Lose almost 10 % body fat in under 3 hours! (Why scales are bullshit)

in #fun6 years ago

By scottwebb on pixabay.com


"Suesa, how has the fact that you're studying a field of science influenced your life?"

"Not much", I tend to answer. But today, that was proven wrong.

For months, my fitbit scale Aria 2 has shown me what I perceived as wildly inaccurate body fat measurements, which had increased over time. Now, while I didn't really give a fuck about the number (which ranked me as more and more obese), I was a bit peeved about the consistent upwards trend because

  • I'm doing strength training 5 times a week
  • The weights I've been lifting have been increasing
  • I track the amount of protein and calories I eat
  • I know I don't look obese

These things were enough for me to try and find a solution. When you check the Fitbit FAQ about this scale, you find this:

help.fitbit.com

Wikipedia (yes, I am lazy today, there's a reason this is not on my official account) says the following about bioelectrical impedance analysis:

Bioelectrical impedance analysis (BIA) is a commonly used method for estimating body composition, and in particular body fat. Since the advent of the first commercially available devices in the mid-1980s the method has become popular owing to its ease of use, portability of the equipment. It is familiar in the consumer market as a simple instrument for estimating body fat. BIA actually determines the electrical impedance, or opposition to the flow of an electric current through body tissues which can then be used to estimate total body water (TBW), which can be used to estimate fat-free body mass and, by difference with body weight, body fat. Source

Hm, so we actually determine total body water? Well, I'm always doing the measurement right when I wake up, but the amount of water in my body might still fluctuate a bit ... could that be the reason?

But when I google "Aria 2 body fat inaccuracy" I get several hits. More people seem to have this problem, and two main suggestions to fix it stood out:

  • Check that you have entered the correct sex (apparently male and female calculations differ)
  • Remove the batteries from the scale and put them back in (Have you tried turning it off and on again?), then re-calibrate by weighing yourself three times.

Fitbit had registered me as female everywhere, so I did the battery thing and got on the scale.

And my body fat percentage dropped. Each time.

I checked the app again and found the so-called "lean mode".

help.fitbit.com

"Why not", I thought. "I am building muscle after all."

The percentage dropped again. I kept getting on and off the scale, to see when it would stop dropping.

But it didn't.

1.png

2.png

3.png

4.png

5.png

While my weight (which I blacked out here, because for some reason I feel uncomfortable showing it) kept relatively stable (in a 100 g range), my body fat percentage dropped from 28.3 % to 19.1 % (actually 19 % but I forgot to take a new screenshot), in a span of 2 hours and 20 minutes. You can see that between measurements, there's about a 1-2 minutes delay, as the scale had to synchronize with the database each time, before I could measure myself again.

After hitting 19 %, I gave up. I had just wasted a huge amount of time and felt severely dehydrated.

So, to return to the question from the beginning: How has my field of study influenced my life? Well, apparently it has created the need to do stupid experiments for hours.

I'm still not entirely sure what the problem is, maybe a rounding error as @lemony-cricket suggested (thanks for chatting with me through all of this, I would have been so bored otherwise), maybe something else. Maybe lemony's other idea, that "It zaps fat from your body, it exchanges one fat for three cancer" is the truth. Who knows?

In the end, I'll probably turn off the body fat measuring feature now, as it has proven more useless than I already thought it is. And if you have been looking for a convenient way to measure your body fat at home, this is not it.

Sort:  

I'm on a fat-loss journey to see my definition in my arms, stomach, but especially thighs. I know the scale is not an accurate tool of measuring fat loss, so this time I'm using progress pics and measurements to track my progress. It's a slow and steady process with ups and downs, but as long as the trend is down, I'm happy. Wish it faster though.

Always remember: it's not just losing fat, gaining muscle is even more important!

For months, my fitbit scale Aria 2 has shown me what I perceived as wildly inaccurate body fat measurements, which had increased over time. Now, while I didn't really give a fuck about the number (which ranked me as more and more obese), I was a bit peeved about the consistent upwards trend because..

