Ithaqa Graphic Novel Fundition Update 17 The Cure For Writer's Block

Ithaqa_Page_7.jpg

Hey all, welcome back from the weekend! Our fundition campaign continues to chug along, and I start to dream of a world where steemit funds the existence of my comic series!

In terms of the edits, I keep circling around issue 4. So much of it was gutted during my edits to issues 1-3, that I keep finding myself unsure of where to start, or what to keep.

The first three issues have changed drastically over the past 2-3 months, but there was always the anchor of Theresa's art to keep me from losing direction. It already existed, it was beautiful, and I wanted to keep as much of it as possible. At first I thought that editing around the existing art was slowing me down, and that if I could only break away to issue 4, it would be smooth sailing. Perhaps not too surprisingly, having the option to delete everything in a script and start from scratch causes all the self doubt to come out of the wood work.

Deleting a page of the script from issue 4 means nothing, because it isn't tied to any tangible art. So when something doesn't work just right, in the back of my head I hear, "just take a hammer to it, start again!"

The result is a bunch of new scenes that I like in isolation, but that I don't think support the story as a whole. Tough times, but writer's block isn't something you can wait out, you can't wait for inspiration to strike. As far as I know, the only cure to writer's block is brute force. That's hours spent with your butt in a chair, writing, even if you think it's shit. Every scene that you decide you need to delete is a lesson you learned about your story. It's kinda like the old Thomas Edison quote about how he didn't invent the lightbulb, he invented 99 ways to not invent one.

I'm still plugging away, and one of these weeks I'll break through.

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 4.01.47 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 4.01.53 PM.png

Here is my daily reminder that you ran receive special rewards by backing different reward tiers (just like with Kickstarter) on our official fundition page: https://fundition.io/#!/@drwatson/t2b3d2ijh

And here are our Fundraising Rankings! When we get to $1,000 USD worth of steem, Theresa and I will be able to finish illustrating Issue 1, and release it to all our backers on steem!

Most Votes Leader Board:

  1. @Katharsisdrill - 18 upvotes
  2. @katamori - 18 upvotes
  3. @Bryan-imhoff - 18 upvotes
  4. @steevc - 17 upvotes
  5. @enternamehere - 16 upvotes

Most SBD Value Contributed - The Council Of Five:

  1. @fundition - $308.33
  2. @eeks - $39.56
  3. @Bryan-imhoff - $8.28 (voting rewards) + $24 (Pledge Rewards)
  4. @kommienezuspadt - $24.97
  5. @Katharsisdrill - $4.74

Steemers who hold a position on the council will get to confer with Theresa and I on what our bonus gifts to the steem community will be. If we decide to do bonus art, the council of 5 will get to have a say in what is depicted! When you back reward tiers in the campaign, that is added to your SBD ranking, so if you would like to be a part of the council of 5 putting 3-5SBD in would currently guarantee you a spot, while also netting you some exclusive rewards.

https://fundition.io/#!/@drwatson/t2b3d2ijh

We have raised in the vicinity of 398.94 SBD, which means we are 39% of the way to our goal. Once we hit it, it will guarantee that we release all of issue 1, for free to steemit! I can't believe how close we are to half way!

Please spread the word to your steemit friends about this project, we don't want to keep losing ground in spite of the dropping price of steem!

If you have any friends or family who might be interested in a Lovecraftian horror comic, please send them to our website to sign up for some free pages! https://www.ithaqacomic.com/contact-us/

Additionally, If you're new to this comic I strongly recommend you check out our instagram, as I'm currently uploading pages every day.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ithaqacomic/

Theresa Chiechi's (The Artist @la-fumettista) website is here: http://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sign up to buy the comic on our website: https://www.ithaqacomic.com/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/pg/IthaqaComic/about/?ref=page_internal
Twitter: @IthaqaComic

Sort:  

I just love the colour story of these, rich muted tones, like 1940's cartoons.

I'm glad you like our artistic choices! Hopefully I'll be able to release the whole comic on steemit soon(ish)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28