Ask the Car Guy @socky Jan 10, 2019

in #fun5 years ago

What is your car trouble?

I want to give back to Steemit community and provide some help on something that I know very well. Cars and how to fix them.

Engine.jpg

Please ask me about your car issue. Won't go into gear. Strange sounds. Don't know if you should take your car in to the shop. Just ask.

redneck repair3.jpg

Send me the make, model, and year along with car symptoms.

Please remember to VOTE and ReSteem

---------------------------------------

For a breakdown of how Steemit Rewards system works:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/simple-steemit-rewards-breakdown-how-it-works-since-hf20

For a breakdown of Steemit Keys:

https://steemit.com/life/@socky/do-you-understand-your-steemit-keys

For a breakdown of why Steem Power is Important:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/why-is-steem-power-important-beginners-read

How to improve STEEM payment system:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/introducing-the-hand-shake-and-how-it-can-revolutionize-steem-blockchain

Sort:  

@socky I have a 2007 Lexus 350ES My tire Pressure Dash Light wont turn Off even though I just had the Air Pressure checked at the Discount Tire Store. The Rep at the Store said that the on board pressure gauges must be Bad and that they should be replaced and I should buy a Full set of Tires before I have it recalibrated. Is that True or do they just want to sell me a New set of Tires ??

Those sensors can go bad and requires the tires to be removed to get to them. The pressure sensor is inside the valve stem and batteries inside the sensors. They have an inertial sensor that alerts them when the tire moves. Then they send a wireless signal to the car which only happens periodically to save the internal battery. These internal batteries are not replaceable. The entire valve stem needs to be replaced.

Is it possible that the tire guy is telling you to wait until you buy new tires?

The reason to wait until tires are replaced is to save the expense to remove and reinstall and balance all the tires. Just wait until it is time for all of them to be replaced. You will just go back to the old fashioned way to check tire pressure until then. When you have all the tires replaced, you have all the sensors replaced. This way you have all new set of sensors (with fresh batteries) installed in your wheels.

If the tires are not ready to be replaced and the tire guy is saying that you need to buy tires to fix the problem, then that is not correct info. You can spend the money to have the tires removed and put back on to replace the sensors. (That is if you just can't stand seeing that tire light on the dash)

When the sensors are installed, there is a process to sync their wireless signal to the car. The tire guys know how to do this.

Some additional info: Tire pressure will change with temperature. When it gets cold, the air inside gets dense and due to the fixed volume inside the tire, the pressure goes down. It is not uncommon for cars to get the tire light during cold mornings. My wife's car has this problem all the time. Those sensors are not that accurate. All it takes is one sensor to be reading a little low and a cold morning to get a light.

Thank You Very Much for your Detailed Answer @socky .....Yes I will wait to fix the Sensors When I am Ready to Replace the Full Set of Tires. I am sure I can Live with the light on the Dash for the Sake of getting more mileage out of the Tires........

Cool Action! :)
Here is a picture of my oldtimer :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice, I had a CR-500 (old timer bike) which production stopped a long time ago. I eventually took a late model CR450F (four stroke) aluminum chassis and stuffed that CR-500 two stroke motor into it.

That thing was soooooo fast, that sometimes guys with CR450s would challenge me to a race thinking my bike was a 250 (two stroke) since there was no such thing as a late model 500 cc (two stroke). I would stay with the 450 until he topped out. Then I would punch it and wheelie away from the 450. To really show him up, I would then shift to the next gear!!!!!

Haha nice!!
I know that bike.
While mine (Yamaha XT 500) may be the first street Enduro, the crf is also a real legend!
Need some balls for that power :D

But my xt has now also ~48hp at 525ccm

Posted using Partiko Android

Supposedly Kawasaki is going to bring back their 500 two stroke in a late model chassis with fuel injection. I assume it will have nikasil cylinder and power valve to boot. I'm envisioning my body flapping in the wind while hanging onto the handlebars.

Sounds cool and will probably be a success but I prefer mechanically engines over elecricity.
I want to be able to repair my cross by myself somewhere in a dessert.^^

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85