Lol'd at this. I feel the same exact way. I got my bodyfat tested once, and I was found to have 8% bodyfat by holding my handle on something that gave an electrical pulse throughout my body during a doctor's physical. A couple of days later I bought one of the electronic scales similar to the one you used and noticed the same thing! It said I was 14%.

I did all the same crazy experiments like you lol and went off on a tangent for an hour. You're not the only one!

Good to see someone post some fitness stuff here on Steemit, I'm following you now!

Oh gosh, I am so glad I'm not the only one mad enough to do this.

But I'll have to disappoint you, suesa-random is mostly for shitposting (although there are many people who disagree with me and say it's not shitposts. Don't listen to them). My main account contains fiction and science posts so ... not really much fitness stuff either. You're welcome to keep following, but I'm not sure you'll find the content you're looking for.

I actually looked at both of your accounts! I prefer the "shitposting" one surprisingly lol. I do like reading science and fiction from time to time though. I am a random person with many random different thoughts. That's why my name is "jfitmisc". I post about fitness and a ton of other miscellaneous stuff, I think my followers are okay with it haha.

From my own experience there are only 2 or 3 good methods of measuring body fat, DEXA scan is by far the best and these types of comercial machines are most of the times just a scam, everytime someone tells me their scale or fitbit told them they lost x % of body fat and gained x% of muscle i always tell them the numbers are probably wrong...

At the end of the day there is only 1 thing that can measure your progress, just take photos in the mirror and that's it...

Hope you are good suesa, i'm studying atm so i haven't checked many posts on steemit and haven't stopped by the steem.chat, hope everyone is ok!

I wasn't the one buying the scale in the first place, wasn't really convinced that it'd work from the beginning. But this kind of inaccuracy is almost hilarious.

And I was wondering where you had vanished to, kinda missed you! I'm in the end phase of writing my bachelor thesis, so I'm rather busy too. When I'm not wasting over 2 hours on silly experiments with my scale.

For a second there after reading the topic I nearly emailed this article to my cousin trying desperately to lose weight :)

Hehe, might stop them from buying a useless, overpriced scale. Thing is, I've already lost the weight I wanted to lose. It's just about building muscle and losing fat now, so I'm actually interested in my body fat percentage. But alas, guess I have to go by looks and not by measurements.

Looks works for me :)

Get the calipers! I've got a really cheap scale that does the same thing as the fitbit. If you use it straight after coming out of the shower: 35% body fat!

This is my third week back in the gym, and the physiological, visual changes are the most dramatic. That, and increased grip strength has been the biggest change so far!

Objective instruments are sometimes flawed. The fitbit watches in particular typically take ~40 seconds to catch up with heart rate changes during hiit, and when they do; they're not very accurate.

Stay injury free!

I'll just stop giving a fuck about the body fat percentage and keep increasing the weight I lift I guess (and eating right ofc). I mean, it's all I can do anyway, right?

You sure did zap a lot of fats! But it gave you thrice as many cancer :(

You're trying to lose weight, and I'm trying to increase weight. .

I'm trying to lose fat that's a difference :P Can still gain weight, as long as its muscle.

Thank you! Upvote!

I'm not a spammer, this is my experiment. I liked the picture and I send it.

Please clear your flag. I removed the repeating picture.

Nope. You're spamming. It's not just the picture, it's the fact that you keep writing the basically same comment everywhere. That's spam. Your comment did not, in any way, relate to my post. That's why I flagged you.

I understand you.

You are not a spammer... it's just that your english vocabulary is limited to "Thank You! upvote" really nice content my friend, hope you feel happy with that

Yesterday I was at a psychotherapeutic group. I feel completely unhappy with this without it. Your irony here is nonsense. You do not know what is happening in my life and phrases like "I hope you are happy with this" in the form of verbal juggling are not appropriate. Respect the lives of others. I did not write anything that would concern you or your life. And did not hint that you are unhappy with your manifestation. How can I and I am manifested in this world. If you do not get rid of it then you can put a flag or whatever you want.But do not jumble

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77