Ithaqa Graphic Novel Fundition Update 16 Check Out The Cover For Issue 1!

Ithaqa - Cover-v3.jpg

Here we have it, the cover for issue 1! Art by @la-fumettista, as always, and our brilliant logo work was done by Lucas Gattoni, whose website is here:
http://cargocollective.com/LG_Lettering/About-me

There's a lot to talk about, because there's so much going on in frame! Initially Theresa and were looking at something a bit simpler, just our main characters posing in front of the church, but I really wanted the supernatural element to come through in a bigger way.

Issue_1_Cover_Ideas.jpg

We put our heads together and came up with the black strings pushing out through their eyes, in tandem with it appearing as though our main characters were unraveling. It was something I struggled with for a little bit, because on the one hand you want to show people something crazy and awesome, but you also don't want to sell people something that isn't actually in the comic book (yet).

Since this is the cover for issue 1, I wanted to try and keep the supernatural elements limited to things you would actually get to see in the comic... Even though I really wanted to throw some rat monsters all up in there, haha.

We decided to bend our definition of "appears in this comic" slightly, and go with the eye goop and the strings, because while this issue does not explicitly show the fabric of spacetime coming undone, the dialogue inside does hint at the pervasiveness of strange black threads. Also, in the new pages that we're adding, Harvey Bolton has a prophetic dream that does show characters with their eyes all blacked out and full of goo...

For the logo we went through many iterations, you might all remember some of the ones I posted about awhile back! Ultimately, Theresa, Lucas and I went with an art-deco style font, vandalized with a bloody brushstroke. With the other text, Lucas drew inspiration from old film posters.

I'm a damn lucky guy, to be working with such talented people :)

Here is my daily reminder that you ran receive special rewards by backing different reward tiers (just like with Kickstarter) on our official fundition page: https://fundition.io/#!/@drwatson/t2b3d2ijh

And here are our Fundraising Rankings! When we get to $1,000 USD worth of steem, Theresa and I will be able to finish illustrating Issue 1, and release it to all our backers on steem!

Most Votes Leader Board:

  1. @Katharsisdrill - 17 upvotes
  2. @katamori - 17 upvotes
  3. @Bryan-imhoff - 17 upvotes
  4. @steevc - 16 upvotes
  5. @enternamehere - 15 upvotes

Most SBD Value Contributed - The Council Of Five:

  1. @fundition - $261.49
  2. @eeks - $39.71
  3. @Bryan-imhoff - $34.132
  4. @kommienezuspadt - $17.52
  5. @Katharsisdrill - $4.45

We have raised in the vicinity of 351.14 SBD, which means we are 35% of the way to our goal. Once we hit it, it will guarantee that we release all of issue 1, for free to steemit!

@Bryan-Imhoff surged on the leader boards today, he backed our "Flickering One" tier, and I will now read and provide (kind) notes, on any script he wants to send my way! All that fundraising that he is doing over on his own page for us is making a big difference too! So thank you Bryan, you're the best.

Steemers who hold a position on the council will get to confer with Theresa and I on what our bonus gifts to the steem community will be. If we decide to do bonus art, the council of 5 will get to have a say in what is depicted! When you back reward tiers in the campaign, that is added to your SBD ranking, so if you would like to be a part of the council of 5 putting 3-5SBD in would currently guarantee you a spot, while also netting you some exclusive rewards.

https://fundition.io/#!/@drwatson/t2b3d2ijh

Please spread the word to your steemit friends about this project, we don't want to keep losing ground in spite of the dropping price of steem!

If you have any friends or family who might be interested in a Lovecraftian horror comic, please send them to our website to sign up for some free pages! https://www.ithaqacomic.com/contact-us/

Additionally, If you're new to this comic I strongly recommend you check out our instagram, as I'm currently uploading pages every day.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ithaqacomic/

Theresa Chiechi's (The Artist @la-fumettista) website is here: http://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sign up to buy the comic on our website: https://www.ithaqacomic.com/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/pg/IthaqaComic/about/?ref=page_internal
Twitter: @IthaqaComic

Sort:  

Oh no. I didn't realized you launched a Crowdfunding for the comic!
I'm so late for this. I resteemed of course. Great cover! The back eyes of the characters are very intriguing. I keep on watching....

I'll look into the funding platform (which I'm discovering...) to see how I can participate.

I also came in late to seeing the secondary website that is set up to work with Steemit like a Kickstarter. I checked the site out for my first time the other day https://fundition.io/#!/@drwatson/t2b3d2ijh , it is super easy, uses SteemConnect to work like Steem Monsters and a bunch of other Steem connected web apps and etc.

I'll definitely give it a try if I have a project to fund. Seems like users need to be into crypto though as there is no way to pay with a credit card...

If i had enough sp i wouldve given you what you need in a heartbeat...but im far far away from making that happen.. the only thing i can do is leave a comment showing my goodwill for your project...may you succeed..

Thanks for dropping by! Your support is really appreciated! You can back the project at even .001 steem on the fundition page if you wanna start scoring some rewards, and if you log an email on our website, I'll send you 8 pages of the comic for free!

https://www.ithaqacomic.com/contact-us/

Subscribed with my email, Joined fundition and gave you a heart..😊😊😊

Awesome! I'll send you those pages!

@drwatson was just browsing around Steemit when your photo captured my attention. Wow great comic and information! Love reading your thought process and how you've come a long way and moving into crowdfunding! It's great to learn creative thought processes. I draw/illustrate on my own time so it's pretty neat to know what amazing work lots of Steemians are doing, such as yourself! Upvoting your post to support! Looking forward to reading your updates on this~ Hope to stay connected and support each other!

That cover turned out excellent! I liked the stark graphical image you’d been playing around with months ago. But I LOVE this! Way to rock it @la-fumettista!
I was actually drawing some “thready rats” earlier today. I’ll try to post another update soon!

Fantastic!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79