Introducing members of the SteemSTEM / Utopian.io Meetup - part 4

With the meetup and hackathon just over a week away, we’re all busy packing and preparing for the hackathon and meetup with SteemSTEM. Between suitcases and travel plans, we’re happy to continue acquainting you with the (less shy) Utopian.io Hackathon Attendees.

In our previous post about the Utopian.io hackathon participants, we introduced the Utopian.io core team: @elear, @espoem and @techslut. In this post, we’ve caught up with @amosbastian, @jestemkioskiem and @jedigeiss.

Want to participate in the Utopian.io hackathon? You can still join! Read more about it here.

Development Category Community Manager - @amosbastian

This 24-year-old man of the world, currently living in Lisbon, is a gifted developer with a passion for football, beer, gaming and code. Merciless in his reviews, Amos oversees one of the most important categories on Utopian.io - development.

I don’t really have any specific plans for things to do at the meetup yet. I'm the kind of person who enjoys going with the flow and seeing what happens. I will probably participate in the hackathon or something like that. Most of all, I am looking forward to meeting everyone in person. I think that will be weird at first, but should definitely be a lot of fun! Other than that, I'm also pretty interested in going to VIRGO, even though I have absolutely no knowledge on what they actually do there. I've been to Italy once before when I was 16 on a school trip... had my worst hangover of all time (this happens when you don't know your limit). Ever since, I get sick if I even smell Sambuca. I'm not planning on something similar happening again!

Want to get to know our Development CM better? You can read the interview with @amosbastian on People of Utopian.

Utopian.io Open Source Radio Show Host - @jedigeiss

Don’t let his age or job (banking industry) confuse you - Jan is a fun-loving German musician and open source enthusiast that likes to get silly and joke around. You should know this if you’re a listener of the Utopian.io Open Source Radio show. A computer scientist at heart and by profession, he has been managing IT projects in the banking sector for over a decade, always honing his skills in programming languages.

I am really looking forward to meeting all the people of SteemStem and Utopian.io. I have always been an outsider in my own profession. I really enjoy getting to know new folks and talking to strangers, I guess this is also why I love hosting the Utopian Open Source Radio Show :)

I hope the pool is still open in September because I definitely will jump in there!

There are a lot of things I plan to do at the Meetup. For one, we are having our first live radio show where we’re all in one location. In other words, @techslut and myself will be in the same room, whatever the consequences may be :)

On the other hand side I would really love to take part in the hackathon as a python coder. Coffee machines, Calculators or Artificial Intelligence, I will give my best in making it work.

Bug Hunting Category Community Manager - @jestemkioskiem

Our co-CM of the Bug Hunting category, @jestemkioskiem (Victor), is a young programming student from Poland who does a lot more behind the scenes in Utopian than you might think. When he’s not correcting the grammar in translations and contribution posts, he’s learning new things and applying his skills to create new and useful tools for Utopian moderators and users.

I haven’t really thought much about what exactly I’ll be doing there. The meetup is a way for me to meet the team members, get to know them more and see for myself how we can operate in a local setting where we don’t need to wait for anyone to respond. I’ve never been to Italy, so obviously seeing it will be a bit of a vacation for me as well. I’ve never boarded a plane, so that’s fun (not really, I am paranoid about messing up)! I am hoping to see how our developers work during the hackathon to get important experience in the field. I hope to land my first job in programming next year. All in all, I am very excited for this trip and I can’t wait to see how it unfolds!

If you want to know more about @jestemkioskiem, check out his interview on People of Utopian.


Almost there!

With the Fundition campaign coming to summation, we'd like to thank every one of the participants, supporters and contributors. This meetup could not have been funded without the support of @fundition and the many users to contribute funds and upvotes.

The next update will include a summary of the campaign, and we invite you to keep following @utopian-io and @steemstem for live updates from the meetup and hackathon.

Sort:  

I am really looking forward to meet these guys

I have already packed my bags

What about you? •ᴗ•

Hi Mohit, how are you? This is an offkey comment. Amosbastian spoke of you and I thought to visit with you. I have an open task request, I would love you to take a look, perhaps, you will consider taking it up?
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@surpassinggoogle/task-request-help-us-add-a-badge-and-delegate-button-underneath-posts-for-certified-uloggers-on-ulogs-org

Wait for me !!!

I think we made a mistake. We forgot to update Victor's picture. :D

I like the variety. :)

You are right. Perhaps his thumb up would be hard to see in the new frame.

You are right. Perhaps
His thumb up would be hard to
See in the new frame.

                 - espoem


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I can't wait to see you all guys. Tomorrow I am gonna go and call the airline I'm flying with to make sure I don't fuck anything up, lol. So excited to learn from the best!

Really looking forward to meeting everyone!

I am looking forward to seeing your live coding session as you refused to make a live stream.

Wonderful job keep it up

ehmmm @jestemkioskiem, are you going to have one of your eyes covered with Utopian tag while coding during the hackathon? :D

@jedigeiss! This may sound weird, but I will say it anyway.
I like the color of your eyes :P
Looking forward to seeing you there :D

It's so nice to get to know these amazing people: @amosbastian, @jestemkioskiem and @jedigeiss.
Thanks for bringing them to us - I'm already following them.

The meet-up is gonna be a hit. Have fun guys

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82