The Importance of Play—A Manifesto, of Sorts

in #fun6 years ago (edited)

Andrei Zadorine + ______ _______ - Tutt'Art@ (5).jpg

jeweled.jpg

I believe in play, in a big way, and think fun is a deadly seriously business. Which is to say, I regard lightheartedness as the greatest wisdom and spiritual awareness that we are capable of, as humans, on this plane of existence. (Perhaps, why I also tend to mistrust persons without a sense of humor, especially, if they occupy positions of power). Friends of mine, usually, share this world-view, and I find that I am closer to those who are more playful by nature--a main reason, for example, why I hardly tire of the company of children.

Which is why I remember being surprised during a heart-to-heart conversation with a friend of mine, a lively and cultured actress, with whom I thought we agreed on essentials. I trotted out my theory of life as play, and she seemed slightly aghast, even a touch disappointed. My friend took me, seriously - we shared a passion for German literature and musing, profoundly, on life and human nature. But, she also knew my silly side - goofing around, making fun of everything, especially myself. What's more, she was a sort of performance artist, herself, in her day to day dealings, larger than life, and with a flair for the dramatic. So, why was she now looking at me, incredulously, like she had just discovered I was frivolous or superficial?

This exchange of ours gave me pause for thought, and I carried it with me for years. I realized, over time, that her inability to see my point of view, or detach herself from her suffering, caused her more suffering. So, this blog post and inspiring quotes, below, are for her, as a reminder not to take things to heart and proceed, lightly, through life:

It’s dark because you are trying too hard. Lightly child, lightly. Learn to do everything lightly. Yes, feel lightly even though you’re feeling deeply. Just lightly let things happen and lightly cope with them. So throw away your baggage and go forward. There are quicksands all about you, sucking at your feet, trying to suck you down into fear and self-pity and despair. That’s why you must walk so lightly. Lightly my darling...”
―Aldous Huxley

My reading of the passage, above, on Soundcloud


So come, my friends, be not afraid.
We are so lightly here.
It is in love that we are made;
In love we disappear.

―Leonard Cohen



Do what you do more as play than as work, which does not mean that it is not serious ... That is the real tragedy of war and weapons: the tragic false seriousness. —Thomas Merton



Laughter is the habitual crying of the wise. —Magdalena Samozwaniec



Man's maturity: to have regained the seriousness that he had as a child at play —Nietzsche

What must a man have suffered to find it so very necessary to be a buffoon? —Nietzsche (on Shakespeare)



Life is too important to be taken seriously. —Oscar Wilde



jeweled.jpg

(Art: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)

Sort:  

YES! This is at my core. It is my belief that most people take themselves much too seriously. The world would be a better place if people would slow down, breathe, and laugh once in a while. You stated it much better than I. Just wanted to say I agree. Followed.

Thank you, for the affirmation and your support. Yes, a sense of humor saves lives. Wishing you a restorative weekend and I hope my posts continue to keep you good company :)

You are so right. There is a certain magic in the world that can only be seen through childish eyes. To see life as a child is to fill it laughter and enjoyment. They say laughter is good medicine, and indeed it is. How many stressed and angry five year-olds do you know? How many stressed and angry 50 year-olds to you know?

Granted, there are several factors that contribute to how stressed or angry any group of people are, and one of those factors is how often they laugh, and another is how often they play.

Laugh, play, let your inner child out, you are allowed to enjoy life, you only have one after all.

Amen, to the light-hearted wisdom of children _/|\_

This lightness is essential to living and understanding anything. Your actress friend must have these moments or she would have long since passed from life. A some point we came to believe that struggle validates. I guess it is so we will persevere. I am often seen as a very hard worker and many people have interpreted this as a sign of struggling. Where I see it as fun and perseverance ... no hardship. And then eureka I can do something I could not do before.

I think we are here to learn and serve creation. We learn so we can serve creation. Suffering can drive creation and so martyrdom is valued. She has not suffered enough to understand that there is another way. That is fortunate for her. But it also means, she simply cannot understand your POV. Perhaps, she is still caught up in the idea of good versus evil. This philosophy implies perpetual struggle. If one considers herself good and she must fight evil to continually prove she is good, she serves war, but she will believe it is the other guy who does. I agree lightness is better:):):) It is less destructive.

