list, but as soon as I kicked up into the handspring, my weight would take me for a spin.

DD9D6FB3-F2C0-4497-8A3D-D9B3EA8FAD71.jpeg

#4. I brought my trust alcohol spray bottle, tack, and dry hands. The tackiness of the pole is definitely affected by the environment and it is important for safety to have good grip. It was pretty hot outside - so I was glad to have the shade of the trees.

592B28DB-44C8-4E80-A58E-30ED9B8894A0.jpeg

#5. And the main thing was to have fun with the photoshoot. For me, I always think of these as an experimental shoot. :) Takes the pressure off a bit, and it was pretty fun to play with my pole sisters in the woods! Not an everyday occurrence that you find pole fairies playing in the forest!

5686F475-C2C5-4817-B9C5-C3B9B9676A00.jpeg

#6. Oh, and we stayed for golden hour, which provided us with some beautiful back lighting! I love the way how the photos turned out with the sunset glow. Downside, was that at this time, the bugs also came out and I got a few bites.

Thanks for reading! Hope you find it pretty interesting to think about the factors that goes into an outdoor pole shoot. Steem on friends!

Love,
Jess

Sort:  

Nice training or yoga. It that you or your sister @polebird but can you fly with that your name lol

Lol it’s me and I sure do try to fly 😂

Really what you do in the post, is a sport and an art. It is a beautiful and sensual activity, apart from that it requires strength and physical coordination. I liked your photos and very good your information of the logistics that they made for your photographic section. Greetings.

Thank you so much! There is both sport and pole art versions of pole fitness :) and they did in more recent years recognize pole as a sport!

Wooahh!!! I bet those were really heavy to carry. :D Nice shots, @polebird! :)

hahah yeahhh lol!! Thats always my main concern setting up these photoshoots for fun :P

Hehe, yup! You really look good in every pictures! :) :)

So many variable coming into play, it must have been challenging...
But the resulting shots were awesome...So it's definitely worth all the troubles. ❤️ ❤️ ❤️ ❤️ ❤️ ❤️

hehe thank you @xabi! Definitely worth the slanted pole, bug bites, and interesting afternoon :P glad you like them!

Bug bites...ouch....hehehe

You guys really put up lots of efforts to pole in the woods.

I love the narration.

BTW, is it all Pole base that are fixed together? The stainless steel base in some of your vlogs look like a flat plate and not pizza. 😀

hehe thanks! I thought it would be fun to talk about the struggles you don't see from just looking at the finished photo :P. Ah, great question! That is a pressure mounted pole in my home. The ones at the studio screw into the ceiling. The pizza one is the stage pole!

:)

Thanks for the explanation

you are wonderful Girl ! <3

Thank you so much!! 🤗

X-Poles are scarily unstable!

Ahh yeah!!! I found that out about the slight wobble the first time I played on it :P the uneven ground didn’t help. I much prefer the mounted poles lol

Wow..beautiful gymnastics it deserves resteem..thanks @polebird

Awww, Thank you so much!! 😊

Damn - you are looking fit and fantastic!

Thank you!!! ☺️

Beautiful photo shoot.
I bet it was so much fun to do this in nature, even though it was a lot of work and factors to be covered to get it done but the results are well worth it and absolutely beautiful.

Thank you so much! It was a pretty interesting experience and yes! Love the way these shots turned out ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07