I don't know if I would say she has not suffered enough but I do believe our attitude can compound our suffering. 2 quotes I might have shared with you speak me better than myself:

Laughter is the habitual crying of the wise." —Magdalena Samozwaniec

What must a man have suffered to find it so very necessary to be a buffoon?' —Nietzsche (on Shakespeare)

I do think it has to do with subtracting oneself from the equation, somehow, not taking oneself or one's suffering, too personally (if that makes sense). Such detachment, I find, lightens the load. It's a discipline to be sure and, like everything worthwhile, something we must work (and hard) at. _/|\_

I think perhaps it comes with the realization that in corporeal form there is so much out of our control and coming to realize that there are guiding force/forces outside of corporeal/ego self that are much better at 'controlling' those forces. With grasping, we do a lousy job at controlling and are better apt to let go and let god ... I believe is the saying. Then what is there left to do but celebrate life. When I say your friend has not suffered enough, I do nit wish more suffering on her; rather the opposite. But she has yet to be convinced and that tends to take more suffering, unless like Master Eckhart, she is delivered from her suffering. I would wish that on everyone. Where there is no suffering, there is true faith and understanding. Namaste, Yahia. I coming to rather enjoy our morning metaphysical dialogue:) May you have a truly blessed day:)

I admit, after I wrote you, I saw your larger point (continuing the exchange in my head). We're in agreement, on essentials, my friend. Thanks, for taking the time and care to walk me through it. Your metaphysical chops are sharper than mine, today :) Namaste, Pryde and blessing back your way _/|\_

Metaphysical chops ... must be all the karate:)But it does work that way:) Namaste:)

This I call easy , taking life easy the way it sounds assures good, healthy and longer lives .
You see all work and no play makes jack a dull boy , I can say we share this same attitude of trying to make everyone around laugh and when being human plays in , we only make the jokes about ourselves.

You see I believe in expressing the happy part of me cause that’s the only way I can be happy with myself. Being happy isn’t enough but the medical effect of being happy and laughing at almost everything doesn’t indicate unseriousness but the medical effect of laughter is non arguably great, though many may not know this, but this I know I take life easy , anger reduces a molecule of IQ that’s a tiny particle and many particles overtime will become an element.

I’ve got some really serious friends like that , they call me an unserious fellow cause they always see me a jester even when I play .

It’s dark because you are trying too hard. Lightly child, lightly. Learn to do everything lightly. Yes, feel lightly even though you’re feeling deeply. Just lightly let things happen and lightly cope with them. So throw away your baggage and go forward. There are quicksands all about you, sucking at your feet, trying to suck you down into fear and self-pity and despair. That’s why you must walk so lightly. Lightly my darling...”
―Aldous Huxley

I’m in love with this quote cause it speaks for me and the types of me that have been tagged a jester.

True, it's not only in Shakespeare's plays that the jesters are wise, but on life's stage, too. Good point you make about health benefits of happiness, vs destructiveness of negative emotions. One more (very good reason) to make a serious effort to be silly :P

One more (very good reason) to make a serious effort to be silly

I can’t stop laughing, silly becomes an habit. 🤣🤣

Play is really important actually. You see the way we face things, even challenges go a long way in finding a way out. The story we tell ourselves of any situation matters a great deal. If I think it is going to be difficult or hard then it will.

The thing is that the mind itself does not make a difference between thoughts and actions. So take things lightly, and it will come out lightly.

Just that some people may expect you to stay up tight everytime.

Yes, I agree that our attitude and approach to things affects their outcome. "So take things lightly..." :)

Hmm, this piece is really touching, play as one of the genres of literature capture all things through dialogue, I believe you were able to figure out what happens to your friend through conversation that you had which is what play does through dialogue.

This exchange of ours gave me pause for thought, and I carried it with me for years. I realized, over time, that her inability to see my point of view, to entirely detach herself from her suffering, caused her more suffering

This part caught my attention, actually not everybody always like being cheerful all the time but that doesn't mean we shouldnt try to take things slightly since life itself is too short to be taken serious. You really had great point

So come, my friends, be not afraid.
We are so lightly here.
It is in love that we are made;
In love we disappear.

You really nailed it here and I like the rhymes scheme you adopted (abab) it really convey the message well. Life should not be taken too serious since we are just here for a while and we will surely leave one day. Death is inevitable. Keep the good work flowing man

Wow! Is that Aldous Huxley quote from Island? I am obsessed with Huxley! And Island! Great piece you have here man.

Haha.. Yeah, I mention "Island" in my post, above (and include my reading of the passage on Soundcloud :) Glad you enjoyed this, and recognize these references!

Haha wow, I absolutely skipped the image lol. I guess my thing against images has
gotten worse than i thought.

Here's a post i curated for curie a while earlier. You'll probably love it. https://steemit.com/aldous/@isaacbanks/time-in-aldous-huxley-s-works-or-an-observation

No worries 😉 Thanks, for sharing link; I look forward to checking it out.

yes i agree fun is a deadly seriously business.

You believe or not but its true that i really really impressed of this line..

I believe in play, in a big way, and think fun is a deadly seriously business

after first line reading then i am impressed and comment now.....

Of course I agree with you all that you wrote in the real life, thanks to a very important post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17